We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel
Ranked #274 of 519 Hotels in Barcelona
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We enjoyed 4 days over New Year's in Barcelona and Tryp Apolo was an excellant choice. We had reserved the family room with bunkbeds but they gave us two regular beds instead which was perfect for our kids. Both rooms were large, clean and quiet. Breakfast included was amazing! So many items to choose from, fruit, pastries, deli meats, cheeses, eggs, sausage, bacon, deep fried onion rings (yes for breakfast), roasted tomatoes, mini baguetts, croissants, coffee carafe and warm milk at your table refilled a lot, bottles of water at no charge :) Only downside was the internet... slow and passcodes didn't always work. Would highly recommend and would stay again!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Experienc... T, Guest Experience Manager at Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Dear Guest,

We really appreciate the time taken to leave your comments after your stay. Drawing from your comments we see you spent some days with your family in one of our Family Rooms, and nothing makes us happier than accomplish a whole family expectations. Thank you so much for recommending us and also for letting us know your experience with our Internet service; we will check with our company if during New Year there was any specific reason for it to be slow. Again, thank you so much!

Warm regards,
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,580)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,520 - 1,526 of 3,580 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2013

We visited for a week at the end of Nov, during which time breakfast is included in the price. This is one of the best free breakfast buffets we could wish for - fresh brewed espresso, a dozen different kinds of bread and buns, scrambled and sunny side up egg, bacon, many different cheeses, prosciutto, fruits, yogurt etc. Really a good start of the day.
The room was good, a little dated perhaps, some of the bathroom fittings showing years of use. But nothing wrong. We were lucky to have a room facing the back of the building, and never heard any noise (well, you can hear a low rumble often from the Metro that runs below the street, but nothing bothersome.)
Staff was friendly and always had a smile on their faces.
Internet is a little choppy at times and you have to get a new access code slip every day, but really fine.
I read some people thought the area dangerous - not really! The street leading to La Rambla is well lit, always busy with people, and there's even a police station halfway. No reason to feel unsafe at all in our opinion.

Room Tip: Back of the hotel for sure
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lachbus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Experienc... T, Guest Experience Manager at Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

Dear Guest,

Wonderful review! Thank you for sharing your positive experience with us and your fantastic breakfast description!
We will be waiting for you with the same smile in our faces, happy to have you back!

Warm regards,
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

booked in for 2nites after just coming of a cruise round the canaries. First impression of the hotel was good checked in straight away reception staff were very helpfull and proffesional we requested a room high level and city facing and was given what was requested. Lovely room comfortable beds and great bathroom with fluffy towels. Breakfast was very impressive selection of cereals, yogurts, hams, cheeses, pastries, tea, coffee, juices, and beautifully displayed. Cant wait to return to your wonderfull hotel and city fully enjoyed our stay thank you

Room Tip: high floor city facing wonderfull views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jacfive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Experienc... T, Guest Experience Manager at Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind comments! We can’t wait to receive you back and offer you an even greater stay. We remain at your entire disposal!

Warm regards,
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

Be aware.. This is not worth the 4 Stars! For the price we paid on last minute was good but we wouldnt pay any more! We were told check in was 2pm, we arrived at 2pm and was told the room wasnt ready and to come back in 30min.. We came back at 230 and still wasnt ready! Came back at 3.30pm and the room hadnt been vacuumed.. Chips and food all over the floor and the glasses were dirty!! Very very poor! Breakfast however was amazing! Buffet with everythibg on offer and staff were nice. Location great and close to waterfront!

1  Thank Charlotte N
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Guest Experienc... T, Guest Experience Manager at Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for leaving your comments after your stay.
On the one side we feel happy to know that you positively evaluate our location and breakfast: will definitely let our Chef and F&B team!
In regards to the check in incidence, we have already gone through it with our Housekeeping and Front Desk Managers in order to avoid it to happen again. We appreciate that you are letting us know a punctual situation such this one because this is the best way to improve; this is why your feedback is so important for us and we really take it into account.
We really hope you enjoyed your stay because for sure, our aim is your complete satisfaction and it is what we daily strive for.

Warm regards,
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

The hotel has a great location with a metro station just outside and La Ramblas and gothic quarter only a ten minute stroll away means the hotels location for tourists is fantastic.

The sleep quality was very good, the beds comfortable and rooms quiet (we were on the top floor facing the sea).

However i don't rate this hotel as 4* as the facilities were not great, the shower was not powerful and the temperature was inconsistent. When we arrived we were early for check-in but we reserved a double room with reception and told to return at 3pm for check-in and that we could leave our bags in the secure luggage room. So we left and returned around and were checked into our double room - however when we arrived into the room it was completely uncleaned from the previous guests so we had to return to reception, we were then changed room and this room was not a double as requested and we were not warned of this when the reception changed our room. So on returning to reception to ask for a double room we were told there were no double rooms available apart from the dirty one and we could have that one if we waited another hour even though at this point it was 2 hours after check-in time. We said we would do this if we could use the other room to wait the hour in but we were told we could not do that as the hotel was fully booked that night. So as a result we stayed in a twin room with the beds pushed together - not ideal but not a huge issue. The thing that was very disappointing was the lack of an apology from the hotel reception staff and the overall attitude of the reception staff on duty at that time.

Overall the hotel is well located and did the job, it is not a 4* hotel and don't expected the staff to make you feel as if you are in a 4* hotel.

Room Tip: High level the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nelly289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Experienc... T, Guest Experience Manager at Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

Dear Guest,

Good location, great rest…but not a feeling of a 4 star hotel because of the facilities and the treat you received at the Front Desk; we are so concerned about your comments and experience in regards these two last points and we really want to work on that in order to improve. We would really appreciate if you can let us know the room number where you were staying in (please email us at gex.tryp.apolo@melia.com!) so we can check with our maintenance department if there was a specific irregularity. In regards to our service, please rest assured we will inform your Front Desk Department about your impressions since it is totally unusual to receive such a feedback about our staff.
We really apologize and now we would love to have a second chance to let you experience that the TRYP Apolo is a 4 star hotel! Will you give us the chance?

Warm regards,
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

It is very close to the metro station and Las Ramblas. The breakfast is great and the rooms are clean. The stuff is not very friendly but they are not rude. The metro line in city is very simple so you can reach any touristic place by metro near the hotel.

1  Thank selkav
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Guest Experienc... T, Guest Experience Manager at Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for highlighting our location, breakfast, cleanliness and staff! Please be back anytime, Barcelona and the TRYP Apolo are waiting for you!

Warm regards,
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

The hotel is indeed well located, a short walk from the harbour with it's copious shops and restaurants, boat trips and lots of activity! We were put next to a smoking room despite having requested a non-smoking room, moved to a room which was full of furniture in the process of being renovated and eventually to a room overlooking the main road which was incredibly noisy. Whilst I appreciate that the hotel was busy the week before Christmas was it inconcievable to locate us in a quiet room - their double glazing is sadly lacking! We hardly slept the 3 nights we stayed there and I became fed up asking the reception staff to sort it out. I did complain to the duty manager about the attitude of one of the reception staff in particular and she offered us a late check out as compensation. Breakfast is indeed plentiful but the I found the food tasteless overall. It is a clean hotel, a little tired and could do with some updating. Would not stay again as there are better places to stay in Barcelona for the same price.

Room Tip: Not overlooking the main road!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brid1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Experienc... T, Guest Experience Manager at Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Dear Guest,

We really appreciate the time taken to leave your comments after your stay with us. We are so happy to know that you enjoyed our great location but at the same time so concerned about your final impression; our team works daily to create positive and memorable experiences and in this case “we did not get there”.
Please rest assured that your comments will be transmitted to all the involved departments and we will double check with our Housekeeping Manager our standard ventilation process very accurately.
We really hope you give us a second chance to show you that the TRYP Apolo is able to create fantastic and unforgettable experiences and it is a good place to rest and enjoy.

Warm regards,
Guest Experiencie Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Montjuic
Hotel Grums Barcelona
Hotel Grums Barcelona
#194 of 519 in Barcelona
1,223 reviews
El Raval
Andante
Andante
#95 of 519 in Barcelona
1,773 reviews
El Raval
Barcelona Universal Hotel
Barcelona Universal Hotel
#91 of 519 in Barcelona
4,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Barcelo Raval
Barcelo Raval
#111 of 519 in Barcelona
3,511 reviews
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#102 of 519 in Barcelona
3,921 reviews
La Rambla
Hotel Arc La Rambla
Hotel Arc La Rambla
#110 of 519 in Barcelona
2,673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel

Address: Av. Paral.lel 57-59, 08004 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Montjuic , El Poble Sec
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#116 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#169 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#195 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $103 - $472 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 314
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prodigios Interactivos SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel Barcelona
Sol Melia Barcelona
Tryp Hotel Apolo
Tryp Apolo Barcelona
Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing