We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location to see city...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Barcelona Universal Hotel
Ranked #74 of 521 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Naples, FL
Level Contributor
266 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Great location to see city...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

We stayed here at the end of our Mediterranean cruise before flying home. Hotel was close to the port, but also conveniently located to the La Ramblas district for dining, etc. And in front of the hotel is a subway stop. This stop is the direct line to go to Sagrada Familia cathedral and was a 12 minute subway ride. The room was large by European standards and was well appointed.

The front desk was extremely helpful and immediately recognized us as Americans speaking fluently in English, giving us helpful suggestions on where to go and how to get there.
Would definitely stay here again...

Room Tip: We were on 9th floor and had its own lounge area which was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,749 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,914
    1,475
    272
    58
    30
See reviews for
631
1,963
81
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (703)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

This was a very good value hotel- modern, comfortable with very good service. Was excellent as a base for exploring Barcelona for our 3 night break. Particularly good that one of the rooms was a spacious triple room which was great for our teenage/twenties kids to use. Great roof top area for sitting in the sunshine we had this week- amazing view over the city.

Only downside was that this was a bit of a dodgy walk at night to get to and from the Ramblas although ver handy for Metro as stop just outside. Didn't eat at hotel- but found a good place for breakfast nearby - Federal Cafe.

Reception and bar staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Allan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

we stayed in this hotel for 3 nights, it was very clean and spacious.
The hotel is based on the main road and yes there is a lot of noise but you are in the middle of a city which is what you would expect.
the pool is small but due to the time of year and time we was there we didn't go in it, we sat up on the roof top next to it in the morning which was lovely and warm.
it very close to the ramblers probably a 5/10 min walk which we walked to every day its busy and there is lots to do you are also close to go on the cable carts or to the beach.
over all tis is a very good hotel the only problem we had was someone opend our room door which was strange then walked back out after that we kept the door locked.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laurenchrisantony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

This Hotel says it's a 4 star but I would never rate it as such. The front desk help were not "helpful" when we checked in. Also when we finally made it to the room it was the smallest room one could imagine. Two of the lamps didn't work and the TV didn't either until someone came and worked on them. The view from the window was of a housing complex where people hung out their clothes to dry. The room was also very dirty when we got in there. The cleaning staff must have taken the month off.

Room Tip: Pay a little bit more and stay at The Arts Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

Hotel well situated to use public transport to explore Barcelona Good selection of cafes and restuarants closeby.Hotel amenities are of a good standard,though restuarant is relatively small and gets very busy at breakfast time. Hotel staff very helpful providing information on the city and ther best methods of travel

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
135 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

Let me say the positives. Very friendly staff, spotless housekeeping, nice bathrooms, comfortable bed and a neat little roof top pool area and small area for laying in the sun or reading. Very convenient location for walking to La Ramblas, the waterfront or to catch the Metro anywhere. We had four rooms and the rate for eight days was excellent.

So, would I stay there again? Probably not. The room was small, mine faced the Main Street, Avenue Parallel, and the traffic noise was excessive. Our 4th floor room looked across the street at a very run down apartment and a modern office building. Rooms on the other side faced directly into the back of another apartment with laundry hanging on the balconies. The immediate area around the building felt a bit dodgy although we never had a problem, even when we walked home late. The walk to the Columbus monument and the beginning of La Ramblas is a short one. The second floor dining room provides an uninspiring breakfast buffet and a "not very good"

As I said, great location, friendly, terrific people, but when I go back to Barcelona I'll be looking for another place.

Room Tip: Ask for higher up to avoid excessive traffic noise on front of hotel. The other side is quieter, bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anglesey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

This hotel is great if you are looking for a room for 3 people and/or families. The rooms are spacious and modern, ours had two singles and a very comfy sofa bed, 3 wardrobes, a safe, TV and spacious bathroom with bath & shower. Our room was spotlessly clean as was every area of the hotel. There are 3 lifts and unlike many hotels you did not have to wait long for one. Staff were helpful and friendly giving us maps etc. We did not experience any noises during the night. Breakfast was an assortment of hot and cold buffet to cater for all. There is a metro stop just outside the hotel, some alfresco dining and a Subway opposite. It is a short walk to La Ramblas: go left out of the hotel, take the 1st left turn and walk straight ahead past the Police Station and you will arrive in the middle of La Ramblas (less than 10 minutes walk). On our last day we checked out in the morning and as our flight was not till 9.45pm we were able to leave our suitcases with the concierge. We thought this hotel was good value, safe, clean and friendly, we were pleased with the choice. We did not use the spa so I have not commented on that.

Room Tip: Check out the swimming pool and sunbathing area on the roof top, great views of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gwenda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Hotel Jazz
Hotel Jazz
#42 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,305 reviews
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#97 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,607 reviews
Eixample
EuroPark Hotel
EuroPark Hotel
#35 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
U232 Hotel
U232 Hotel
#52 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,962 reviews
El Raval
Andante
Andante
#82 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,553 reviews
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#23 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelona Universal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelona Universal Hotel

Property: Barcelona Universal Hotel
Address: Avda Paral.lel 76-80, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#38 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#56 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#101 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelona Universal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically located just a five-minute walk from Las Ramblas, Hotel Barcelona Universal grants its guests easy access to all parts of the city. Metro lines 2 and 3 stop just outside the main entrance, at “Paral·lel,” and nearby buses can take you to the beaches of Barcelona, Park Güell, and anywhere in between. A stroll from our hotel near Las Ramblas will take you to some of Barcelona’s favorite tourist attractions.Hotel opened in 2001 and renewed in 2011.Hotel Barcelona Universal has 167 rooms, each equipped with free Wi-Fi Internet. Three “Barcelona Skyline Suites” feature a Jacuzzi and private terrace. Families and larger groups may be accommodated in triple or superior rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barcelona Universal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Universal Barcelona
Hotel Barcelona Universal
Barcelona Universal Hotel Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing