We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, excellent staff -- but!!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hispanos 7 Suiza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hispanos 7 Suiza
Ranked #87 of 521 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Perth and Kinross, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good location, excellent staff -- but!!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights to celebrate my wife's birthday. It follows the concept of serviced apartments and provides home comforts not available in a hotel. We had asked for an apartment with a "walk in" shower and they had very kindly provided us with a two bedroom apartment with two bathrooms - one of which had a walk in shower.

The apartment was clean, the beds comfortable and the daily maid service very efficient. With two bedrooms and a sitting room there is plenty of space for a couple and even two couples would find it adequate. The kitchen is small has the basic requirements though some of the fittings are showing their age. Cooking a full meal could be a bit of a struggle. Remember to take dish washer tablets, washing powder etc with you as these are not supplied and the maids do not wash your soiled dishes (4 euros gives you a cleaning kit that has just one dishwasher tablet!).

Breakfast was included in our deal and it is delivered to your room in the morning. Choose the Continental breakfast if like us you could not face a packaged cheese and ham sandwich first thing in the morning.

The location is excellent, stones throw from the Sagrada Familia, walking distance to the Metro station and on the tourist bus route. Short tube journey to the centre of town and being in a residential area has plenty of shops and cafes close by.

We had one meal in the restaurant which was excellent and though pricey was well worth it. Most evenings we ate at the Aitor tapas bar which is just a block away and provides some of the best tapas we have eaten at a very reasonable price -15 euros and you can eat as many tapas as you can manage.

The staff at reception were excellent - helpful, polite and very well informed about the places to visit etc.

But: ---

Noise is a problem, not from the street but from adjacent apartments. For light sleepers transmitted sounds from neighbours can be a major issue, wooden floors and running children are a deadly combination. The staff did offer us other rooms but not sure this would have solved the problem - apart from perhaps the fifth floor which unfortunately did not have a walk in shower which for us was essential.

We had a late evening flight and asked if we could have a "late" check out. We were told that this may be possible at a price - then were told by the manager that the cost would be 200 euros for a 6 hours or 80 euros for 2 hours which to us seemed by all accounts a trifle extortionate!! It was the F1 Grand Prix weekend and that we were told was the going rate. Having been at the hotel for 5 nights already it did seem that the management were unwilling to be accommodating - I would rather have been told they were likely to be full and so could not give us a late check out. After an enjoyable stay we were left with a bitter taste in our mouth and felt we were being taken advantage of.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor and facing the street (if you do not mind street noise as opposed to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank discerning25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    378
    191
    33
    5
    3
See reviews for
395
76
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oulu
Level Contributor
63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2012

Location of the hotel is excelent but noisy from early morning to early morning. Service was polite. Room sizes variates.

Room Tip: Some 5th floor rooms are MOULDY!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aju46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limeira/SP
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2012

We stayed for 5 nights at this hotel and it was an amazing time. The hotel is located right in the corner of the Temple Sagrada Familia! Besides being a great neighborhood, the garden located in front of the church also has a playground for children from baby till 12 years old. You have two very near metro stations: Sagrada Familia and Verdaguer, and from these stations you can get 3 different major lines, so you can get almost everywhere without having to change lines.

The room is very nice, it has 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, one with a bathtub, a small kitchen even with a washing machine, a nice flat screen tv. The bedrooms had very nice blind curtains, so the room would very dark (that even made us loose our waking time sometimes hehehe).

The staff is very nice, in our case, specially Alberto, who even spoke Portuguese and always helped us with lots of tips about various things. The only downside to the service was that when you used some of the dishes in the apartment, they wouldn't wash the dishes when they cleaned the apartment.

Just don't use the breakfast... It's very small and for the price you pay you can just go to the supermarket and buy a lot of stuff to make in your apartment.

The restaurant downstairs was delicious, very nice food and elegant ambient. I'm gonna write a separate review for it as well.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fferraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2012 via mobile

We were 2 couples on a city break together and for us the apartment was superb. So much better than 2 hotel rooms because we could sit together comfortably in the evenings with a glass of wine rather than being in a hotel where we would have had to go to the public area or sit on the bed in someone's room. The kitchen was perfectly good for making breakfast and a light lunch but not really suitable for cooking an evening meal. However the restaurant attached was great - with a €12 3 course tourist menu which was great value. The hotel were pushing this but the restaurant staff didn't offer it till we asked - the a la carte was much more expensive. There are plenty of coffee shops and small restaurants locally - we didn't find any that were partciularly special but still good enough.
Great value - we would definitely recommend it.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank DJK42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annandale, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2012

From the outstanding reviews we expected quite a bit but we received in excess of our expectations with regard to space, service and the Cupula restaurant.

PLACE: The hotel is located about a block and a half from the Sagrado Familia in the Eixample neighborhood, which is the post-1860 modern architecture (read: featureless blocks). We found the barrio very family friendly--lots of grandparents were walking their grandchildren from school in the afternoon, and safe (a priority for us since we're two senior citizens). The location required miles of walking to and from the center of town, which was perfect for us, exactly what we wanted and planned. However, nearby is a metro subway stop, and buses and taxis also cover the city providing efficient and inexpensive transportation options.

SPACE: Kitchen - The apartamento we were in, on the 2nd floor, has a small kitchen that somehow managed to fit two glass stovetop burners, small oven, microwave, Nespresso machine, frig, deep sink, dishwasher, washing machine, and plenty of plates, cups, glasses, and utensils, plus several pots and pans. A kitchen cleaning kit is available on the counter for 4 Euro but we went to the supermercado around the corner and picked up everything we needed for continental breakfast, sandwich and fruit lunches, water, plus some cleaning materials for the week. In addition we bought baguettes, pastries and wine at local shops in the neighborhood--part of the fun of the visit.

One TripAdvisor tip said to buy Nespresso capsules at the supermercado and not indulge in the continental breakfast--we did both. The breakfast option we did for two days, once with the croissant that was fine. A second time we ordered the sandwich option, which was soggy and rather inedible. After two days testing the hotel room service, we bought the Nespresso capsules and enjoyed espresso at all hours.

Living/Room - Dining Room - The kitchen is part of a small open space that includes the dining room and living room. The living room sliding door opens to a small balcony that has a little table and two chairs, just like the website photo. Our balcony provided a view of what initially looked like a Naples slum but on further inspection we saw apartment gardens and a preschool playground as well at the dome that is the key feature of the Cupula restaurant downstairs. The couch was inexplicably uncomfortable but we still sat and watched Spanish programs at night, and got to see several of the Euro championship soccer games when Barca and Real Madrid played. The metal venetian blinds, persianas, are a great feature to ensure quiet and privacy--wish we had them in the states!

Bedrooms and bathrooms: Our suite had two bedrooms and two bathrooms--one with European tub & shower, toilet and bidet, the other with a shower. One bedroom had a queen sized bed and the other had two singles. Both rooms had closets with drawers in one section and full-length mirrors on the doors. We found the evening temperatures chilly and were delighted with the extra heavy blankets available in the closets.

Overall the apartment was an excellent option over just a hotel room, especially for a week's stay or longer. I think the hotel folks should consider a refresh soon--the bathroom sinks, the floors and the stove were scratched up considerably.

SERVICE - All were particularly thoughtful no matter the request. From the desk staff we received dining recommendations and free tapa coupons, help with printing board passes, etc. We didn't know how to deal with a truly bizarre accident we couldn't account for--a large crack appeared on the stove burner. We reported what we thought was an inexplicable accident since we felt somehow responsible to pay for a stovetop replacement, but the maid came to our rescue and reported that there were small scratches on the stove before we arrived. We were told by the desk staff that she would report it and not to worry about it. We never heard another word. I have to say that I was anticipating the worst and what would've been a freak incident that marred our trip turned out to be a non-event. Kudos to the staff for their professionalism!

DINING - By far the best dining during the trip was the outstanding fare at the hotel restaurant, the Cupula. Most of the time we couldn't take advantage of the daily tourist 3-course special because we were touring outside the Eixample area, but we enjoyed one lunch and two dinners. Every meal was superb--one of the highlights of the trip.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kierkegaardly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bedfordjohn
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012

We were really pleased with this place. With a 4 days for 3 deal, it worked out a similar cost to staying in a budget hotel further out of town and adding on the travel. It was great for a family. The children had their own room in the appartment with an en suite. A kitchen with dishwasher, fridge and washing machine meant I didn't have to go back with a case full of dirty clothes. The sitting area was very comfortable with a large flat-screen TV. We enjoyed the meal in the restaurant, again reasonabally priced. It was a large eating room with a tall dome cealing and a pretty glass panelled area in one corned. It was well laid out with large tables dressed in white linen and overall I felt a bit like I was on Poirot! They also had two classic cars in the restaurent and a lower deck garage with about 6 more which we went to look at - all added value. Location was also good just by the famous Sagrada Familia which along with all the other Gaudi archetecture was well worth the visit.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BedfordJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

We visited for three days at the end of Easter week. We are a family of four, with two sons aged 12 and 14. We found the apartments on tripadvisor and decided to trust the reviews. We were thrilled with that decision. We were incredibly impressed with all the staff. The reception staff were the most helpful we have ever come across with brilliant multilingual skills.They could not do enough to help and advise us and nothing was too much trouble. The cleaning staff were delightful. Whoever owns/runs the business should be so proud of the staff and the atmosphere they create. In terms of location if was superb. We have been to Barcelona many times but decided to take the bus tour on the first day to show the boys. We got great advice on which route to follow as there is a choice by the staff. We were very tired 2 nights and asked staff to suggest places to eat. Again, great suggestions of two tapas places nearby. We cannot recall the names, but super and the only places the staff suggested. We went somewhere further afield the other evening. We did not eat in the hotel but the menu looked good. There is a very large excellent supermarket about 2 minutes walk away or less and a lovely bakery the same distance in the opposite direction. It was tempting to cook from the incredible fish counter but we didn't. The apartment was lovely and ample size for four of us. We had a view (sort of) from the top floor but we would have been just as happy at the back of the building. We were not woken by noise. Lovely sheets and towels, slightly poor water pressure.
In summary, have no hesitation, in terms of location and value (especially for families) unbeatable.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank walshemf e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Ayre Hotel Rosellon
#122 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,139 reviews
Poblenou
Capri by Fraser Barcelona
Capri by Fraser Barcelona
#85 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
Apartaments Marina
#287 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ibis Barcelona Centro
#127 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,445 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Constanza Barcelona
Hotel Constanza Barcelona
#71 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,985 reviews
Gaudi's Nest
#11 of 757 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hispanos 7 Suiza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hispanos 7 Suiza

Property: Hispanos 7 Suiza
Address: Calle Sicilia 255, 08025 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly Apartments Restaurant Hispanos 7 Suiza)
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#65 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#83 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#140 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hispanos 7 Suiza 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fully equipped apartments with 1 or 2 bedroom, bathroom, full equipped kitchen and living room with dinning area and a terrace. Daily cleaning service included. Perfect for families, friends or business. 24h front desk available with multilingual staff to help you during your stay. Free WIFI and access to a sports centre with inside swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hispanos 7 Suiza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartments Restaurant Hispanos 7 Suiza Hotel Barcelona
Hispanos 7 Suiza Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing