We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel with friendly and efficient staff with a great chef for people who suffer with gluten intolerance”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Barcelona Universal Hotel
Ranked #74 of 521 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel with friendly and efficient staff with a great chef for people who suffer with gluten intolerance”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

I rarely write reviews even though I am a frequent traveller, however this hotel was an outstanding experience. The staff were helpful and quick to help as soon as we checked in. The rooms are lovely and spacious and very very clean! The location is excellent as if you re traveling with someone with little stamina there is still plenty to do locally and the beach a short cab drive away. My mother suffers from gluten intolerance and finding her a meal can be a nightmare but hotel universal has a Chef who caters very well and made my mother enjoy the holiday

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RaiK83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,755 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,919
    1,476
    272
    58
    30
See reviews for
632
1,965
81
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (704)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
163 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

I booked this hotel online for 5 nights and got a great deal (including bottle of wine) and wasn't quite sure what to expect. However, the TripAdvisor reviews were reassuring.The hotel was wonderful - front desk staff members were very helpful the whole time we were there; room was clean and comfortable; breakfast was substantial. However what I really loved was the location of the hotel. The subway was less than a minute's walk, La Ramblas was an easy walk - getting around was a breeze. I would stay at this hotel again just for that - and everything else mentioned above!

We had a room that didn't have windows to the outside but brought in light from a window overlooking an enclosure with artificial lighting. I happen to like natural lighting but the room was quiet and comfortable so I didn't mind as most of our time was spent touring the city. Again, the location and staff were great.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street have windows if you like natural lighting from outside but may be a bit more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AuroraSky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

We stayed at Barcelona universal based on trip advisors review it was excellent.....big rooms great staff and very conveniently located.... The staff was very helpful got us a car rental at a short notice .

Room Tip: We were on the 7th we booked 2 rooms both were spacious clean and nice sized bathrooms....overall a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gauravmerchant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

We really liked this hotel. But I'm going to be very picky in my review. The service was very good, the room was very clean. The small touches were nice, like travel tooth brush, razor, a stamp of the hotel on the toilet paper roll etc. The bed and bedding were comfortable, and great pillows. I liked the hard wood floors. The roof view was very nice. And the metro is literally outside the lobby, which was super convenient. The hotel had a few cons, but to me they weren't major. The window opened into a closed courtyard, so we had no sun in the morning. The reviews about hearing the other rooms are correct, the rooms aren't very sound proof, however our neighbors were pretty quiet, so it wasn't a big deal. The bed is comfortable, but the large bed we had was 2 smaller ones put together, so u feel the middle part. The room is very small, but I find that to be more cozy. The bathrooms are nice and clean, the only major problem were the towels. For a really nice hotel like this one,the towels are awful. Bottom line this hotel is very good. If I ever go to Barcelona again, I would do more research for hotels that are just as nice, and are closer to the beach or to Ramblas. If there aren't any in the same price range and 4stars I would deff stay here again.

Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly1228
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in late May. We found the hotel and its staff to be very helpful and professional. The room (Superior) was large and comfortable. The hotel is located an easy walk from La Rambla, one of the main trouist streets of Barcelona. All staff answered questions and provided information in a friendly manner. I would like to single out one particular person, Christian. When we arrived in the city we discovered problems using our ATM card to get Euros. Christian went beyond what was expected in providing information and phone numbers to help us correct the problem. He doubled check that our credit card that previously did not work was indeed working. His assistance allowed us to resolve a bad situation that could have ruined the entire trip. Definitley would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GARunner_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotel as part of a package deal, the value for money was therefore just exceptional!

We arrived a few hours before check-in and our luggage was stored while we explored the area. The staff were so friendly and accomdating.

Our room was on the seventh floor overlooking the back which meant we were away from the busy street. The room was clean with a good sized bath towel and dental/shave kits.

The rooftop pool is small but perfect and from 12-7.30 you can get a drink from the rooftop bar which is an added bonus.

We did not eat at the hotel, but choose local restaurants along the road to La Ramblas instead. The location is fantastic and only a 10 minute walk with luggage from the Aerobus stop in Urgell.

We would not hesitate to book again when visiting Barcelona!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adam Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

I shared a triple room which was large, very clean, comfortable with a good bathroom - if there are 3 of you visiting this is a really good idea - not easily come by. All the staff were pleasant and helpful, breakfast was good and the location was handy for Las Ramblas, the harbour and main sites. I would definitely recommend. My brother had been at a conference during the week and stayed at Le Meridien - he thought this hotel was better! Unfortunately the weather wasn't good enough to make use of the rooftop pool and sitting area - but it looked well maintained and if the sun had shone would make an ideal spot for resting your feet after a long day walking round the sites.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crissietoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Hotel Jazz
Hotel Jazz
#42 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,307 reviews
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#96 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,607 reviews
Eixample
EuroPark Hotel
EuroPark Hotel
#33 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
U232 Hotel
U232 Hotel
#52 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,968 reviews
El Raval
Andante
Andante
#83 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,560 reviews
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#23 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelona Universal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelona Universal Hotel

Property: Barcelona Universal Hotel
Address: Avda Paral.lel 76-80, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#38 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#56 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#101 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelona Universal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically located just a five-minute walk from Las Ramblas, Hotel Barcelona Universal grants its guests easy access to all parts of the city. Metro lines 2 and 3 stop just outside the main entrance, at “Paral·lel,” and nearby buses can take you to the beaches of Barcelona, Park Güell, and anywhere in between. A stroll from our hotel near Las Ramblas will take you to some of Barcelona’s favorite tourist attractions.Hotel opened in 2001 and renewed in 2011.Hotel Barcelona Universal has 167 rooms, each equipped with free Wi-Fi Internet. Three “Barcelona Skyline Suites” feature a Jacuzzi and private terrace. Families and larger groups may be accommodated in triple or superior rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barcelona Universal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Universal Barcelona
Hotel Barcelona Universal
Barcelona Universal Hotel Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing