We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Let down by location and niggling things”
Review of H10 Itaca Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
H10 Itaca Hotel
Ranked #193 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
York, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Let down by location and niggling things”
Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

Itaca is a pleasant enough hotel, let down by its location and a few small, niggling, things.

The bathroom, for example, is very smart, as one would expect in a 4 star hotel. However the shower is fed from the bath tap and does not have a thermostatic valve. The temperature fluctuates rapidly from tepid to scalding and back again. Another niggle is that we were provided with just one tiny bar or soap that disintegrated on day 1 and was never replaced.

The rooms are advertised as having 'international TV' and sure enough there are about 60 channels to choose from. However, all but 2 or 3 (presumably local) stations are so very badly pixellated they are impossible to watch or even listen to. The TV is therefore useless.

Free wifi throughout the hotel? Yes! Hurrah! More hotels should realise that these days, for the majority of guests, wifi is like hot water. It should be free and unmetered. Speed in my 4th floor room was generally only about 2mbs but adequate for email etc.

On the top floor of the hotel, there is a gym, sauna and sun deck with outside jacuzzi. However, there are no changing facilities, leaving you the prospect of wandering through the hotel in swimming costume..... (we chose not to).

The restaurant does a good buffet breakfast and the evening menu is very good. Our meal for two was 66 euro including wine and was only let down by being served on cold plates - such a simple oversight!

Despite the above niggles, we enjoyed our 3 night stay here, the staff are helpful and friendly. But I doubt we will be returning, because of the location. Prospective visitors should be aware that Itaca is quite some distance from the tourist area of Barcelona. There is next to nothing within easy walking distance of the hotel and a taxi down to the old town costs between 12 and 20 euros depending on traffic. The buses however are plentiful and clean, and if you can work out where they are going, are a bargain at only 2 euros.

If I visit Barcelona again, I will find a hotel in the Born district.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    500
    539
    139
    40
    20
See reviews for
141
623
54
126
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Great staff who were very helpful and accomodating. As we found everywhere in Spain, hot food at breakfast needs to be kept hotter. Rooms were fine, but a bit noisy at night and we had to have window open because of warmer weather arriving. I am sure in summer, the air conditioning would eliminate this problem. There is a supermarket right next door where you can get wine and snacks which is always nice. Hotel recommended a restaurant which was outstanding - Nectari - a Michellin star winner just a block away. The hotel is very close to Barcelona Saints Station from which you can get everywhere, but it is some distance from the town centre. There are restaurants within walking distance so if you don't mind the subways and trains, its ideal. One disappointment was that none of the gym equipment was working.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FMHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

The H10 Itaca Barcelona is a very nice hotel for those visiting Barcelona. Although it is a little out for those who may want to be in the centre and within walking distance of everything, its close proximity to Sants Estacio makes it an ideal place to tour Barcelona.

We were offered a room on the fourth floor at the back of the hotel. This appeared to have some impact, particularly with the incredibly noisy ambulances in Barcelona. We were blighted by bright light and the blue light from the TV during the first night. It was only when we looked closely did we spot the blackout curtain (which had a transformational effect on the room) and switched the TV off at the plug, did we enjoy a dark nights sleep.

The room was sufficient for a couple although it was a little tight for floor space. The best word to describe it would be cosy. We were pleased to have the King Size bed though. It would be nice if a small shelf could be provided on the wardrobe side of the bed because there was nothing for anyone on that side of the bed to rest things like glasses, glass of water, phones, etc.

The bathroom was a nice size and we were pleased that it offered all facilities required. The sink had loads of space around it for the vast number of toiletries that we all seem to carry nowadays.

The WiFi was fantastic. It was reasonably fast and we had no trouble accessing it. There was no fiddly signing on procedure, it was just a matter of connect and go. The TV lacked any English TV channels, which was quite a surprise. Everything was clean and the Safe was free to use.

The Breakfast was an interesting Continental spread and we found it met all of our needs. The fried egg on the bread was a novel way of minimising spills, which we though was very creative. There were breads, hams, cereals, croissants, fruit, yoghurts, juices, hot drinks, cakes, hot food and more. Only the most picky will struggle for breakfast here.

There were two disappointments with the hotel.
The first one was that the Air Conditioning in the room appeared to not be very effective. We would not want to be in that room during Summer. We felt that the lack of a fan in the bathroom may have contributed to the higher humidity in the room and the effectiveness of the Air Con.
The second one was the restaurant, which appears to have that pretentious view of serving everything separately (Meat is one thing, veg is another thing that you order separately). With veg, potatoes and chips being so cheap, it would not cost much to add these to the meal together rather than a separate component. I felt a little stung in the pocket when I was served my meal.
Some of the English translations on the hotel documentation were interesting. Americans are served on the menu, although we have a feeling that this may be some sort of sauce and not actual Americans.

Check in was a painless experience, although the receptionist could have apologised after leaving us standing there for five minutes, whilst attending to a phone call. I understood the hotel and the Catelonian Room Tax (payable at the end of the stay).

A supermarket is located at the next block away from Sants Estacio and it offered all of the necessary things needed for a stay in Barcelona.

The hotel is not difficult to find from Sants Estacio. You need to exit the station to the east, where you will be confronted with a taxi rank and an area beyond, which is dominated by some steel structure covering part of an area. If you head towards the back right corner of this area and cross the roads, you will be on the correct road. You will walk one block and cross over a one way street. The hotel is the second building on the right. The hotel is set back from the road, so you will not see it looking down the road. The walk is approximately 5 minutes.

Sants Estacio is on Line 3 and Line 5. Both lines cover most of Barcelona. Some may prefer to walk to Tarragona if using Line 3 because of the network of tunnels that need to be navigated to get to Sants Estacio Metro stop on Line 3.

Sants Estacio is also the third station from the Airport. We found the connection was fantastic, (well signposted within the airport and only 25 minutes journey to Sants Estacio) although not frequent enough considering the demand. The renowned and great value T-10 ticket was difficult to find in the machines at the Airport and I would advise anyone trying to purchase it to ask the staff at the station rather than try to fathom the rail ticket machines. When we purchased additional T-10 tickets in Barcelona on the Metro system, those machines were much easier to navigate. If you are travelling from the Airport, my advice would be to walk to the front of the train which will be a lot quieter than the rear of the train which will be crammed.

We were disappointed by the lack of bars and restaurants nearby and I would encourage anyone visiting the hotel to do their research into this matter to avoid feeling isolated or unsure of what to do.

Overall, H10 Itaca is a really nice hotel. We feel that it met all of our needs and we were pleased to have chosen it. We would certainly return and will keep H10 in mind during future holidays. For Barcelona, this is a great hotel to be based from, whether a tourist or on Business.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bluecircle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wigan
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Had a one night break, used easyjey(excellent service) on Thursday 14th March 2013 landed around 1300hrs, had a 14km taxi ride which cost between 25-30 euros each way(city tax incl). The hotel is situated outside of the city centre. The hotel was modern and clean with a lovely outside area with small pool. We had room 210 of which was lovely and overlooked the pool area. On the downside the room was very noisy from about 630am with staff doing there daily duties, i would ask for a room on a higher floor than the 2nd floor. The staff at reception/bar were very helpful. The hotel is a little out of everything so we were adviced to take the tour bus and use this as our taxi around the city. This costs £26 euros per person, this enables you to get on and off at certain points around the city.
It took a day to find my bearings around the local area, but obviously we were only there for a night, my advice would be if you havn't stayed here before or you dont know the city find a hotel in the city centre.
food wise the breakfast was nice, but nothing other hotels of this standard wouldn't have!!!!!!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool are lovely, but noisy in the mornings. Higher floor recomended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank derek p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Booked this hotel through BA holidays and although the hotel itself was OK (just) it was not suitable as a holiday stay as having no local amenities, so that it was necessary to travel by bus or metro.
the room was fine except that being on the main street, the double glazing did not cut out the street noise and the early morning call by the bin men.
TYhe hotel restuarant was more show than substance, we had the set meal, and it was not clear that the main course did not include vegetablles !! As had been said before the bar prices were not funny. the buffet breakfast was fine provided that you did not want hot food as the minimal staff could not keep up with the numbers.
The staff were generally very helpful and nice, except when we asked to have some items from the room service menu served to us in the bar. We were told very abruptly that this was not permitted. As the bar was nearer the kitchen than our room was we could not understand this restriction.

Room Tip: Although the rooms on the front had the street noise problem, those on the rear had the patio noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ozed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Udine
Level Contributor
61 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

I was in Barcelona for a Conference at Barcelò Sants. The H10 Hotel looked as a nice surprise. I booked a standard double room, but at my arrival I received a suite!
Very friendly and qualified staff. Great breakfast every morning. Very good also the restaurant for the dinner. The hotel is near the metro/bus/train station of Sants, thus very well served to visit the city. I suggest H10 Itaca both for business or tourism in Barcelona.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chiara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
128 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

I booked this hotel through easy jet holidays and was very surprised to find how wonderful it is!

ROOM
I booked a standard double but requested an upgrade as it was my boyfriends birthday and when we checked in our room appeared to have all the finishings of a superior but the size was very small and cosy so perhaps not for the slightly more indulgent figures. However for us as a young couple who didnt spend that much time in the room it was perfect. I wouldn't have known where to put suitcases though had we had them, luckily we travelled light. I did also request early check in and this was without a problem, very pleased at the service.

All the finishings were to an excellent standard and the hotel was thoroughly clean.
Our bed and linens were most comfortable with spare pillows and blankets in the cupboard. There was also adequate tea and coffee making facilities with a mini bar. The safe was very useful and free of charge as was the wi-fi.
The bathroom was very spacious and well decorated with little amenities provided.

FOOD
The breakfast buffet had a good selection, although not exactly the same food everyday. I'd recommend getting there about 45mins before they close as everything starts to run out! However the staff are very helpful and will provide more should you ask, it is a basic self serve of hot, cold and continental.

FACILITIES
There is a rooftop jacuzzi and sauna free of charge as well as a mini gym. We had a wonderful time relaxing in them! It's all very clean and has a new feeling. There is also some restricted view on the rooftop so you can enjoy the sunset/mountains.
I would have liked to use the pool/terrace on the ground floor as it looked amazing but the weather was slightly too cold. There is a bar in reception area, where the staff are very friendly, but the prices are average. They do a good selection of beverages, but sadly not past midnight. There is also a locked luggage room which was fantastic as our flight wasnt until the late evening and we could keep our bags here as long as we wanted free of charge, also able to access whenever.

LOCATION
A little out of the town and main areas-you will need your own transport if you wish to explore areas such as las ramblas etc and the tourist attractions so we rented a moped from Vesping Barcelona. This for us made the hotel the perfect location as it was nice to be in the tourist district. It is about 15 minutes from the airport/ around 30 euros transfer in taxi. However if you choose to walk, we did on the first day and las ramblas was around 30-40minutes walk.

The staff were lovely, polite and friendly and spoke English well. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel and hope to return again. It isn't a 5* but it does 4 star remarkably well.

Room Tip: Our room on the sixth floor was very small and noisy with the window open as it overlooked the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fluffycloud9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
H10 Casanova
H10 Casanova
#93 of 513 in Barcelona
1,607 reviews
Eixample
H10 Art Gallery
H10 Art Gallery
#89 of 513 in Barcelona
690 reviews
Eixample
Sercotel Amister Art Hotel
Sercotel Amister Art Hotel
#139 of 513 in Barcelona
890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Expo Hotel Barcelona
#340 of 513 in Barcelona
2,678 reviews
Eixample
Ofelias Hotel
Ofelias Hotel
#99 of 513 in Barcelona
504 reviews
Eixample
B-Hotel
B-Hotel
#61 of 513 in Barcelona
2,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to H10 Itaca Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H10 Itaca Hotel

Property: H10 Itaca Hotel
Address: Avenida de Roma 22, 08015 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#94 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#122 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#132 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#132 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — H10 Itaca Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The H10 Itaca is ideally situated in the heart of the Eixample neighbourhood, very close to Sants Station (AVE) and the Montjuïc exhibition centre. You´ll be impressed by the hotel´s recent refurbishment with modern and innovative touches to the front entrance, Front Desk and Lobby Bar. The hotel´s new features include a plunge pool on the revamped Chill-Out Terrace and the Itaca Restaurant, which offers select signature cuisine in the evenings ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your H10 Itaca Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
h10 Itaca Barcelona
Hotel h10 Itaca
H10 Itaca Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing