We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful gem in middle of the city” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Barcelona Universal Hotel
Ranked #74 of 522 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful gem in middle of the city”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014

We stayed at the Barcelona Universal Hotel In July, 2014. We found the hotel to be comfortable and the staff to be very accommodating. All employees were the most friendly and helpful I've seen in a while - from the front desk to the doorman to the maids. Over and over again, we got good advice from the employees at the front desk and they went out of their way to help us find great restaurants and attractions. They even convinced us to use the city's metro and bus system to certain attractions, which we found easy, convenient and money-saving! They gave us little tips that made traveling around the city easier and warned us about areas where we needed to be extra-aware of pick-pockets. Wonderful stay!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Candy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoCifuentes, Director General at Barcelona Universal Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Guests;

We apreciate your review thank you very much.
Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,679 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,873
    1,451
    270
    57
    28
See reviews for
614
1,924
80
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (693)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
90 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

I got a deal for this hotel, got it for about 75 pounds a night via hotwire secret hotel.

For the price paid I will give it 5 out of 5
Location is good
Soo many great restaurants nearby and Ramblas nearby
Hotel room was good, bathroom good

Room service timing is random

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank as07onm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoCifuentes, Director General at Barcelona Universal Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Sirs;

Thanks for sharing your coments with us and other guests,
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

We stayed at the Universal Hotel for 3 nights and found it to be the perfect base for our family to explore Barcelona. My brother-in-law had booked this hotel and I was initially concerned about the surrounding area having read various reports that it was unsafe at night with its numerous alleyways and close to the red light district but our young family felt safe throughout our stay and we did not encounter any problems.

The hotel is about 30 minute drive from the Airport and the taxi fare was 25 euros.

We booked a triple and a double room and found them to be spacious and very clean with modern décor. The bed in the rooms consisted of 2 beds pushed together and the join could be felt through the mattress. Took some getting used to but we did slept well despite this and being able to hear background street noise from the 4th floor into the early hours (though we soon forgot about as it wasn’t intrusive).

Breakfast was served in their restaurant on the 1st floor. The staff were very welcoming and we had plenty of choice – all fresh and quickly replenished. Other than that we did not make use of the outdoor pool as the weather was not warm or any other facilities the hotel had to offer so cannot comment further.

The Paral-lel metro station is located outside the Hotel which made it easy to travel to various parts of the city even with a buggy as most stations had lift access. One tip we received from a local was that the first and last car carriages have spaces designated for wheelchairs/buggies. I would highly recommend going on the Funicular train which departs from this station to reach Montjuic cable car. A number of attraction/sights are also within walking distance such as Las Ramblas; Columbus monument; the Marina; Maremagnum; Plaza Espanya. There are numerous supermarkets along Avinguda del Paraŀlel to buy essentials and grocery.

Overall, we had a great stay – thank you Universal Hotel!

Room Tip: Request for a high floor if you are sensitive to noise or a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank coco b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torbay Uk
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

Just returned from a 4night getaway at Barcelona Universal.
Firstly very easy to access independentlt from the airport&tube station.location is ideal to everything!walking distance to la ramblas,the beach,restaurants,bars&tube station...a must for us as it allows you choices and options for day trips.
hotel is very clean,service is excellant-we were even asked by security for proof of our room key to show we were residents and by housekeeping the following morning when we came back from breakfast.we had a room with a view and superior which was a huge room for 2.2showers&sinks allowing ua both to get ready at once.
Rooftop terrace was sufficient and we never had problems goin up after a day at the beach around 6pm for a cocktail&seat by the pool.
Hotel had a good package wic included cava on arrival and breakfast each morning.i wouldnt pay extra for breakfast as its the weakest side to thw hotel.
overal great and would go back again!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Belle829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

I stayed for 3 nights. After all, it is all about hospitality. It is about whether you feel welcomed or not. The facilities and the room was not bad. But from what i experienced with hotel staff, i cannot recommend this hotel.

5:40am, I was told by the front dest staff that 24hrs room service is available only at 5 star hotel. I was simply asking two bottles of water on the way back from late night clubbing. Somehow, the front desk staff cannot get me two bottles waters for me. I felt really awkward. No one tell me like that before at hotel desk. And tell me that the service i request is only for 5 star hotel? I, myself, travel every three months. I have stayed from luxury boutique hotel to 3star hotel. At that time I was puzzled and tired. so i cannot even react back that rudeness of the staff.

If you want a outdoor pool and no need for hospitality of hotel staff, you can go this hotel. Good location, good facilities. But, you are expecting to have 4 star hotel, then don't check in. You will feel you're only 4star hotel guest. The room service close at 11pm. No complementary water(3euro each for 350ml). I see some people bring the 1L water from convenient store outside. I believe that is not because they are cheap, but they cannot get drinkable water from hotel after 11pm.

Yeah, I had worst experience with this hotel.

The hotel should consider remove an unwilling staff off from your front desk. No matter how nice the facilities of hotel are, i felt not welcomed here.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoCifuentes, Director General at Barcelona Universal Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Customer;

I am really sorry about your experience but I can not agree your comments.
It is true we have no service at the reception as a bar service but all our rooms have a mini bar with several drinks and snacks. Our bar services works from 7:00h to 23:00h and if you advise us we have no problem serving you whatever you need.
On the other hand I want to confirm that we do not offer free water,and also confirm that the tap water is drinkable in Barcelona.
I appreciate your writing but in the same way I appreciate that you value the rest of your stay and the service received.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

The hotel was very nice. The employees were courteous and helpful. The only complaint I had was that the bed was too hard, but I find this in most European hotels, The location was excellent, close to the subway line, and several restaurants. We would stay there again..

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Larry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

Location is very good. 10 mins from the port. 10 mins from ramblas and there are loads of restaurants just outside the hotel. The room was nice, comfortable and clean. Breakfast isnt bad got a small selection but does the job.

Helpful?
Thank Sach S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Hotel Jazz
Hotel Jazz
#42 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,262 reviews
Eixample
EuroPark Hotel
EuroPark Hotel
#35 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,667 reviews
Eixample
U232 Hotel
U232 Hotel
#49 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#94 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,577 reviews
El Raval
Andante
Andante
#78 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,533 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Constanza Barcelona
Hotel Constanza Barcelona
#75 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelona Universal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelona Universal Hotel

Property: Barcelona Universal Hotel
Address: Avda Paral.lel 76-80, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#38 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#58 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#101 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelona Universal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically located just a five-minute walk from Las Ramblas, Hotel Barcelona Universal grants its guests easy access to all parts of the city. Metro lines 2 and 3 stop just outside the main entrance, at “Paral·lel,” and nearby buses can take you to the beaches of Barcelona, Park Güell, and anywhere in between. A stroll from our hotel near Las Ramblas will take you to some of Barcelona’s favorite tourist attractions.Hotel opened in 2001 and renewed in 2011.Hotel Barcelona Universal has 167 rooms, each equipped with free Wi-Fi Internet. Three “Barcelona Skyline Suites” feature a Jacuzzi and private terrace. Families and larger groups may be accommodated in triple or superior rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Barcelona Universal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Universal Barcelona
Hotel Barcelona Universal
Barcelona Universal Hotel Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing