We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ExCerant Dining Experience”
Review of Cera 23

Cera 23
Ranked #29 of 9,704 Restaurants in Barcelona
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish, Gastropub, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: El Raval
Description: Nuestra unica pretension es hacer que salgas del restaurante, al menos algo mejor de lo que entraste. Para conseguirlo ofrecemos el producto del mercado mas fresco, preparado con carino y servido con una sonrisa.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“ExCerant Dining Experience”
Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

Hard to find fault with this restaurant. Five stars for service, atmosphere, food and value for money. It took some finding but that just added to the experience as it was a little adventure getting there. Carlos was very warm and accommodating. He visibly shows a lot of pride in his restaurant.
There were four of us, we each had a pre-dinner mojito, primo and secondi with a shared bottle of Tempranillo and it only cost €150.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Warren F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,046 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,911
    816
    234
    68
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous Lunch and dinner!!”
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Cera 23 is my favorite lunch haunt. The quality and presentation of the food is superb! I've been many times since i discovered it, and all my meals have all been consistently excellent!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Spenya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fine Eating”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We went here at beginning of our trip and are returning tonight because we enjoyed the first visit so much. I had a fresh fish dish in a white wine sauce--it was very tasty. They made a special blackberry mojito that was very refreshing and good. I will say the neighborhood to the east is sketchy, so take a cab or walk over from the west, northwest. If you don't want to get dressed up but do want to enjoy some authentic Catalonian fare, try this out.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cccarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“You need to try this place!”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Really delicious food to fair prices. So tasty, prepared to perfection with a sweet harmony. The waiters and the owners are so kind and helpful, and you'll get a coffeshot on the house. A little wait to get at table but worth it! Try their moijtos with blackberries - they're crazy good!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mayanyborg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldenzaal, Overijssel, Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
275 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Awesme food and service”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Had an awesome meal in this fine restaurant. Picked it based on its Tripadvisor ratings. I didn't reserve a place, so had to wait for about 30 minutes at the bar which was fine with me. Staff is really friendly and the place has free decent wifi (ask the staff for the password).

The menu is small, but the food is of really fine quality and served pretty fast. The drinks are made with fresh exotic fruits. Terrific. Especially the Sangria is a must try.

As an indication to the price: a meal with an appetizer (some egg something), main course (entrecote), a beer, a glass of Sangria and an ice with fresh fruit desert costed me about 50 euros.

It's about a 15 minute walk away from the nearest metro station (Liceu). It's a bit tricky to find, so be sure to utilize something like Bing Maps on your phone to find your way to it.

Only downside is that it can get quite noisy in the basement. Other than that, fine place to go!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NL_Koen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cera 23 also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Cera 23? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing