We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Quick Breakfast”
Review of Escriba

Escriba
Ranked #8 of 105 Bakeries in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: La Rambla
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
138 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Great Quick Breakfast”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We enjoyed a yummy quick breakfast here on two mornings. It's right on las Ramblas and has great Croissants, coffee and tea. I am sure they're desserts and artistic goodies are great too but we did not have any. It is a really small space that fills up fast, so be sure to go early.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephdb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,434 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    871
    358
    103
    51
    51
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Clara, California
1 review
“A Kiss of Escriba”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

"Cheek kissing is a ritual or social kissing gesture to indicate friendship, perform a greeting, to confer congratulations, to comfort someone, to show respect" - Wikipedia

So when we were about to leave Escriba, and one of the associate there said, "Wait a minute...I want you to try something" and gave us a chocolate in the form of a red lips to try, my mind immediately referred to the cheek kissing culture of this part of the world. Not only was it a kind gesture, it was also a gesture of friendship. And frankly, it topped off what was already an amazing meal.

Escriba came to me by way of recommendation from a friend. My friend said that Escriba makes the best croissant in the world. And he was right. Not only was the croissant great (I had the chocolate croissant), I also took the liberty of trying out the quiche along with a dual-shot espresso. The food was nothing short of excellent!

Great atmosphere, friendly associates, and awesome food! What more can one want when visiting a place like La Rambla in Barcelona! Highly recommended it...and I couldn't leave without snapping a picture of the friendly staff!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Henry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The Perfect Sin”
Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

An absolute must when in Barcelona!
One of the best chocolates I have ever had. We ordered four bonbons, small hot chocolates, and a fried croisant with custard, all of which were absolutely mind blowing!
If you love good chocolate you just cannot afford not visiting this place.

Helpful?
1 Thank Ilan K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
townsville
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fabulous pastries”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Just had Creme Catalan prepared by Christian Escriba, absolutely fabulous, make sure you try as it is an experience and taste not to miss

Helpful?
Thank intheville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
81 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

A great place to stop for a cake & coffee on La Rambla, gorgeous selection of cakes and the cake i tried was just really fantastic! Can eat and drink inside or out and they offer take away. A real treat. Would recommend to others and not mega expensive!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CatFarrell01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Escriba also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Escriba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing