We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smokey rooms and rude staff !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel
Ranked #276 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Peterlee
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Smokey rooms and rude staff !”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

I recently stayed at this hotel with 6 friends and booked 3 rooms at a cost of over £1300. We arrived at the hotel at 5pm to be told that 1 room wasn't ready and to come back in 30 minutes, this is fine and wouldn't have bothered me so much if the guys were offered a free drink for the inconvenience. I then walked to my room to find the bed had been slept in, the towels were used and the room and the whole hotel stinking of cigarette smoke. We refused the room and were given a replacement room which still stunk of cigarette smoke.
An hour later my friends returned to reception to check in and when I complained the guy behind the counter said that he never said anything about the room not being ready !,,, and basically called us liars, why on earth he would think that we would want to sit in the grotty reception for an hour when we didn't have to was beyond me.
The hotel is in an excellent location and I have stayed at the hotel before, when I took 20 students on a visit to the city at a cost of £2500, and didn't really have any concerns then which was behind my decision to book the hotel again.
This won't happen and in future I will book somewhere else.
The cleaning staff are really good in this hotel and our room was immaculate everyday.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mduk23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Experienc... T, Guest Experience Manager at Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for transmitting us your comments after your stay. As you know, our team takes special care to all the feedback we receive from all our guests in order to take immediate measures and improve on our day to day service.
We are so sorry about the unfortunate misunderstanding occurred at the check in time which, as you mention in your email and according to your previous experience it is not usual at all in our property. It is important for us to make sure that all the cleaning standard processes are being followed (ventilation included) and we are pleased to inform you we have already worked in order to double-check it.
We understand it was not comfortable for you and for this reason we apologize and have shared it with our team, just to avoid it to happen again.
Please do not hesitate to contact us for anything you may need; we remain at your entire disposal.

Warm regards,
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    880
    1,479
    714
    223
    149
See reviews for
735
1,402
119
328
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (599)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

I stayed here for a long weekend, on a girly trip. We had a few minor issues (safe not working, sliding doors off rail), but all in all, when we contacted reception they responded quickly. Lovely breakfast, liked the fact that it stayed on till 10.30am because lets face it, all nighters dont allow for early starts. However, bfast at 10.30am allowed us to enjoy the rest of barcelona on a good start! I would stay here again, only down side no Pool! If there was a pool, I would certainly have come back with the kids, as i would know what to expect and the location was v.good.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harps g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We stayed here for two nights, new years eve and the day before that.
The immediate impression when you go in is that they cater for a lot of people, and a custom to greeting you with a smile.
We speak little to no Spanish and almost every member of staff had English as a second tongue, which was refreshing.
Free wi-fi codes which last a day have to picked up from the service desk.
The bar was a little expensive, but it is next door to the theatre so was expected.

The room at the end of the day was just a place to crash at the end of a long day touring the city. The 1st night the air-con stopped halfway though the night and woke up feeling awful, but the next night we went out drinking in the centre and felt fresh in the morning, issue was solved without us even having to ask.

The breakfast was included in the price of the room, but some people did have to pay on the door. Its a buffet style layout similar to that found in every other chain hotel (e.g. hoilday inn)

Price wasn't too bad either. Its a good stay but 4* because it wasn't a 100% experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnthonySmith27UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Experienc... T, Guest Experience Manager at Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for tanking the time to leave your comments after your stay!
It is fantastic to know you spent New Years Eve with us, in Barcelona! We are so glad it was a nice stay for you. Please feel free to contact us any time; we remain at your entire disposal.

Best regards,
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupertino
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

I was in Barcelona for business and we chose this hotel because it is was in walking distance to work. That is the only redeeming feature of this hotel. This hotel is so far below acceptable! Here is a list of things that went wrong during our stay: we were put on a smoking floor (we were moved to another floor the next day), the air conditioning did not work, the phones did not work, the hair dryer did not work, the Internet is very slow, the towel rack fell off, the bath towels are thin and old, the blankets on the bed are disgusting - it looks like they have never been washed, the cleaning ladies actually mopped the carpets - no vacuum?, the shower curtain was moldy, the power went off in the room when we used the iron - that took two days to get,....the list goes on. Since we were a party of 14, we could not find other accommodations on such short notice so we agreed to stick it out! We will look back on this experience and laugh, but I would NEVER stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Swenson25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Experienc... T, Guest Experience Manager at Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments after your stay.
We would like to offer our most sincere apologies since the service you received was below the standards you expected and for the inconveniences this may have caused you.
We are so concerned about all the aspects you mention since we are not used at all to receive a feedback in which anything is at your convenience. This is a new objective for us and a reason work even harder in order to to improve on our day to day service.
The Hotel TRYP Apolo follows a very standardized cleaning process and please rest assured we will revise it with the involved teams to make sure that everything is being followed as usual.
We would really appreciate if you can contact us (gex.tryp.apolo@melia.com) and provide us with more detailed information such as the room you were staying in to make sure that we can avoid whatever that can makes any of our guests to have such an unfortunate impression.

Kind regards,
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

Perfect location, right near bus and subway, very convenient. 10 min walk to the waterfront and to la rambla. Decent breakfast with no issues with the room. Clean and comfy bed. Had inner section room so it was nice and quiet. Definitely recommend and would stay again if going to Barcelona.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JDYOW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Experienc... T, Guest Experience Manager at Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the world! We are happy you enjoyed our location and transport connection! Isn’t it USEFUL when visiting a city?
It is so fulfilling to know you would come back to the Hotel TRYP Apolo; please do not hesitate to contact us if you ever do, we will make sure we share a great experience together!

Warm regards,
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
333 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 320 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

I’d rate this hotel average. It wasn’t bad, but yet nothing really stood out either. The location, however, was excellent, as it was adjacent to the metro (subway) stop.

We stayed here after our Carnival cruise and there were about 30 of us from the cruise staying here. We all arrived at the same time via Carnival transportation. CHECK IN WAS A DISASTER, and therefore my first impression of the hotel’s organizational skills was poor. Our rooms were not ready, as we arrived in the morning, which was very understandable. They did allow us to check in our bags, which was a nice perk, however the process was a disaster. There was no line, just a mass of people standing in the lobby. We had no clue even where the bag check in was. You’d think they were new to this whole process and never had cruise guest before, or, even worse had no clue we were all coming at the same time.

Anyway, after we checked in our bags in, we explored the city. The Concierge was very, very helpful – he was the best asset of the hotel! Barcelona is very easy and inexpensive to get around using the subway pass. And we found everyone friendly and helpful if we needed help with directions. In our short visit, we saw Sagrada Familia, Guell Park, and the beach, all using the subway.

When we arrived back to the hotel later that day, we checked in, and our bags were delived to our room (very nice guy). The room was clean and the rooms were good size and had most of the typically amenities. No wash clothes, which I believe is typical of European hotels. No shampoo or conditioner as well, which I thought was odd. Our room was next to the street and noisy at night and early Saturday morning . .but hey, you are in the city and one should expect noise.

We went to the lobby café to get a drink and bite to eat. The staff was not accommodating nor friendly. We decided to leave and go elsewhere. We then walked to the Ramblas – an easy 10 minute walk. I read on this site not to walk to the Ramblas at night. Hmmm, although the street is somewhat shady with peep bars, we felt safe. As in any city, you just need to be aware of your surroundings.

I can’t comment on the free continental breakfast the next morning, as we had to get up too early for our flights and missed it.

All in all, the hotel is good. I’d would stay here again if I really had too. However, I have a feeling if you do some research you can find a better hotel in this area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AkronTravelBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salmiyah, Kuwait
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

I hve a tendency to find good hotel which have location as there main advantage so as to save time and money. Tryp Apolo is located next to metro station and is about ten min walk from La Rambla street. It also falls on major bus route, so connectivity-wise its great. Rooms are bit tiny but clean (take garden view room as road side rooms cud be but noisy coz of road traffic). Breakfast spread is good, if booking online add breakfast to your plan or else there are option across the street. Service is above average....overall Paisa Wasool :)

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vishal k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#98 of 513 in Barcelona
3,782 reviews
El Raval
Barcelona Universal Hotel
Barcelona Universal Hotel
#80 of 513 in Barcelona
3,897 reviews
El Raval
Barcelo Raval
Barcelo Raval
#104 of 513 in Barcelona
3,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montjuic
Hotel Grums Barcelona
Hotel Grums Barcelona
#196 of 513 in Barcelona
1,173 reviews
Barcelo Sants
#108 of 513 in Barcelona
3,174 reviews
Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona
#194 of 513 in Barcelona
2,922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel

Property: Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel
Address: Av. Paral.lel 57-59, 08004 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Montjuic , El Poble Sec
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#171 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#194 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#195 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 314
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel Barcelona
Sol Melia Barcelona
Tryp Hotel Apolo
Tryp Apolo Barcelona
Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing