We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Barcelona Universal Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Auto Hogar(Barcelona)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel(Barcelona)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Paral - lel(Barcelona)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Andante(Barcelona)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Acta Mimic(Barcelona)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Grums(Barcelona)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Barbara(Barcelona)
View Hotel
  • Free Internet
Reviews (4,232)
Filter reviews
4,232 results
Traveler rating
2,200
1,621
304
69
38
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,200
1,621
304
69
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmetro stationlas ramblasgreat hotelparal lelrooftop poolminute walkstayed here for nightstriple roomsmall poolmain roadbusy roadreception staffexcellent locationbooked this hotelcity breakclean hotelshort break
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,125 - 2,130 of 4,232 reviews
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in June. Staff helpful/friendly. Good facilities at hotel - gym always empty! Not much room around the pool and only deck chairs, didn't see any sunbeds to use but most people don't go to Barcelona to sunbathe at the hotel! Nice just for a quick cool down at the end of the day.We had a triple room which had no natural light, windows were frosted and looked inwards towards other rooms and we couldn't see what the weather was like outside which felt a little dark and claustrophobic. Only 1 mirror in room which was in the bathroom and not many plug sockets and only spot lights so felt a bit dark even during the day when bright sunshine outstide. Good bar around the corner (to the right) called La Confiteria, small but served great cocktails. Restaurant in same place called Los Cactlitos (recommended by hotel) served good breakfast (closed Monday morning's) and good tapas - reasonable price and friendly staff. Walls are very thin and on our first night we were unlucky to be next to a family that thought it was ok for their children to run and scream up and down the corridors! The rest of the stay was quiter, but if you are a light sleeper I wouldn't advise staying here. But overall a good experience - a bit pricey but worth it!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights in June, a great experience from start to finish. Staff very friendly and efficient. Rooms spotlessly clean, beds very comfortable though our room was overlooking a main road and there was a little road noise but this didnt retract from the overall experience. A great location just a few minutes walk from the Ramblas and the marina.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Stayed at the hotel for three nights with my husband.

Location: hotel is approx 10 min walk from La Rambla and the Port/harbour. Taxi from airport costs approx €35. There is a metro station directly outside of the hotel. The Camp Nou (Barcelona FC) is around a 10min metro journey. Tickets cost €2 each way.

Check in: we arrived t approx 1:30pm and our room was not ready therefore we could leave our bags for no charge while we waited. We went to the rooftop for a drink however, the bar was closed so we grabbed a bite to eat nearby.

Room: Very well equipped with everything we needed. Very comfortable bed and good size bathroom. The wardrobe had plenty of storage space with lots of hangers.

Breakfast: this was included with our room rate and great value for a money. A good selection to suit all tastes.

Rooftop bar/pool: very quirky and a good size. During busy times I think it would be difficult to get a seat, however, we visited late afternoon and were able to find a nice quiet area to relax. Towels are provided and there are locker rooms to get changed if needed. There was also a gym which we did not use however, it looked well equipped.

Summary: Prior to our stay I emailed to say that we were staying for a special occasion and received a reply back to state we would be allocated a nice romantic room and an upgrade if available. This was not mentioned at check in so I brought it to the gentleman's attention. He said he could see the note on the system. Our room was absolutely fine however, not sure if upgrade was allocated or taken into account. This is not a compliant but thought it was worth mentioning. We would definitely stay here again if we visited Barcelona in the future.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Lynsey2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

I stayed here with my partner for 3 nights beginning 1st july. On arrival the staff eere friendly and efficient. The reception area of the hotel is lovely. Many hotels around Barcelona can look a bit run down but not this one. Our room was very clean and the view over the city was brilliant. We were on the 8th floor and could see for miles. The breakfast was lovely. There is a rooftop pool which is very nice. Once up on floor 10 for the pool take the steps up to the solarium. It is a lovely area to sunbath.
It was a ten min walk to all the tourist areas.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarahvb1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights prior to a cruise. They would have gotten an excellent rating from us except for their restaurant.

The room is small but very clean. There are no tea/coffee making equipment. Beds are very comfortable. Bathroom is small but adequate and very clean. A clean bathroom is everything in my books. Air conditioning worked wonderfully.

The location is a short walk away from Las Ramblas and the statue of Christopher Columbus. It's also steps from the Metro (subway station). In fact, you can get the funicular to Montjuic from this station. It's not too far from the port either so it's a great hotel to stay at if you're going or coming from a cruise.

Now...the restaurant is a bit of a disaster. The breakfast that came with our room was pretty sad. The hot food is cold and the cold food is luke warm. There's very little of it sitting out there and it needs replenishing often. There's not even a good choice of food items. One day, there were oddly textured cocktail weinies. Pretty disgusting stuff. Only scrambled eggs or something that resembled scrambled eggs were available if you wanted eggs. All in all, I would have preferred going outside to one of the restaurants next door for breakfast.

We had dinner one evening at the restaurant. We had had an exhausting day and just felt like having dinner in the hotel and going to our room to sleep. Thought it would be a quick meal so we entered the restaurant at 8:30 pm. We ordered roast chicken and it came with the salad bar. First, the salad bar was almost depleted of food and there was no salad! We had to ask them to refill it. Our chicken came out after a very long wait and it was RAW inside. We sent it back. By now, it was 10 pm...and the waitress came out, apologized and told us it would take a bit longer to cook another chicken. We asked how much longer since it was already 10 pm and we were half asleep. If it was too long, we'd just leave. She said 10 minutes. 30 minutes later, the chicken came back out. It was still bleeding near the bone. I had lost my appetite by then.

Most restaurants, after serving you food that could make you sick, wouldn't have the nerve to charge you. This restaurant did. This is what you call really bad customer service.

Stay here because it's a really good hotel but don't eat here...it's a really horrible and dangerous restaurant. Plenty of restaurants nearby. Don't eat here.... really....

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pxlbarrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews