We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Barcelona Universal Hotel
Ranked #91 of 519 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 2, 2014

I stayed here as group of women. We thought the staff to be very friendly and helpful and all spoke perfect English. The reception area has large comfortable sofas and a good place to meet up. There is also a nice and very reasonably priced bar. My room was spacious, comfortable and clean. The hotel is in a good location for restaurants and bars. We didn't have the hotel breakfast but started each day by wandering out and finding somewhere. It's only a short walk to Las Ramblas.

Room Tip: My room faced the street which meant I heard the bin men arrive at 6am but apart from that was fine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lodge36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,157)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,778 - 1,784 of 4,157 reviews

Reviewed May 1, 2014

Nice, clean, well positioned hotel with roof terrace and pool. The hotel is close to metro station and within walking distance of Las Rambla. The staff are helpful giving maps, directions and answering questions. What was great about the hotel was the roof terrace. It caught the sun until early evening and was a great place to relax in late afternoons after sight seeing and before dinner.
There are no tea/coffee facilities in the room, but i did see a guy get a kettle from reception, so perhaps bring your own teabags and ask! Soap / shower gel provided is also limited so bear in mind if travelling hand luggage only.
Curtains let in some light in the morning - not black out ones.
Overall though, we were pleased with the hotel - value / location / cleanliness and would recommend. Barcelona also is lovely.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MancsGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2014

We have just returned from a four night break at this comfortable hotel in the beautiful city of Barcelona. To update from previous reviews - we took a travel kettle and it was fine although Room Service is polite and prompt. We did not have a great view from the windows but we had come to explore the city so it didn't matter at all to us. What did matter was the standard of the room which was good. The bed was very comfortable -the safe was easy to use and there was plenty of hot water for showers and a bath. The service and attention we had from all of the staff has been superb. One of us needed gluten free bread for breakfast and the choice was wonderful. All the advice we had from the staff regarding trips and directions was helpful and good. We will be returning to the city next year and plan to book at this hotel again. Central to Las Ramblas and the metro etc., Just the place for a city break.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Farmerswife2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Universal Hotel in Barcelona is in a good location and only about a 15 minute walk from The Rambla. The room we had was quite small. The layout was annoying as in the bathroom they had a doorstop just in front and slightly to the right of the toilet. My husband stepped on it several times and once my pyjama leg got caught in it and I almost toppled head first. It is not well laid out.

The room faced the street and there were large windows which opened but when they were closed they kept out the street noise quite well. The pipes did bang a bit when people in other rooms were using the showers. The wifi worked pretty well and the beds, though not the most comfortable we encountered in Spain, were not bad. The breakfast too was OK with a fair amount of choice. The hotel for the most part “looked clean”

The reason I am giving this hotel such a bad review is because we found on the bottom sheet of our bed a large smear of feces….not ours. This was not a stain on the sheets it was an actual smear of feces. We called down to the desk in the evening, when we found it, and two fellows, desk staff and porter, I think, came up full of apologies and changed the bed. These guys were great and said they would report the incident to management. They ordered a free bottle of cava to help make up for the problem.

We went down to the desk the next day to discuss this and also the issue of a second reservation that I had made and cancelled that the hotel had no record of. They were planning on charging me the rate for the first day which was more than 130 euros. They said if I had the paper copy of the cancelation when I got home and scanned them a copy they would reverse the charge.

When we got to the subject of the sh** in the bed, the desk clerk checked with his supervisor in the offices right behind the desk and came out immediately to say they wouldn’t charge for the second reservation. That was OK. I did have a paper copy of the cancelation at home but at least I didn’t have to fight with them.

So what is my problem? First the fact that the supervisor did not even come out to the desk to apologize personally. I would have thought that the hotel manager would do this. Secondly no-one at the hotel seemed shocked that the sheets had not been changed between customers, which was of course how the problem occurred. When I asked the desk clerk about this he said that “usually” the sheets were changed but obviously this time that had not happened. His English was as good as mine and so the use of the word usually wasn’t a mistake. I really don’t believe that the sheets always get changed between customers at this hotel. So if you stay here make sure you check the first night you arrive to see if there is anything indication that the sheets have not been changed.

Because I did have a copy of the cancelation of the second reservation at home, the only concession we got from the hotel was a free bottle of Cava….Big deal. Not much for finding someone else’s feces on your sheets.
Very disappointed in this hotel and would never stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Spriglet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014

We found this hotel to offer very good room accommodation, quiet but attentive/efficient service when needed, and to be in an ideal location for many tourist venues and being adjacent to the Para-ell subway station you can reach other locations easily via the Metro.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

My now fiance and I travelled to Barcelona April 11-18, 2014 for our first international trip together. We didn't know what to expect once we got there but hoped that the reviews were going to be accurate!

We had an amazing time. We got engaged the first night of our trip - our parents, back in Canada, arranged with the hotel staff for breakfast in bed and roses to be delivered. My mom told me that they normally require 1 days notice but went out of their way to arrange this for us.

Throughout our entire stay the staff were amazing. We must have asked them questions at least twice a day - places to visit, places to eat, etc. We even received some very interesting history about the city from one of the front desk attendants. They know their stuff and seem very happy to share their knowledge of the city with us!

If you are looking for a nice, clean, spacious hotel with knowledgeable and friendly staff this is definitely one you should look into!

Thank you again to all the front desk staff for making our trip a special one!

We didn't use the spa and we didn't eat breakfast at the hotel - but the room service breakfast we received from our parents was amazing! Large portions.

Room Tip: We saw a tip on here that suggested we ask for a room at the back of the hotel so as not to be on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rebecca W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Friendly staff, good location, great for the price. We didn't use the breakfast/restaurant facilities as there was plenty near by. The hotel is conveniently situated close to the metro, which was easy to navigate. The roof terrace was pleasant. The room was comfortable, the shower was good too.


  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Katrina Marie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Barcelo Raval
Barcelo Raval
#111 of 519 in Barcelona
3,511 reviews
El Raval
Andante
Andante
#95 of 519 in Barcelona
1,773 reviews
Eixample
U232 Hotel
U232 Hotel
#67 of 519 in Barcelona
3,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
EuroPark Hotel
EuroPark Hotel
#34 of 519 in Barcelona
4,199 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Claris
Hotel Claris
#68 of 519 in Barcelona
1,995 reviews
Eixample
Room Mate Carla
Room Mate Carla
#56 of 519 in Barcelona
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelona Universal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelona Universal Hotel

Address: Avda Paral.lel 76-80, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#38 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#70 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#101 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $109 - $290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelona Universal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically located just a five-minute walk from Las Ramblas, Hotel Barcelona Universal grants its guests easy access to all parts of the city. Metro lines 2 and 3 stop just outside the main entrance, at “Paral·lel,” and nearby buses can take you to the beaches of Barcelona, Park Güell, and anywhere in between. A stroll from our hotel near Las Ramblas will take you to some of Barcelona’s favorite tourist attractions.Hotel opened in 2001 and renewed in 2011.Hotel Barcelona Universal has 167 rooms, each equipped with free Wi-Fi Internet. Three “Barcelona Skyline Suites” feature a Jacuzzi and private terrace. Families and larger groups may be accommodated in triple or superior rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Barcelona Universal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Universal Barcelona
Hotel Barcelona Universal
Barcelona Universal Hotel Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing