We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel on the edge of the old city”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Barcelona Universal Hotel
Ranked #77 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 7, 2009

We spent 4 night there in September 2009. We got the rooms 219 and 221, which were only 2 out 5 rooms have balcony in this hotel! The rooms are very well design and far better than any 5 star hotels in Australia!
The metro station Paral·lelAddress (Line 2 & 3) is right in front of the hotel. So it's very easy to go to all major attraction in Barcelona.
As the hotel is on the edge of the old city, the neighbourhood look a bit uneasy at 1st; but the hotel has 24hrs satffing in the front and you are safe ;-)

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank x_tan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,946)
There are newer reviews for Barcelona Universal Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,848 - 2,854 of 3,946 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2009

We booked this on the internet and got an excellent price. We asked for a quiet room and a travel cot and we got both in a superb room on the 9th floor which was almost like a suite. Lovely hotel, efficient check in and out, great facilities (we did not use the restaurant as we like to eat out for breakfast and dinner but it looked nice). Staff were pleasant and we made use of the rooftop pool which was great with our 20 month old son, be warned its cold!!! but the terrace view is worth it.

The hotel is superb.

One issue is that we found that this part of the city was not as nice as others (it was our first time) and therefore in the evening when coming back we found certain routes back on foot to be a bit uncomfortable when you come back from say the Ramblas and for that reason alone we gave the hotel a 4 rating although there is little they can do about it.

On the positive side with regard the location the metro is literally over the road including the funicular up Montjuic hill toward the Olympic stadium and Castle.

Barcelona was superb and we can recommend it as a break. If taking a small child bewrae some metro stations do not have lifts and some do. Also recommend buying a T10 metro ticket at the airport (7.70 Euros) as you can travel airport to city as one journey and then have 9 more journeys to use which we did around the city and our return to the airport. Train to airport about 25minutes and the metro was very easy to use.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hickster18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2009

We stayed in this hotel on two occasions. Once before our cruise and again after the cruise. I don't often write reviews but I think hotel is worth recommending. The rooms are modern, spacious and equipped with everything you need. If you like a good nights sleep ask for one at the rear of the hotel aa Barcelons is pretty busy whatever time of day or night.

The staff here were very helpful. Good English spoken on the front desk and in the restaurant. Lots of eating places close to the hotel but all pretty run of the mill serving the same food. It was ok for breakfasts. We therefore decided to have dinner in the hotel restaurant which was excelent. Lovely salad buffet with big portions of main course grill. Again the staff were very hepful.

The hotel has a small pool and sun deck on the roof which is welcome if you have a couple of hours to spare

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank avonsong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2009

The hotel was as good as reviews that I read before making the reservation. Some staff were a bit unfriendly but this maybe true to customer service in Barcelona. The room was clean and relatively large (It would be nice to have a hot water jug). Breakfast selection was good but not extensive (it would be nice to have boiled eggs as a lighter alternative to the scrambled eggs). We had a light meal at the bar one night that we enjoyed. Very close to the Parallel metro station entrance (20 meters from the entrance). We took the airort bus to Plaza de España and walked to the hotel (around 1 mile). The gym needs free weights. Overall I would come again.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maha-travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2009

My wife and I travelled to Barcelona in early September and stayed at the Universal. The room was spacious (for eauropean standards), clean, airconditioned and comfortable. We had no problems with noise and overall were very happy with our room. Location was good but slightly on the outskirts of the centre of town(about 15 min walk from the main strip).
The Only issue with the hotel was the small, inadequate and un-airconditioned fitness room.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PedSolz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2009

me & my boyfriend stayed at the barcelona universal for 3 nights couldn't ask for a better hotel it's sophisticated & modern with a gorgeous roof top pool, The staff are so helpfull and friendly they drew us a map how to get to places and made a diner reservation for us and checked what time a shopping store closed for me, Would deffinatly stay here again!
And it's a great location for las ramblas just a 10 min walk away and the olympic port a 10 min cab ride. You have to check out Buddah bar in las ramlas realy funky bar serves great cocktails and the Angles & Kings Club at the ME barcelona hotel is a realy cool club which open's up onto a roof top pool they also have a beautiful spa at ME barcelona and las ramblas is great for shopping.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KfromLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2009

I reserved early from Internet, for a third of the regular price, and when we got there we were pleasantly surprised. The Hotel is a little away from all the touristic action, while it's an easy walk to Las Ramblas. A magnificent view of the city from the pool on the roof. The room was cosy and luxurious. We only paid about 112 euros for a night and the service from every staff member was amazing! I'm never going to another hotel in Barcelona.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IsaGatineau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Hotel Jazz
Hotel Jazz
#44 of 513 in Barcelona
4,487 reviews
Eixample
EuroPark Hotel
EuroPark Hotel
#32 of 513 in Barcelona
3,973 reviews
El Raval
Barcelo Raval
Barcelo Raval
#104 of 513 in Barcelona
3,265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Andante
Andante
#86 of 513 in Barcelona
1,677 reviews
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#27 of 513 in Barcelona
4,552 reviews
Eixample
U232 Hotel
U232 Hotel
#57 of 513 in Barcelona
3,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelona Universal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelona Universal Hotel

Address: Avda Paral.lel 76-80, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#38 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#61 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#101 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $107 - $414 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelona Universal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically located just a five-minute walk from Las Ramblas, Hotel Barcelona Universal grants its guests easy access to all parts of the city. Metro lines 2 and 3 stop just outside the main entrance, at “Paral·lel,” and nearby buses can take you to the beaches of Barcelona, Park Güell, and anywhere in between. A stroll from our hotel near Las Ramblas will take you to some of Barcelona’s favorite tourist attractions.Hotel opened in 2001 and renewed in 2011.Hotel Barcelona Universal has 167 rooms, each equipped with free Wi-Fi Internet. Three “Barcelona Skyline Suites” feature a Jacuzzi and private terrace. Families and larger groups may be accommodated in triple or superior rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, TravelClick, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barcelona Universal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Universal Barcelona
Hotel Barcelona Universal
Barcelona Universal Hotel Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing