We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
NH Barcelona Centro
Ranked #137 of 520 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 23, 2013

NH Centro is in a great location. Right in the old town, close to La Rambla, Barcelona Catherdral. Although the hotel facilities were basic we had everything we needed. Wifi, hair dryer, extra pillows, safe in the room, air conditioning, mini bar. No tea/coffee making facilities in the room, there was in the foyer but we didn't use it. The room was on the small side but clean. We expected this having read previous reviews and found it was big enough for the amount of time we actually spent in it. Staff were friendly and efficient, the room was very quiet, no noise to disturb sleep. Made use of the supermarket directly opposite most days. Did not have the breakfast as there are a number of cheaper options close by. Overall a good stay!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heidi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,765)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

909 - 915 of 2,765 reviews

Reviewed June 19, 2013

Hotel is centrally located and close to all major attractions. Metro is walking distance. Lots of cafes, shops and restaurants nearby. Rooms were of a good size, bathroom is clean. Free wifi is a plus.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
Thank PTon5th_NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Booked a superior room with a balcony on the 5th floor for 3 nights. Room was clean and comfortable. Heard that many hotels in Barcelona had paper thin walls but that is not the case for this one. The sound proofing for the room is excellent and we could sleep soundly every night.

Best thing about the hotel is its location. Right smack in the shopping area which was a godsend for my shopaholic wife! There is are 2 mini-marts just where the hotel is so getting stuff like snacks, beers,cheap food etc was a cinch.

Room amenities were average but it has all the basics one would expect.

Bed was comfortable and was large enough (2 super-singles joined together) to sleep my wife, my 6 yr old daughter and myself comfortably.

One thing to note about the hotel is that if you are driving, this hotel may not be suitable for you. It is situated in an area where there are periods of time when it is a pedestrian only area. I arrived in a rented car on a Saturday afternoon (around 2pm) and had some trouble finding the hotel because the area was closed to traffic. In addition, parking was at a separate location and costs Euro50 a day. Also, there isn't a porter available at the hotel.

Overall, the hotel is good and if you intend to experience barcelona by foot, this hotel will definitely suit you.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boozingbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

The location of this place was amazing. So close to Las Ramblas but on a quieter street. The staff was either very friendly or quite rude, so it completely depends on who you get. The ladies were rude the gentlemen were kind and courteous to us. The rooms were of a good size and were quite clean. I would go back and stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephdb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 5 days earlier this month and would rate it as "Good" if that were a Tripadvisor option. Our priority for a hotel in Barcelona was location, and the hotel excelled in this regard. The location is excellent with its proximity to the Ramblas, Placa de Catalunya, and nearly everything you'll want to see during your trip to Barcelona (except the Sagrada Familia, Parc Guell, and Montjuic, all of which are easily accessible by transit nearby), and has the excellent feature of not being on a noisy or busy street. The room was compact, but tidy and very clean. We did not get breakfast at the hotel per prior reviews and would pick up food at nearby cafes.

The biggest complaint about the hotel is that the air conditioning shuts off overnight, even when the room key is in the slot, so we would wake up from the heat at 1-2 AM. Our room faced the courtyard, so after the first night we would open the window to let some air in, which helped a little, but I'm not sure how effective this would be in the heat of the summer.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank panamacruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Right in the heart of La Ramblas, just a few meters inside the main road. Recommend strongly as free from noise pollution. Average size rooms good for two with Free wifi inside the rooms. A good 3 * hotel with english speaking receptionist & staff with their warm greeting ' Hola ' ( Hello ) at almost all times inspired us to learn certain words in Spanish. Good clean & bright rooms with most of the basic amenities available but without tea coffee maker. A request for an early check in was considered.
Easy availability of food, drinks, basic essentials & samosa from a Mini super market run by a warm Pakistani gentleman opposite to hotel makes it very convenient.
Indian Veg restaurant 'Govinda' near to the hotel, a boon for all Indians adds 1 more star to the hotel by 4 *.
Would definitely recommend & next stay in Barcelona has to be NH BARCELONA CENTRO.

Room Tip: Look for rooms on a higher floor but preferably with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vish999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

This hotel is in a terrific location in the Bari Gothic: centrally located, yet on a quiet street. The comfortable and spacious room provided a quiet place to rest after a long transatlantic flight. The staff was delightful and bent over backwards to help orient us to the area. Having free and speedy wifi was also a benefit. We have used NH hotels before and have always been happy with the high quality of the rooms and service at a reasonable price. This property was no exception. Although the breakfast was pricey, there are plenty of other reasonable breakfast options in the area. Like other readers, I would suggest the "no breakfast plan." This minor caveat aside, I would strongly recommend this hotel to others and would gladly stay here again on future visits to Barcelona.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank born2travel262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Portal de l'Angel
Catalonia Portal de l'Angel
#77 of 520 in Barcelona
1,272 reviews
El Raval
Andante
Andante
#95 of 520 in Barcelona
1,766 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
NH Barcelona Barri Gotic
NH Barcelona Barri Gotic
#112 of 520 in Barcelona
817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Rambla
Oriente Atiram
Oriente Atiram
#219 of 520 in Barcelona
1,726 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Citadines Ramblas Barcelona
Citadines Ramblas Barcelona
#148 of 520 in Barcelona
1,161 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Room Mate Pau
Room Mate Pau
#49 of 520 in Barcelona
1,253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Barcelona Centro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Barcelona Centro

Address: Duc, 15 | Ciutat Vella, 08002 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly NH Duc de la Victoria)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#68 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#95 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $99 - $298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — NH Barcelona Centro 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NH Barcelona Centro benefits from a prime location right in Barcelona's Gothic quarter, the city's oldest and most historical area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your NH Barcelona Centro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Duc De La Victoria Hotel Barcelona
Nh Hotels Barcelona
Nh Hotel Barcelona
NH Barcelona Centro Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing