We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Clean Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Barcelona Universal Hotel
Ranked #74 of 522 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Location, Clean Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for three nights in June and it was great. We arrived at the hotel early morning so we could not check in but we were able to store our belongings in a locker room and have use of a safe, which was important for our passports etc.
The hotel is about a five minute walk from La Rumbla and the metro was right outside the hotel.
Our room was very nice and comfortable. The rooftop pool and bar was an added bonus.
Very professional and helpful staff.
Would stay again.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Biggzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoCifuentes, Director General at Barcelona Universal Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Thanks, best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,679 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,873
    1,451
    270
    57
    28
See reviews for
614
1,924
80
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (693)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

Location is outstanding; walking distance to pretty much all the landmarks and great sites (5 minutes to la ramblas street). The hotel is very clean and the employees go out of their way to help out every chance they get. The rooftop pool is quite small, but there is always room to be found and the employees at the bar are always smiling. The rooms are spacious (we were 3 adults) and the breakfast is everytihng you would want and expect it to be. I recommend this hotel to all.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pierre L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoCifuentes, Director General at Barcelona Universal Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Customer;

Thank you for sharing your opinion with other guests and also with us,
Thanks,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

We enjoyed our stay here for a surprise for my boyfriend's birthday with jet2 city breaks. We got the train from the airport and then the metro to the hotel as we had Hola BCN travel cards (highly recommend them! They are a cheap and easy way to explore the city).
The location of the hotel was fantastic - if you take the exit out of the metro at Paral-lel station signed 'Rda. Sant Pau' then the hotel is literally right in front of you when you come out. The Paral-lel metro station itself provides you with great connections to all the points of interest and even the funicular up the Montjuic mountain.
The lady at reception was very friendly and helped us when we got there. She informed us that our room would not be ready until 3pm as we requested a high floor and so we went up to the rooftop pool for a drink and a swim whilst our cases were safely stored in the luggage room.
We went to the rooftop a few times during our weekend break and there were always some deck chairs free. The pool is bigger than I expected and it was great to cool off for a while - it is very cold! The views over Barcelona are lovely.
The room itself was spacious and comfortable. There was a safe in the wardrobe to store our valuables and we looked out onto the main street but were not disturbed at night by the traffic. We loved the built-in music feature which played music into the room and the bathroom. We didn't mind that the bed was two twins pushed together because it was very comfortable. The free Wi-Fi was very useful and the room itself was clean.
The only things I have to say that are slightly negative and very minor are that the cleaners change your towels everyday regardless of whether you have left them on the floor or not even though they are supposed to be upholding an environmental policy of only changing them if they are on the floor. Also, although the shower was great, whenever you shower the bath tap runs too which we found a little strange and wasteful.
All in all we would recommend this hotel as it is in an ideal location, has friendly and helpful staff, a nice pool with lovely views and clean, spacious rooms. It is a perfect base for exploring this beautiful city!

Room Tip: Request a high floor when you book because we were on the 8th floor and got great sleeps as it is le...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kathrynemma5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoCifuentes, Director General at Barcelona Universal Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Thank you very much,
Hope to see you in your next visit to our city,
regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

Fab hotel in a good location, Barcelona is one amazing and unique place with plenty to see and do. Fantastic places to eat, great historic and beautiful places to visit. We were pleasantly surprised at the great value and excellent restaurants. It's a must see city!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Angelina532013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plympton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

Stayed at this hotel from 17th-24th June with my boyfriend. It was a very last minute trip to Barcelona, and we were anxious to have booked so little in advance, but were were both pleasantly surprised with this hotel from the moment we arrived!

It is situated in an ideal location - whilst it is on a fairly busy main road (which we could not hear from our room!), it is in an excellent area within walking distance of Las Ramblas and the marina. The metro station is directly outside the hotel which was great especially after a busy day of sight seeing.

The room was very contemporary and clean, there was a maid service every day and we'd come home to a tidy room with the air con on! We did ask for a double bed, but had two singles - which we pushed together. Never the less, we were very happy with the room.

The swimming pool on the roof top is indeed smaller than in the photos, but it is lovely for a dip after a hot day walking/on metros. It is small but just the right size for a few lengths, or to simply relax.

We enjoyed breakfast every morning for our weeks stay. We quickly learnt to go down early as it would get very busy and some of our favourites would go! The service was very polite and prompt.

The reception and lobby staff were simply excellent. They helped us with any queries about the metro and local attractions in superb English. We were also able to use the reception's two Apple Macs (and printer) so we could print off our boarding passes before departure, which was really helpful and very much appreciated.

All in all, we enjoyed a lovely weeks stay at this hotel and we would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a clean, modern hotel in a prime location for exploring Barcelona.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dulciefairweather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoCifuentes, Director General at Barcelona Universal Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Thank you very much, we appreciate your review !!!!
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is nice and is within easy access to the city centre. However my boyfriend was really disappointed with the hotel stating that it was nothing like the pictures when he booked it. We were given a room on the 5th floor which had no views and was looking into another room. The room was dark and upon arrival there had been a mix up and we didn't get our double room which was booked! There was also a hair in the bath tub. I found the room to be noisy at night as you could clearly hear people walking about on the floor above us and we had to put up with screaming children running around a room during the night. In the mornings you could also hear people showering in the floor above. Overall the hotel was nice however I don't believe it is up to a 4 star standard! The only good thing about this hotel is the staff and the location.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kerrie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoCifuentes, Director General at Barcelona Universal Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear Customer;

I am really sorry if the views from your room were not the ones you expected. We try to provide the best service we can but please understand that we sometimes if the hotel is full we can not satisfy all the requests we have if we are also not reported.

Also please understand that we are not responsible for the attitude of respect from other customers.

Thanks for commenting you treated well by staff.

Please accept my apologies and if you plan to come back again to our city please give us another oportunity to serve you.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

We stayed in this hotel for two nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The hotel is in a great location with a metro just outside the door. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The staff is extremely friendly, knowledgeable and attentive. I would recommend this hotel for anyone coming to Barcelona and want to stay in the heart of things.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank elizabethmackay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoCifuentes, Director General at Barcelona Universal Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Guests;

Thanks for sharing your opinion with us and other customers.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Hotel Jazz
Hotel Jazz
#42 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,262 reviews
Eixample
EuroPark Hotel
EuroPark Hotel
#35 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,667 reviews
Eixample
U232 Hotel
U232 Hotel
#49 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#94 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,577 reviews
El Raval
Andante
Andante
#78 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,533 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Constanza Barcelona
Hotel Constanza Barcelona
#75 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelona Universal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelona Universal Hotel

Property: Barcelona Universal Hotel
Address: Avda Paral.lel 76-80, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#38 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#58 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#101 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelona Universal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically located just a five-minute walk from Las Ramblas, Hotel Barcelona Universal grants its guests easy access to all parts of the city. Metro lines 2 and 3 stop just outside the main entrance, at “Paral·lel,” and nearby buses can take you to the beaches of Barcelona, Park Güell, and anywhere in between. A stroll from our hotel near Las Ramblas will take you to some of Barcelona’s favorite tourist attractions.Hotel opened in 2001 and renewed in 2011.Hotel Barcelona Universal has 167 rooms, each equipped with free Wi-Fi Internet. Three “Barcelona Skyline Suites” feature a Jacuzzi and private terrace. Families and larger groups may be accommodated in triple or superior rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Barcelona Universal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Universal Barcelona
Hotel Barcelona Universal
Barcelona Universal Hotel Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing