We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“impressive food, impressive service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cera 23

Cera 23
Ranked #23 of 9,333 Restaurants in Barcelona
Price range: $20 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: El Raval
Description: Nuestra unica pretension es hacer que salgas del restaurante, al menos algo mejor de lo que entraste. Para conseguirlo ofrecemos el producto del mercado mas fresco, preparado con carino y servido con una sonrisa.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
232 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“impressive food, impressive service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

i was impressed even before getting to this place by the speed of reply that I received to my email when asking for a reservation. We got to the place 30 minutes early ( 8:30) but they were able to give us a table immediately. The service was just exemplary, there was somebody greeting us with a large smile as we entered the restaurant and throughout the meal our waitress checked on us several times, recommending delicious choices and making us feel special and confortable. Just to start with, we were offered gaspacho, on the house, while we were waiting for our order. We (3 people) had the octupus as a starter and then the black rice vulcano, the tuna fish and vegetables risotto. All of them super delicious but my favourite was the black rice vulcano - simply to die for. The quanties were more than enough so by the time we got to desserts, we were already full. We just ordered 1 cheese dessert for all of us to share. Also super tasty...and like all the other reviews, thumbs up for the blueberry mojitos. At the very end of the meal we received some on the house orange drink, very tasty. The price was reasonable, about 85 Eur among the 3 of us. I strongly and warmly recommend this piece of heaven and just i can' t wait to go back and try some new dishes.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank corina0210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,841 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,755
    784
    223
    63
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect dining for couples”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

Just go and experience! Fantastic food, smiling staff and reasonable price. The ambiance is very cool for couples.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bmb-86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmö
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful restaurant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

Cosy and intimate restaurant. The blackberry mohitos were delicious. I got acutely sick somewhere between starters and the main course (no this had nothing to do with neither the food, nor the mohitos...). The staff were helpful and kind and I din't even have to pay for the food I couldn't eat. My wife said the food was great. I will come back next time in Barcelona!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank SASWAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level Contributor
98 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Awesome Spanish Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

We waited for an hour and a half for our table as we were late for our initial booking. Boy was the wait worth it.

The Blackberry mojita was just right, best mojito i've had in a while.

The stars of the night were the volcano black rice and roast pork in my opinion.

The Catalan cream dessert was really good as well.

Definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Matosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A gem off the tourist track ...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

... but not very far off, just down a couple of backstreets, and a bit like Soho before it got gentrified. It's a small, attractive couple of rooms with a bar at the front. Pleasingly they open at 7:00, which is early for Barcelona. The people running it were very friendly, which gets the mood right to start with. The food itself was excellent - each dish we had was very well executed, with special mentions for the beef (whether as a steak or a roast beef starter), the spiced chicken pie and a leek risotto.

I had the impression that the people running it had a genuine vision as to what their restaurant should be and have made sure that it happens - and one of those things is that the patrons have a memorable meal. Given the quality, it's also good value. Highly recommended.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WhySoGlumChum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cera 23 also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Cera 23? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing