We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, freindly, central”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Barcelona Universal Hotel
Ranked #87 of 516 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed here in April 2013, The hotel staff were very polite when we entered and the hotel foyer had a nice exclusive feel to it. Our room was modern and clean with plenty of space, the window looked onto the road which was quite busy but just take some ear-plugs if you're a light sleeper. The hotel was a quick 10 minute walk to Las Ramblas and also had the convenience of having a tube station right outside it! Breakfast was good as well.

One thing I would recommend is not to get the tube after 11:00pm... we had a close call with a group of pretty rough looking Albanian types who I'm 95% sure were scoping us out for mugging us.. but we let them get in front of us then doubled back down another exit of the tube station, they then followed us but luckily we weren't far from the hotel! (I will say its not a rough area but you get little s**ts like this in every big city)

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcus D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoCifuentes, Director General at Barcelona Universal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Thank you very much for spending time and writing your opinion. On behalf of our staff we appreciate your words; to us they are helpful and allow us to assess both: quality of our facilities and the service we want to offer to our customers. Thanks again and we hope to see you soon among us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,053)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,971 - 1,977 of 4,053 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2013

Very well positioned hotel for metro & bus routes. Loved the decor of the bedroom. Yes - it is on a busy road, but it didn't bother us. Will be booking our next visit to Barcelona using this hotel-Recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunnyboy777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoCifuentes, Director General at Barcelona Universal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Personally I appreciate your writing; I will discuss your comments with our staff. Your words are very useful in order to keep improving and trying to provide a good service. Much obliged.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We arrived at the hotel well before check in but our rooms were already ready. We were on the 7th floor overlooking the main road and cable cars so an interesting view. Lovely rooms and big bathroom. Very efficient air con-so good we had to turn it off at night!! But lovely to return to cool rooms after a day out in the heat. Selection of food at breakfast was very good. Reception staff very helpful particularly Carlos who gave us many helpful hints. Only slightly odd thing was our rooms were not cleaned until late afternoon which was always when we seemed to return to the hotel but was not too much of a problem as we had two rooms so just ,oved into one then the other! qMetro station right outside and very easy to use. Would recommend seeing the musical fountains at Mont Juic, also a trip in the cable cars which give amazing views. Our flight home was not until 20.30 but the hotel were very accommodating looking after our luggage and even provide a shower room. Nothing was ever too much trouble and I would certainly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor with a view - 710 was perfect!,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CCPK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoCifuentes, Director General at Barcelona Universal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Your feedback is important and of great value to us. It helps us to assess our work trying to improve ourselves and set new targets.
I sincerely thank you very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

I would highly recommend the Barcelona Universal Hotel. I is a recently remodeled hotel located within real walking distance to "Las Ramblas" and the seaport. It also happens to be in the heart of the theater district. The rooms were new, modern,fresh and spacious. The hotel was quiet. The staff was extremely helpful with all of our questions and needs. There are plenty of restaurants and sidewalk cafes near and around the hotel. There is a Metro Stop directly in front of the hotel which adds to the convenience. As far as the rates are concerned, I found them to be very reasonable. I stayed at the hotel for five days in late May 2013. All in all great Hotel, great value, in a great location.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jmrodriguezesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoCifuentes, Director General at Barcelona Universal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Once again thank you very much for your writing. It is very important to us that our guests are satisfied and their acknowledgment helps us keeping this mission. We appreciate your words and thank you for choosing us for your stay in Barcelona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Not the cheapest hotel, but certainly very comfortable, in a great location, and a short walking distance from all the local attractions. There are numerous supermarkets nearby. Breakfast is more than adequate since it's a buffet and you can choose from a wide selection of foods. The bedroom was more than ample with ensuite, TV, safe, hairdryer etc. The only thing Iwe really missed was a kettle and coffee... There was a fridge with the usual beverages in it, but no hospitality tray with the usual tea/coffee cups etc... Towels were supplied and so were hospitality soaps/shampoo/shower-wash etc.

Room Tip: Barcelona is not a quiet city, but the double-glazing is very good. I would think all rooms were pre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VonnieRaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoCifuentes, Director General at Barcelona Universal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

We use our best efforts so that our guests are satisfied during their stay. Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion with other people; this is the best gift we can ask for. Best regards and thank you from the entire staff of our Hotel. (Thank you.)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

The hotel is approximately 15 minutes walk from the beach and 10 minutes from La Rambla, but with a metro station literally outside the hotel and several bus stops within 100 yards it was far easier to use public transport to get around. Our room was quite small but spotlessly clean and the air con made sure it was always wonderfully cool when we came back to the room. Breakfast was very good with quite a varied selection of food on offer. We only went up to the rooftop terrace once during our stay and it was very busy but still a nice option to have. This was our first visit to Barcelona but we loved everything about the city and would have no hesitation in staying at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank menton84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We got a nice surprice when checking in at this hotel. Standard rooms by hotels.com = large suite with own balcony. Large clean room. Nice roof top solarium + small pool for a quck refresh.

Underground station just outside the front door. Walking distance to Las Ramblas.

Room Tip: Book trough hotels.com and get a spacious standard room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fahlvik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
EuroPark Hotel
EuroPark Hotel
#33 of 516 in Barcelona
4,118 reviews
El Raval
Barcelo Raval
Barcelo Raval
#105 of 516 in Barcelona
3,419 reviews
El Raval
Andante
Andante
#92 of 516 in Barcelona
1,726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
U232 Hotel
U232 Hotel
#64 of 516 in Barcelona
3,231 reviews
Pol & Grace Hotel
#63 of 516 in Barcelona
1,113 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Jazz
Hotel Jazz
#44 of 516 in Barcelona
4,551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelona Universal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelona Universal Hotel

Address: Avda Paral.lel 76-80, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#38 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#67 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#101 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $70 - $261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelona Universal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically located just a five-minute walk from Las Ramblas, Hotel Barcelona Universal grants its guests easy access to all parts of the city. Metro lines 2 and 3 stop just outside the main entrance, at “Paral·lel,” and nearby buses can take you to the beaches of Barcelona, Park Güell, and anywhere in between. A stroll from our hotel near Las Ramblas will take you to some of Barcelona’s favorite tourist attractions.Hotel opened in 2001 and renewed in 2011.Hotel Barcelona Universal has 167 rooms, each equipped with free Wi-Fi Internet. Three “Barcelona Skyline Suites” feature a Jacuzzi and private terrace. Families and larger groups may be accommodated in triple or superior rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, TravelClick, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Barcelona Universal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Universal Barcelona
Hotel Barcelona Universal
Barcelona Universal Hotel Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing