We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel
Ranked #279 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Reviewed November 24, 2013

I arrived at this hotel with my other half a bit worried as I'd read mixed reviews. It was easy to get to from the airport using the Aerobus, and a short tube journey. I don't like using Tube trains but the Spanish Tube trains are much less claustrophobic than those in London. We had booked a junior suite months in advance from last minute.com. We arrived at reception and were checked in after a short wait. We we're offered breakfast which we said yes to for one day as we'd read good reviews. When we arrived at our room in the first floor above reception I was a bit apprehensive as I'd read it would be noisy. The Room was massive with an adjoining room with extra beds. The bathroom was large and clean and although as we'd read, the fittings were a bit old and needed replacing, there was a lovely hair dryer and it was clean. The towels had seen better days but again we're clean. We slept well on the first night and had breakfast the next morning which had a spectacular selection to choose from and is worth attending at least once. We slept well the next day too after sight seeing all sorts of really cool things like the zoo and aquarium, Tour buses, etc. I must admit it was a little noisy on Friday night but this is to be expected in a city centre. I would recommend this hotel again. Don't turn up with too high expectations, it's a bit dated and a few little things would make it 5 star like furnishing for example. The location of the hotel makes it easy to get to all the local attractions, if you can upgrade to a junior suite then I'd also recommend it too, lots of extra space and a massive bed. Thanks to all of the Team At the Tryp Apolo, Barcelona! :-)

Room Tip: A junior suite has a massive bed, an extra room, posh hair dryer and great view of the city
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lolly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,491)
There are newer reviews for Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,192 - 1,198 of 3,491 reviews

Reviewed November 23, 2013

Our room was on the 5th floor next to the main street. The room was clean, large, wifi, comfy large bed and large bathroom. The staff was couteous and helpful. It is in walking distant to Las Rama, Columbus statue, and the mall. Also the metro train is right out the front door. We had a nice view of the city and at night could see the Church on the mountain lit up.
The only thing was the street noise was loud and woke me up several times. It didn't look very safe if one wanted to go out around 1-4 AM. Looked like a lot of drug users, etc.

Room Tip: May want to get a room that is not on the street side.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KennaW_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Hotel location is ideal, being only 5 minute’s walk from La Rambla and the waterfront area. In addition, the hotel is right on the “Paral-lel” station of the Barcelona metro, making it very easy to reach from the airport. The hotel staff were friendly and very helpful with my room being of a good size and cleanliness being to a good standard. As for the breakfast buffet, this was 11 out of 10 and one of the very best I have encountered in many years of round the world travelling. I would strongly advise those booking this hotel to make sure breakfast is included; you will not be disappointed. In summary, the hotel was good value for what I paid and I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IndianaJonesA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Experienc... T, Guest Experience Manager at Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

Hello IndianaJonesA!

WAAWWW what an awesome review!! We couldn’t be happier! Now we just want to give you more and more and go beyond your expectations! Believe us, we will keep on working so that next time you visit us you are even happier!!!

Warm regards,
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

We stayed at the Tryp Barcelona Apolo in October 2013 prior to cruising out of Barcelona. The hotel is in a great location for getting around Barcelona. Many of the places we visited were within walking distance. Restaurants and shopping was close by.

The room was clean and comfortable, but we did have a room that faced the main street and the street noise was pretty loud in the late night/early morning hours. We were pretty tired from our daily tours so we were able to sleep through most of the noise. You may want to get a room away from the main street.

The staff was very friendly and helpful. They handled their jobs professionally.

I would recommend this hotel for staying for a short stay (1 to 4) days, but if you are looking to stay longer you may want to find a more upscale hotel. Personally, I would gladly stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelpappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Experienc... T, Guest Experience Manager at Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

Dear travelpappy,

Your words are really fulfilling for us and we can’t wait to see you back in Barcelona!
We understand that being in the city center might make the night activity to be perceived from time to time…so for this reason, please do not hesitate to contact us and assign you a room in the area you prefer!

Warm regards,
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

My rating is based on the service efforts put in by the Quality Manager Loida.
The bed in my room was very hard and made resting uncomfortable.
I spoke to Loida who took the time to find me a room with a bed that greatly improved my stay.
I will never return to this hotel as the beds are simply not good enough to represent a 4 star property.
Despite being taken care of by the sweet staff a good bed is a basic requirement for any hotel regardless og its number of stars.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VivaciosRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Experienc... T, Guest Experience Manager at Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Dear VivaciosRed,

While we are happy to know you enjoyed our staff sevice, we are so sorry about your impression and experience with the beds.
As we informed during your stay, our mattress are replaced frequently so that your stay is as comfortable as possible.
Please believe us, one of our main goals is to guarantee an excellent comfort and we do anything in our hands in order to accomplish it. We are glad that you finally enjoyed your stay in an adequate bed according to your needs and preferences and please, do not hesitate to contact us for anything you may need (gex.tryp.apolo@melia.com). We remain at your entire disposal!

Warm regards,
E-Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

This hotel is ideally located with acces to both the Metro and buses nearby whereby enabling us to visit the city easily.
The staff were both efficient and friendly.
Breakfasts were varied, good quality and plentiful.

Room Tip: We upgraded to an internal room.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Experienc... T, Guest Experience Manager at Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Dear John E,

Thank you for your great comments!
Our whole staff can’t wait to receive you back and share an awesome breakfast and a new interesting visit to Barcelona with you! We hope we will have this pleasure soon!

Warm regards,
E-Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

This was our second stay here and once again it didn't disappoint.
We asked for an inside room, remembering that they are quieter and once again found it spotless, comfortable and with everything we needed. Cleaning each day was to a very high standard.
We bought breakfast, a substantial buffet - several varieties of everything - cereal, fruit, meat, cheese, juice, bread, pastries, hot drinks, some typical Spanish fare, all fresh and delicious. There were also a number of hot dishes, sometimes not really quite hot enough, but a blast in the microwave soon sorted that out.
The location of the hotel is excellent - right by Parallel metro station (take the exit beside the sign marked Funicular Montjuic and you arrive at the hotel entrance once you get to street level) and only 10 minutes walk from Las Ramblas. Plenty of places to eat and drink nearby, too.
The most important thing to mention? The hotel staff, whether in the dining room, cleaning the rooms or at the reception desk - they just can't do enough for you. Prompt service always with a smile. What more can you ask for?
No need for us to browse for hotels - it's the Tryp Apolo every time, can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Experienc... T, Guest Experience Manager at Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

Dear Jan C,

How can you make us so happy?!!? There isn’t anything better than knowing we contribute to make your trips to Barcelona comfortable and enjoyable. THANK YOU, THANK YOU AND THANK YOU!
You know we are all at your entire disposal and please, if we have the pleasure to receive you back for a third time do not hesitate to let us know in advanced! (gex.tryp.apolo@melia.com)

Warm regards,
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#100 of 513 in Barcelona
3,825 reviews
Montjuic
Hotel Grums Barcelona
Hotel Grums Barcelona
#193 of 513 in Barcelona
1,185 reviews
El Raval
Barcelona Universal Hotel
Barcelona Universal Hotel
#79 of 513 in Barcelona
3,948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Barcelo Raval
Barcelo Raval
#105 of 513 in Barcelona
3,265 reviews
Poblenou
Novotel Barcelona City
Novotel Barcelona City
#179 of 513 in Barcelona
3,611 reviews
Poblenou
Melia Barcelona Sky
Melia Barcelona Sky
#196 of 513 in Barcelona
2,528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel

Address: Av. Paral.lel 57-59, 08004 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Montjuic , El Poble Sec
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#172 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#194 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#195 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $69 - $298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 314
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel Barcelona
Sol Melia Barcelona
Tryp Hotel Apolo
Tryp Apolo Barcelona
Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing