We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cute Little Bar, Great Tapas and Beer”
Review of Q Bar - CLOSED

Q Bar
Cuisines: Peruvian, Mediterranean, Spanish, Bar, Pub, South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Northampton, UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Cute Little Bar, Great Tapas and Beer”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We discovered this really sweet little bar after walking out of one of the rip off places on Carrer Ferran, we were so glad we did. There was something about the décor which was a little 1920's and somehow I could see Margaret Rutherford holding a séance in there, but it worked and felt cosy and comfortable.

This is a great place to sit and have a drink (4 Euros for a large beer which seemed cheaper than most of Irish bars nearby) and the tapas was excellent - little fishes for 6 euros was a generous portion of crisp Whitebait.

Q Bar is more a restaurant as much as a bar and so we stayed for a meal For a main course I had a Peruvian dish of Lamb with Yucca, the lamb was excellent, tender and falling of the bone - the Yucca reminded me of Parsnip. There were about six people eating when we were there and everyone seemed to be very happy with their food.

We returned twice more and were struck by the friendliness of the staff and the quality of the food. On one night they had a party of 10 eating and this did seem to put the Kitchen off a little when it took almost an hour for food to arrive, but when it did it was once again excellent.

I would thoroughly recommend this place as a good value for money choice in an area where there are far too many places ready to charge a fortune for rude service and bad food.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ColinGNorthampton_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    11
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding cuisine!!”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

One of the best culinary finds in the city. The lamb and ceviche dishes were superb and the service was excellent....always with a smile and ready to provide was ever else you needed.
The look once inside is deceiving so don't let that detract you from enjoying the flavors you will experience. The food and drinks were are excellent value. The chef is from Peru and can he cook! Again ...outstanding!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RPE01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
368 reviews
238 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Absolutely amazing tapas!”
Reviewed December 8, 2012

We discovered this place off La Rambla and what a find it was! Really cosy setting, lovely atmosphere in a busy but not crowded place. The staff were all really friendly and helpful and the service was top notch. The food was beautiful and the patatas bravas were by far the best I have ever tasted! Topped off with a jug of sangria, taste to perfection. The food was that amazing we even decided to sample the desserts. An excellent evening all round and comes highly recommended from me!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LYPud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Awesome place”
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We stumbled across this place as we were wandering through the laneways one night. The bartender was really attentive and made the best sangria I've ever had. The tapas were amazing - can highly recommend the green peppers. Nice cosy atmosphere as well. We went back the next night but unfortunately they were closed. Would highly recommend this place to anyone visiting Barcelona!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Horchetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Stockholms Län, Sweden
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing tiny bar and restaurant”
Reviewed July 11, 2012

We have found this place while randomly wandering the city, and as it looked nice, decided to come back for dinner that day. The very helpful staff marked our map for us, and we did - and it was entirely, entirely worth it! The staff and proprietors are friendly, the food is amazing (best we found so far in 5 days in Barcelona), the bartender is competent and the wine selection is good. And it is not too expensive. If you are at all wondering if you should go - you should! The place has a nice and very quiet atmosphere too.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Veronika P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Q Bar also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing