We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pre- Cruise Hotel Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel
Ranked #260 of 521 Hotels in Barcelona
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Pre- Cruise Hotel Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

Family of two adults, two teenagers. Stayed here for one night pre-cruise and it was great! Rooms were ready by 2pm as stated, and they have a luggage storage room in case you arrive early (which we did). The laaarge room consisted of two interconnecting rooms, a small foyer, and a bathroom. When we arrived, there was only one king bed, and the other room was sort of a living area. We notified the front desk and by late afternoon, the living space was outfitted with two twin beds for the kids. The hotel is quiet and peaceful at night, even though it is near a ton of attractions. The front desk was great for information about the metro and attractions. Las Ramblas is a short walk away, just get to the Columbus Monument and that is the foot of the boulevard. In addition, you can get great views of the water around Port Vell, which the hotel is located a very short walk from. Placa Espanya and the Montjuic Castle is a 20ish minute walk up & away from the water, going straight up Parallel. When it came time to head to our ship, just walk straight down Av. Parallel and turn left so you arrive at the Columbus monument. Cross the street towards the water and turn right and you'll see the T3 Blue Bus stand for the cruise ship shuttle. It was about 1 euro pp, I believe, and ran about every 20 minutes, depending on which ships were docked, and how many there were. All in all, great hotel, great staff, great location, and definitely would return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tancool02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Experienc... T, Guest Experience Manager at Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

What a great review! Even if you have just spent one night with us, we are really glad that you felt a great service and location. You would come back? Please let us know and we will make sure your stay is even more fantastic!

Warm regards,
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    843
    1,436
    674
    206
    131
See reviews for
699
1,342
113
307
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (574)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
131 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

I am sure at some time this would have been a good hotel, but not any more. It's old and tired, and badly needs re-furbishment. Yes it does have a good location, but then there are better options nearby.

Room Tip: It's a big hotel ask for a room near the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nkm111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Experienc... T, Guest Experience Manager at Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is a pity that the impression you received from the Hotel TRYP Apolo was as an old Hotel. You are completely right when you say it used to be a good hotel because it has actually been a very well-known hotel since it was opened, not just for its location but also for its service and facilities.
Our team works hard in order to get better and better and we are sorry this time we failed. Your comments encourage us to keep on improving; thank you so much for sharing them.

Warm regards,
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borehamwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

Stayed for four nights as a family of four. Our room was excellent (room 175 first floor) though it was more like a room & a half as our children had their own single beds in a room separated by sliding doors (they also had their own tv & a/c which they liked). Beds were all comfortable & clean, with blankets in the wardrobe for those who may feel they need it. Bathroom was also clean, shower really nice with really nice toiletries with extras likes toothbrushes, combs, razors etc. TV even had BBC1 & 2 for those that like to keep in touch with what's going on back at home. Breakfast was a buffet selection with a great choice ie cereal, pastries, yogurts, fruit, cheese & cold meats who like the continental variety. For those who like something warm there were 3 types of egg, bacon, grilled tomatoes, sausages, beans etc. you could obviously eat as much as you wanted with tea & coffee ( & an expression machine) available. Breakfast was between 7.30-10.30 every morning & it was great to see even at 10.20 fresh food was still being put out for guests.
Location of the hotel is great. You have bus stops & a metro stop right by the hotel. You are a (slow) 10min walk from Barcelona port area which is also means you are 10mins from the Christopher Colombus monument at the bottom of Las Ramblas - where there are stops for the two different hop on/hop off tourist buses. If you turn left when you exit the hotel within a few minutes walk you will come across a Subway amongst other food stops. Otherwise on the walk to the port you will pass by a restaurant & a few other places that serve drinks & make up rolls for you all at excellent prices. Right behind the hotel (5min walk) there is a local pizzeria that will cook your choice right in front of you (small 6inch 6 euros cheapest) or you can buy large slices for 2euros to take-away. We used them twice & took the food back to our hotel room. Hotel guests can make use of a local gym (right behind hotel) for free. You will need a pass from the hotel to show the gyms reception. Gym is excellent with a separate area for cardio machines, an area for free weights & a general area for floor & normal exercise machines/weights. There is no water coolers/fountains to use on the floors so be prepared to bring a water bottle or you can buy a large bottle from reception for 1euro. I would definately recommend this hotel & stay again. The only reason why I've not given it a 5rating is due to no hotel info in the room ie a book explaining what services are available, cost, facilities of hotel etc etc. having one would of been really helpful ie we didn't realise they did room service until our last morning when we found their menu underneath some Spanish magazines that were left in the room.

Room Tip: We emailed hotel prior to stay requesting a quiet room which is exactly what we got. We had a room a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lori20968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Experienc... T, Guest Experience Manager at Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Your happiness is our greatest source of motivation, and makes us want to improve every day…for you!
A trip with the family is normally and unforgettable trip and we are so really glad to be part of your positive memories. We remain at your entire disposal!

Warm regards,
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

I just got back from a three night break at the Tryp Apolo hotel. Overall it was a good hotel but as with any it had its good and bad points. Firstly we arrived at 11am and were let into our rooms straight away even though check in wasn't for another four yours. We were greeted very well by the staff. The hotel room was ok, it was of three star quality, due to the fact that it was a bit run down, the air con was loud and old and not to mention the view which was a brick wall!

The breakfast is very good there, there was a good selection of cereals, English breakfast, fruit, pastries, drinks, fresh orange juice and continental breakfast. The staff at breakfast are friendly and helpful. The maid service was very good. The location is brilliant, steps away from metro station, and bus station and a 10 minute walk away from las ramblas, port bell and other tourist areas.

When checking out at 12 we asked if we could keep our room which was a charge of 50 euros, as our flight wasn't until 9 o'clock, we asked about using a courtesy room instead, just somewhere to have a shower but they could not provide this. I thought that was pretty poor for a four star hotel as well.

And finally a little tip, when looking for somewhere to eat, branch away from main tourist attractions, literally a street away will offer you much better food for less money and won't hassle you for a tip! Something we learnt at the end of our trip unfortunately!!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Jadine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

The hotel is great-It has clean, large rooms and bathroom.
The neighborhood was quite so I did not have any problem with the noise.
It is so close to La Rambla so you can go anywhere on foot.
Besides that, just outside the hotel there is a metro station.
I did not ask for breakfast as it was too expensive (18 euros).
The only problem was with the wi-fi signal that it was not so strong.
The internet connection was really slow and I had to use another password every day.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeorgeXgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

The hotel is ideally situated. The metro station is a 3 minute walk away, the port area is an easy 15 minute walk as is Las Rambla. There is a tourist bus stop in the port area so getting out and about is very straight forward.
The reception staff were courteous and business like.
The room and hotel public areas have clean and stylish decoration with framed architectural prints on the walls through out.
Our room was a fair size, bright and spotlessly clean. In the bathroom everything worked as it should do and again was spotless.
If I were being really picky I would have to say that there was some street noise, but really if you are looking for a quiet retreat, then Barcelona would probably be a poor choice and as the beds were so comfy it didn't really cause a major problem.
To sum up, I enjoyed my stay at the Tryp Apolo, the room was comfortable and clean and the staff friendly and cheerful. I look forward to staying again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Garry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
troy, MI
Level Contributor
76 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

You are literally steps from the beginning of the Parallel line. At this point, you can access the gondola to the castle rapidly, and the rest of the city. There are two or three hop on hop off tour bus, and one does stop near this hotel, we book a different one, and had to walk to columbus square to get it. I think the one offered through the hotel also has extended trip including the church Familia Sagrada. Staff was helpful. There was a small insignificant room tax, and $1 charity added to the bill on check out, but it appeared legitimate, and I had no complaint about it vs other who used city tax as a way to gain extra money. They had a small refrid filled with wine and bottled water, it was about $3 for a water, in case you wanted to take one. Or just buy a big jug and refill your own bottles and put it in the same fridge. They had a small easy to use safe, it was free. The room was spacious, and the bathroom was modern and clean. The hotel was about a 5 minute walk from the Rambla, you can walk there down a small street, called something like callejon de las Rambla.... It is easy to find your way back to the hotel, as it is next to the electric company with three very tall chimneys, a local landmark. Learn to use the subway, so you can access the cleaner beaches and malls far from the city. I would highly advise booking a two day hop on hop off tour, as they have about 3 routes, and you don't want to waste all your days on the tour bus, find out where things are with the metro map, and you can return later. We attended church service at the Sagrada Familia church, but was directed to a small service in Italian with a bunch of italian school boys instead of the main mass in the main church, it was cool to see the mass in italian, or you could have the option of Catalan or Espanol. All the catalanians were friendly, and helpful. To me, saying that catalanians are rude and will not speak spanish with outsider is likely a myth. Perhaps truthful during and soon after the nasty rules of the dictator Franco, where the catalanians were shamed of their culture and language. Now they should be extremely proud of their beautiful city, and architecture. All hotel services were fine, but you had to stand in line to pay $3 to use the printer to print tickets and boarding passes. I didn't want to, so walked across the street, in the north east corner across from the hotel is a small print shop, they let me use the internet and printed up my boarding passes for Vueling for 30 cents.... There is also several internet cafe on the Ramblas, if you don't want to stand in line for a printer pass at the hotel. I have no complaints about this hotel. The breakfast buffet for $11 was well worth it. High quality fresh fruits (not like at other Tryp hotels on a budget), dried fruits, 5 or 6 types of ham and bacons, many types of pastries, scrambled, boiled, and "fried" eggs... and end less varieties of cereal and other food. They had a capuchino machine that we did not try, but brought hot milk and coffee to the table. It was worth the $11 not have to leave the hotel. Taxi to the airport was about $25. You could take the metro also, and that would cost you $2.50 euros, but would likely need 3 or 4 changes. There is also a bus from the airport, but it does not arrive at the city central.... Probably better to take the metro all the way if you want to save money. The water was cool for August, but I had no problem swimming in it. The beach was crowded, and yes, many women were topless. Water was murkey, but this is not the caribbean. There was soooo much to do here, I would not waste time on the beach, unless you wanted to swim like I did. The large mall on the far east side of the city is easily accessible with metro with 1 change of metro. It has many restaurants with many varieties of food - like 3 or 4 asian sushi bar, an interesting chain of tiny sandwiches at the Lazarias... which served odd things like baby eels, eggs and ham on a slice of bread! Interesting plates! Seafood! Yes, we found a little restaurant at the south end of the Ramblas, near columbus square, right at the beginning as you entered the street on the right hand side... For $31 euros, we split a plate of 3 types of fish (salmon, small sole, and a large white ocean fish), squids, shrimps, clams and mussels - and was filled to capacity. Bread and salad was on the side, but was worth it! Another plate I tried was squid in ink.... also yummmy... Enjoy! If you are on a budget, we saw many hostels on the Ramblas.... There are many small and affordable mom and pop shops on the side street. Again, on the street connecting the Ramblas with the hotel on Parallel - there are many small shops, markets, and fruit markets - all with great price. We at a big breakfast at the hotel, ate a late lunch out, and had fruits for dinner! Can not complain at all! Enjoy!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fisherdvm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#95 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,607 reviews
Poblenou
Melia Barcelona Sky
Melia Barcelona Sky
#190 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,303 reviews
El Raval
Barcelona Universal Hotel
Barcelona Universal Hotel
#75 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Les Corts
NH Collection Constanza
NH Collection Constanza
#80 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,803 reviews
Eixample
U232 Hotel
U232 Hotel
#52 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,968 reviews
Hotel Gran Derby Suites
#148 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel

Property: Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel
Address: Av. Paral.lel 57-59, 08004 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Montjuic , El Poble Sec
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#161 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#194 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#195 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 314
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel Barcelona
Sol Melia Barcelona
Tryp Hotel Apolo
Tryp Apolo Barcelona
Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing