We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel
Ranked #265 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Romford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Really great hotel”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We have just got back from Barcelona having stayed at the Tryp Apolo. We have a fantastic break and totally agree that the hotel is in a great position in the City. We stayed in a Family Suite, which was spacious for 4 of us - the only downside I can mention is that the road noise is definitely loud, as we were on the third floor facing the road. There are a few theatres opposite the hotel and a restaurant and mini casino adjacent to the hotel. It didn't ruin our stay though, as the room was beautifully clean and smart. The breakfast was amazing - everything to offer from cereal, abundance of fruit, bread, pastries, cold hams, cheese, 3 types of egg, bacon, sausage, coffee, tea juices - I could go on! The staff were extremely helpful, booking a tour bus for us and explaining many places to visit. I would recommend this hotel and would stay again.

Room Tip: Corner suite was spacious but a room on the road was a little noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aegeanstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Experienc... T, Guest Experience Manager at Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing us, for trusting our services and for sharing your good experience!
It is fantastic that you had the chance to stay in one of our spacious Family Rooms and that you enjoyed it together with your family, but for us it is even better to know that you would stay at the TRYP Apolo again; that means we accomplished our goal and have been a good part of your holidays.
Please do not hesitate to contact us for anything you may need, we remain at your entire disposal!

Warm regards,
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    852
    1,452
    685
    208
    137
See reviews for
710
1,359
115
310
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (581)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stanmore Middx
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

My family stayed here for 1 night prior to a Cruise in September last year. We chose this for the location as it is very easy to get to from the Port so perfect for a pre or post cruise stay. The rooms were very clean and spacious, breakfast was fantastic with a big choice. It was also a good position to go sightseeing round Barcelona first and has a Metro station right outside. We would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bevmarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Experienc... T, Guest Experience Manager at Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Great to know your positive experience with us! Our whole team feels so proud for being helpful and be part of your complete cruise trip. Thank you for sharing it with us and with the traveller’s community!

Warm regards,
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, Devon
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We did not eat at the hotel during our stay so that is the only thing I cannot comment on. Otherwise I found the hotel very smart and spotlessly clean. The staff were friendly and accommodating. Our twin room was spacious and nicely decorated.

The location however, is what makes this hotel great as it is perfectly situated on the edge of Las Ramblas and the metro station is virtually outside the door. My only downer is the noise. We were on the fourth floor, and it sounded as if we had the windows open every night. It wasn't enough to bother us, but we were woken every night in the early hours by people/cars at one point or another. The hotel could do with double glazing! But it's honestly, not enough to annoy you!
Great price, great hotel, great location.

Room Tip: maybe ask for a room at the back - unless of course you revel in the city that really doesn't sl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank moledge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Experienc... T, Guest Experience Manager at Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your nice words and remarks in regards noise; as you kindly mention we are happy to be a smart hotel in the City Centre and at the same time we apologize if the city activity annoyed you during your stay. It is so good for us to have this information and please rest assured we really take it into account.
We really hope you come back and visit us so we can offer a room facing the side you better like!

Warm regards,
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver WA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We enjoyed 4 days over New Year's in Barcelona and Tryp Apolo was an excellant choice. We had reserved the family room with bunkbeds but they gave us two regular beds instead which was perfect for our kids. Both rooms were large, clean and quiet. Breakfast included was amazing! So many items to choose from, fruit, pastries, deli meats, cheeses, eggs, sausage, bacon, deep fried onion rings (yes for breakfast), roasted tomatoes, mini baguetts, croissants, coffee carafe and warm milk at your table refilled a lot, bottles of water at no charge :) Only downside was the internet... slow and passcodes didn't always work. Would highly recommend and would stay again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Experienc... T, Guest Experience Manager at Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

We really appreciate the time taken to leave your comments after your stay. Drawing from your comments we see you spent some days with your family in one of our Family Rooms, and nothing makes us happier than accomplish a whole family expectations. Thank you so much for recommending us and also for letting us know your experience with our Internet service; we will check with our company if during New Year there was any specific reason for it to be slow. Again, thank you so much!

Warm regards,
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We visited for a week at the end of Nov, during which time breakfast is included in the price. This is one of the best free breakfast buffets we could wish for - fresh brewed espresso, a dozen different kinds of bread and buns, scrambled and sunny side up egg, bacon, many different cheeses, prosciutto, fruits, yogurt etc. Really a good start of the day.
The room was good, a little dated perhaps, some of the bathroom fittings showing years of use. But nothing wrong. We were lucky to have a room facing the back of the building, and never heard any noise (well, you can hear a low rumble often from the Metro that runs below the street, but nothing bothersome.)
Staff was friendly and always had a smile on their faces.
Internet is a little choppy at times and you have to get a new access code slip every day, but really fine.
I read some people thought the area dangerous - not really! The street leading to La Rambla is well lit, always busy with people, and there's even a police station halfway. No reason to feel unsafe at all in our opinion.

Room Tip: Back of the hotel for sure
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lachbus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Experienc... T, Guest Experience Manager at Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Wonderful review! Thank you for sharing your positive experience with us and your fantastic breakfast description!
We will be waiting for you with the same smile in our faces, happy to have you back!

Warm regards,
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

booked in for 2nites after just coming of a cruise round the canaries. First impression of the hotel was good checked in straight away reception staff were very helpfull and proffesional we requested a room high level and city facing and was given what was requested. Lovely room comfortable beds and great bathroom with fluffy towels. Breakfast was very impressive selection of cereals, yogurts, hams, cheeses, pastries, tea, coffee, juices, and beautifully displayed. Cant wait to return to your wonderfull hotel and city fully enjoyed our stay thank you

Room Tip: high floor city facing wonderfull views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jacfive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Experienc... T, Guest Experience Manager at Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind comments! We can’t wait to receive you back and offer you an even greater stay. We remain at your entire disposal!

Warm regards,
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

Be aware.. This is not worth the 4 Stars! For the price we paid on last minute was good but we wouldnt pay any more! We were told check in was 2pm, we arrived at 2pm and was told the room wasnt ready and to come back in 30min.. We came back at 230 and still wasnt ready! Came back at 3.30pm and the room hadnt been vacuumed.. Chips and food all over the floor and the glasses were dirty!! Very very poor! Breakfast however was amazing! Buffet with everythibg on offer and staff were nice. Location great and close to waterfront!

Helpful?
1 Thank Charlotte N
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Guest Experienc... T, Guest Experience Manager at Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for leaving your comments after your stay.
On the one side we feel happy to know that you positively evaluate our location and breakfast: will definitely let our Chef and F&B team!
In regards to the check in incidence, we have already gone through it with our Housekeeping and Front Desk Managers in order to avoid it to happen again. We appreciate that you are letting us know a punctual situation such this one because this is the best way to improve; this is why your feedback is so important for us and we really take it into account.
We really hope you enjoyed your stay because for sure, our aim is your complete satisfaction and it is what we daily strive for.

Warm regards,
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#96 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,662 reviews
Poblenou
Melia Barcelona Sky
Melia Barcelona Sky
#188 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,353 reviews
El Raval
Barcelona Universal Hotel
Barcelona Universal Hotel
#77 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Les Corts
NH Collection Constanza
NH Collection Constanza
#79 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,838 reviews
Eixample
U232 Hotel
U232 Hotel
#52 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,005 reviews
Hotel Gran Derby Suites
#147 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel

Property: Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel
Address: Av. Paral.lel 57-59, 08004 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Montjuic , El Poble Sec
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#164 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#194 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#195 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 314
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel Barcelona
Sol Melia Barcelona
Tryp Hotel Apolo
Tryp Apolo Barcelona
Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing