We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just loved their approach”
Review of Cera 23

Cera 23
Ranked #31 of 9,510 Restaurants in Barcelona
Price range: $20 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: El Raval
Description: Nuestra unica pretension es hacer que salgas del restaurante, al menos algo mejor de lo que entraste. Para conseguirlo ofrecemos el producto del mercado mas fresco, preparado con carino y servido con una sonrisa.
London
Level Contributor
70 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Just loved their approach”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Simple dishes in an informal and quirky little room with an open kitchen made a great alternative to the sameness of many Catalan menus. The specials were really special, a main of perfectly cooked duck breast served with a tart raspberry compote was an incredible combination and the surehandedness of a great team was seen throughout. The waiting staff were very sharp and well humoured, even with some fussy ordering. Go.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gartartan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,933 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,821
    801
    228
    67
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Yep its as good as people say”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Really good. Very reasonable prices for this quality
Wine good value. Had the pork cheeks followed by duck. Excellent. Thanks guys. Will be back

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lawr18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fresh & Fun”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Cera 23 delivers on every level. First of all communitcation via email was courteous, quick and friendly. Ruben, who took our reservation, met us as we entered and greeted me by name before I opened my mouth (ok so i had 11 family and friends with me so that gave him a clue) and the service with a smile carried on for the all night from all the staff. Service was relaxed and efficient. We sat opposite the open kitchen and watched the dilligent chefs do their stuff. Each dish we had was very good to excellent, from the burgers for the children to steaks and fish dish specials. A modern, fun, vibrant, restaurant without being noisy or impersonal. Superb.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheOldForge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
“Great little restaurant, problems with service”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Went to this restaurant for my birthday and was thankful we had reserved a table as it was packed. Food and drinks were great, probably the best we had while in Barcelona (except dessert, don't bother), and the atmosphere of the restaurant was great. Perfect for a night out with friends or a romantic date. The issue we had was with the service. Although they were all very friendly and polite, it just did not seem to function well. First we were ignored when we walked in. Then we ordered a cocktail as an apertif, but the dinner wine was brought out first, and when the cocktail came so did our starter... did not go so well. We felt rushed at first, then once we finished our food they forgot about us completely. We had to ask for a dessert menu after a while of waiting for them to notice. And it took 3 goes at asking for the bill before that came.. and even then getting them to take the payment took several goes.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elliev85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watertown, MN
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Delicious. Great, Fun Service”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We picked this place tonight because it was #1 on Trip Advisor, was close to our hotel (Casa Camper) and wasn't over-the-top expensive. What a fun night. Food was good -- a nice break from Tapas. I love Tapas, but it was nice to have my "own" meal. We seemed to be waited on by about 3-4 people. They were all insanely great and fun. We couldn't have been more pleased with our choice. Our group had two starters: the shrimp, and the ham with potatoes. Both good. For dinner we had the volcano of black rice -- be warned: this is a CRAZY presentation and not for the feint of heart, the special beef with potatoes, The pork special with zucchini (our favorite), the pasta with shrimp. All good. The service and "vibe" is what stood out for us.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jenmenke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cera 23 also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Cera 23? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing