We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Restaurant!”
Review of Cera 23

Cera 23
Ranked #31 of 9,510 Restaurants in Barcelona
Price range: $20 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: El Raval
Description: Nuestra unica pretension es hacer que salgas del restaurante, al menos algo mejor de lo que entraste. Para conseguirlo ofrecemos el producto del mercado mas fresco, preparado con carino y servido con una sonrisa.
Podgorica, Montenegro
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great Restaurant!”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

I have just arrived to Barcelona and wanted to eat some Spanish food. My expectations were fulfilled. The owner was very friendly and his recommendations were great. There wasn't a great variety of food in the menu; however, the steak was delicious and well made. The atmosphere was unusual and pleasant. I recommend this restaurant to anyone who wants to have good Spanish food. If you'll go, try Tiramusu. The dessert is awesome!
P.S.: It's better to make a reservation because the restaurant is quite small and always full.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alex Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,933 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,821
    801
    228
    67
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Buzzy”
Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

Had walked by this restaurant one evening and there was a huge queue so we made a booking for the next night. Still had to wait 15 minutes for our table, but it was worth it. There is a nice selection on the menu and the portions are a good size.
The decor is fun and service was good and accommodating. We shared a "secondi" as a first course. The ceviche was beautiful and well presented.
We did not order a cocktail....but they are a very popular choice.
Good value for money. Most of the patrons seemed to have chosen Cera23 because of Trip Advisor...lots of English spoken.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding!”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Initially recommended to me by a friend, I have to say it was totally worth my while!

the restaurant is located on a quiet pedestrian lane in El Rabal area, the ambience is really stylish and cosy. You will find some classic dishes from different parts of Spain all with a personal twist, tasty and exceptionally presented.

staff is very friendly and helpful, they instantly make you feel like home

if you are I cannot recommend this place enough for a unique experience

Do not forget to try the signature cocktails, i loved the herb smoked gin &tonic !

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AntonisDub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tecumseh, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Blackberry Mojitos in Barcelona”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

What a fun place. We had a great time. Great place for an inexpensive in Barcelona! Have a Blackberry mojito you won't want to miss them.
Try the Chit-on wine too!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Margaret B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Did not meet our expectations”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We read so much about this restaurant here in tripadvisor and decided to book a table for our final night in Barcelona. While there (a bit early, though) we sat down in the bar and ordered 4 blackberry mojitos. It took 10 minutes to get these since the bartender which we ordered from did the dishes instead. We got our table and ordered 2 specials of the day (pasta with prawns, chorizo and mushroom), one sirloin steak and risotto. So far the service was very good. But the food did not taste much at all. 14€ for the pasta/risotto was well worth, but 24€ for the sirloin which wasn´t even seasoned was well over priced. This is, by tripadvisor, the 4th best restaurant in Barcelona (over 4400 in total) and with so many good reviews we could not understand the hype. It took 10-15 minutes after we´ve finished the main course before we got attention from one of the waiters. They did not offer any dessert or more drinks. While it was very stressy the main focus seemed to be getting people to the tables, since 10-15 people waited up in the bar. OK food, good service at the beginning but amazing mojitos! To be honest, we think it´s an average restaurant here in Barcelona. Perhaps it would be better without the stress but yet again, the food did not impress at all to us compared to other restaurants we´ve been to.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bjornedman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cera 23 also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Cera 23? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing