We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel
Ranked #258 of 521 Hotels in Barcelona
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“An excellent stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed 4 nights 7 - 11 November. Excellent location, a few minutes walk from Las Ramblas, right by the metro station so no problem arriving with luggage - just be sure to look for the exit marked Funicular Montjuic, it's to the side of the main exit. Then when you get to street level, the first word you see is "Tryp," so it couldn't be easier. Lovely room, comfortable bed, hot shower, everything spotless. Hotel staff couldn't have been more helpful. We'd booked room & breakfast and weren't disappointed - good value compared with food served elsewhere. A fine choice - 4 kinds of cereal, 3 different milks, an array of fruit and yoghourt, 9 different cold meats and 5 cheeses, a selection of breads, 8 different pastries, a selection of teas, coffees and juices, hot food was bacon, eggs, beans, sausage, tomato - but sadly this was only tepid most mornings, however that is the only grouse - you could still enjoy a full breakfast.
We'll definitely book this hotel again, no question about that.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JanC300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Experienc... T, Guest Experience Manager at Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Guest,

Lovely review! You have perfectly described our breakfast offer! Our team couldn’t be happier after reading your review (waiters, cooks, receptionists, cleaning ladies…) we all really thank your nice words and can’t wait to receive you back. Will you let us know before your next stay? Please do not doubt it will be wonderful!

Warm regards,
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    842
    1,434
    674
    205
    131
See reviews for
698
1,341
113
306
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (572)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

We arrived there at 8:30 am from NYC, after waiting on line for about 20 min (lots of people waiting) we were told we could check in at 3 o'clock, or we could pay almost 30.00 euros and check in at 10am! What we did after waiting again about 20 min...
Well they said we booked a room without breakfast, what I didn't, we paid for the reservation back in August, because they needed to change the reservation the day before due to a flight change, the receptionist kept telling me it was a "last minute deal with no breakfast" whatever...
The room was super small with 2 single very uncomfortable beds! Seriously we are a couple! I've never seen that before!
The bathroom had no window and no fan!
This hotel was worse than a 2 star one!
It is not a 4 star hotel at all.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Enejunhonyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Experienc... T, Guest Experience Manager at Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for providing us feedback after your stay.
We are so sorry about your unfortunate impression. As you mention, our check in time is from 15:00h as it is announced when making the reservation. Our staff offers rooms as soon as we have them available, but we have to prioritize the rooms offer and, if any guest wishes to have a prior assignation, we offer the possibility to have it for this extra amount; however it is the guest’s choice and even some people books this “early check in” in advanced.
In regards to the breakfast, if you wish, please send us your reservation confirmation and we will definitely check if breakfast was included. If it was, please do not doubt we will solve it as soon as possible.
We really take note of all your comments and I can assure you we will keep on working in order to improve and get better on our day to day service.

Kind regards,
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
283 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

If you want a place to stay near Las Ramblas and from Plaça Catalunya, it´s good. The staff is really nice and kind. But for a 4 star hotel, the rooms should be more modern! The bar isn´t "that thing".

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nbaffatto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Experienc... T, Guest Experience Manager at Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Guest,

We appreciate the time taken to leave your comments after your stay.
Fantastic to know that you loved our location and staff and we take into account your suggestions in regards decoration and bar. Thank you so much!

Warm regards,
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
home
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

This hotel was a surprise as for the rate we paid, it was a bargain! Unlike many of the hotels we have stayed for the rate, we never expected such a modern up-to-date hotel more like you would expect from a Sheraton or Inter-Continental. The was reasonably large, had a flat screen TV, nice bathroom, etc. The location is close to the cruise port and we were staying there prior to a cruise along with many Carnival passengers who apparently had it as their pre-booking hotel which gives you a good idea of how nice it was. We were about a 10 minute walk from Las Ramblas and were directed to a wonderful restaurant which although it was a 15 minute walk, it was worth it and recommended by a hotel clerk. The HOHO runs on this street but be aware that there are two companies so I would recommend NOT buying your pass on line to be sure you get the correct company. We did buy on line and had to walk about 5 blocks to pick up the bus. Our rate for two nights in October, 2012 was 193 Euros. They offer breakfast for 11 Euros when you check in but I recommend skipping it unless you are doing a two meal day and want the buffet they offer. It was recommended by some of the other folks at the hotel as they said it was excellent. We just went for a bagel and coffee at one of the nearby restaurants. Be sure to ask for a room away from the street as it is noisy due to people chatting on the street after the bars close.

Room Tip: Again, ask for a room overlooking an inner courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TwoPats1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Experienc... T, Guest Experience Manager at Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for such a nice review! For us, it is of a great value to count with your opinion and it is great to receive such a nice feedback.
Good to hear that other people recommended you our Breakfast Buffet and that we accomplished your expectation! Our team is so proud to know their work is being recognized by you!
We really hope you have the chance to come back to the TRYP Apolo and enjoy another great rate offer!

Warm regards,
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

Thank you so much to All the staff at Apolo Hotel, Barcelona. We arrived to be greeted by such friendly and professional staff - they were very caring. We arrived at our room to find it immaculate. It was really quite homely. The wardrobe space was excellent and the bathroom was a great size. The breakfast was just great - all nationalities catered for, and it was hot!!!! It really set us up for the day. Whatever we asked the staff, they went out of their way to help us. They always had a smile and a great sense of humour. We wanted to go to typically spanish places, and their recommendations were just second to none. The names of staff that I can remember were Jorge, Ryan Ford, Miguel Sanchez and the room maid I think was Georgina (she was so polite and accomodating) but I would like to thank all the staff as our trip to Barcelona was a memorable one (although the camera was lost somewhere!!!!) and we will DEFINATELY be returning back. In fact I have already recommended the Apolo to friends. So...... thank you once again to everyone who made our stay a great one.

Room Tip: If our room was anything to go by, all rooms would be suitable for all
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Experienc... T, Guest Experience Manager at Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Guest,

What can we say after reading your review? THANK YOU SO MUCH! For the time taken to give us your feedback, to share your experience with other travellers, for your nice words...you really did not miss a thing and even remembered some of our staff member’s names. Amazing!
Rest assured we transmitted your kind words to all our staff and we all can’t wait to receive you back. Can you make us a favour? Please contact us before you come back! (gex.tryp.apolo@melia.com). We will make sure we share a new wonderful stay!

Warm regards,
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

The hotel was well located, 5 minutes from Las Ramblas, clean, spacious but a bit tired. On quite a busy main road and despite asking for a quiet room we got one right at the front (apparently they are short of family rooms so little choice). Also when we arrived at just before 3pm, the room was yet to be cleaned - we had to wait a further 2 hours before it was ready. This would have been OK had the staff on reception been more friendly and welcoming, smiled, offerred to store our luggage - this is perhaps the most disappointing aspect because although the hotel was a bit tired, it was adequate for our needs, but the staff were lacking in customer service - and no maps available either so new to a city we were left to puzzle through.

Adequate but we wouldn't stay there again.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less road noise or room on side / back of building
See more room tips
Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank 101Cath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Experienc... T, Guest Experience Manager at Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with other travellers.
I am delighted to hear that you found our location ideal for your travel as well as cleanliness. While you stayed in one of my personal favourite locations since I love our Paral•lel Avenue views, I am disappointed to hear about the unpleasant service you experienced from the front office staff. One of the most valuable points of the Hotel TRYP Apolo is our staff friendliness and hospitality and we are really concerned about your experience. Please note we will follow up with the Front Desk Department to make sure it does not happen again.

We really hope you give us a second chance and consider staying with us one more time; we will show you that we can create great memories. Please, do not hesitate to contact us if you ever wish to come back at gex.tryp.apolo@melia.com

Warm regards,
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness Fl
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Great looking....staff does not listen to English speaking guests as well as others. 10/19/12 Air not working in son's room. Got it ??FIXED?? got down to 82
Need ice? Get a glass, ride the elevator to the main lobby, exit through the closed bar, into the unoccupied cafeteria wait for someone and they will give you a glass of ice. Go back through the cafeteria, through the lobby into the elevator up to your overly warm room and hope that it didn't melt.
We went to call our son and wife and no phone service. went back down into the lobby and were told "OH?" Fixed soon.....NEVER!!!! Two days no phone and our daughter in law has a medical condition and may have needed our help or someone else,
Asked about the breakfast buffet and were told that if we didn't get there before 8:30 most likely it would be gone since they do not restock. I looked, on that they were right. We found a little bar with pastry.
Don't expect the same attention as the Holiday Inn or Residence Inn, because it isn't there

Room Tip: Our room was on the street side but not too noisy, SURPRISE!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmsimek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Experienc... T, Guest Experience Manager at Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for reviewing our property. Though we are disappointed you were not satisfied with your experience we certainly appreciate your feedback and I would like to assure you we are taking steps to fix some of the concerns you brought to our attention.

However, we have to say we cannot agree when you say we do not listen to English speaking guests as well as others. We are really sorry you felt that way, but please note that our goal is to provide the best service to all our guests, no matter where they are from. This is why our staff is composed by English, Italian, Spanish and other nationalities with great skills speaking also other languages such as French, German or Portuguese.

In regards to the ice, we definitely bring it up to any room which requests this service; I understand that it was uncomfortable for you to come down to the cafeteria because your telephone did not work and we are really sorry for the inconveniences this may have caused you. Nonetheless, it was a punctual incidence and thanks to your feedback our Maintenance Service Department has already fixed it.

Breakfast is served in our Restaurant from 7:00h untul 10:30h /or 11:00h for the weekends. As you can read in other traveller’s reviews, we can assure you that our breakfast is restocked during all this time maintaining variety, quantity and quality. We will check how this information was given to you and avoid it for future occasions.
We really hope you will give us a second chance next time you travel to Barcelona to show you we are a better property than the one you experienced.

Warm regards,
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#97 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,606 reviews
Poblenou
Melia Barcelona Sky
Melia Barcelona Sky
#192 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,299 reviews
El Raval
Barcelona Universal Hotel
Barcelona Universal Hotel
#74 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Les Corts
NH Collection Constanza
NH Collection Constanza
#79 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,799 reviews
Eixample
U232 Hotel
U232 Hotel
#52 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,965 reviews
Hotel Gran Derby Suites
#152 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel

Property: Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel
Address: Av. Paral.lel 57-59, 08004 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Montjuic , El Poble Sec
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#160 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#194 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#195 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 314
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prodigios Interactivos SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel Barcelona
Sol Melia Barcelona
Tryp Hotel Apolo
Tryp Apolo Barcelona
Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing