We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very much enjoyed this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Barcelona Universal Hotel
Ranked #77 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Spent some time looking for a hotel in Barcelona that could cover all requirements, not least a Rammstein concert in Sant Jordi and this one did the job. Good location for Monument Colom 'tour bus' drop off/pick up, Breakfast was nice, hotel very clean but what made me want to write something was we found the staff very helpful.
Well done, i would stay again and recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,940)
There are newer reviews for Barcelona Universal Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,992 - 1,998 of 3,940 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2013

Location
The hotel is situated towards the bottom of Av Paral.el so within easy walk of the Port area. It is also a short walk from the Ramblas. The cut through from Av Paral.el to Ramblas is not the nicest street but did not feel unsafe. May be different for a single / female traveller.
Metro station virtually outside hotel from where you can easily and cheaply explore Barcelona. We travelled by train, using both mainline stations hotel is around a 10 euro taxi ride from both.

Rooms
Modern and airy of a good size for city centre, we took advice from TA and requested higher floor, floor 8 on front of hotel gave brief glimpse of sea and noise levels fine.
Room comfortable good pillows good size bathroom with good shower. Free safe to use.

Staff
Reception speak excellent English and very helpful with advice on sightseeing / restaurants. We had a problem with toilet flush breaking, dealt with promptly no fuss, ended up moving rooms help offered and a bottle wine provided as an apology.

Summary

Good modern hotel, which is well located and good value did not try breakfast at 15 euro thought it a bit pricy.

Room Tip: Noise not a problem on floor 8
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markhCaerleon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

I would recommend the Universal Hotel to anybody looking for somewhere to stay in Barcelona. Myself and my boyfriend are a couple in our mid twenties and I can honestly say that the hotel was perfect for what we needed. The location was close to La Rambla as well as the Gothic Quarter, the beach and Park Montjuic. We only used the metro to get from and to the airport as we were able to walk everywhere and lap up the sights of the city. We both agreed that this was the best European trip that we have been on.
The hotel is very clean and comfortable. Our room was on the 4th floor at the front of the hotel and although it is on a main road, the outside noise was fine. It is on a busy main road so bear this in mind if you need complete silence to sleep but the noise was no more than very faint passing traffic. The rooms were cleaned to a high standard everyday. We were able to leave our cases when we checked up to pick up later and the staff were all very friendly and helpful. All in all a great trip. Also there is a restuarant very close by called Cera 23 which is very close by and execellent and great value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Madalaine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We visited 3/21-3/26 and had a wonderful time. The hotel was modern and upscale and had a metro stop right outside the front door. The empolyees were extremely helpful and always willing to help with whatever request he had. The beds were out of this world and the breakfast had a nice variety of choices. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Barcelona.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not facing the street, which can be very noisy.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cmjw64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

The hotel is on a major street and is easy to get to if you are driving into BCN. It has parking, with very narrow access into the garage. Hotel is modern and clean with internet stations in the lobby as well as a restaurant (we did not try the restaurant as there are many places to eat in the vicinity). The staff is professional and helpful. The room is average sized, beds are comfortable. Hotel is located in a commercial and working class residential area. Looking out your window into apartments nearby. You wont be staying here for the vista but for the convenience of location and value. The Metro station is right outside the hotel, takes you to all the tourist spots including the La Sagradia Familia. It is a short walk to the Las Rambla and la Boquerai market (about 15 minutes) along Calle nueva de la Rambla. There are stores and restaurants along the way, but again, this is a immigrant working class area, so not necessariy boutiques. You will have to get to Passeo de Gracia for that,

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank digithead001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We've just returned from a mini break at the Universal and overall thought the hotel was really nice. The lobby and bar are a little on the small size but the rooms were fine. We were on the 7th floor and at the rear so didn't have the noise issues that other reviewers had. Location is good with the metro right outside and only a short stroll (10 mins) to the Rambles.

We did think the hotel staff were a little unhelpful but when I was looking to get tickets for a game at FC Barcelona they couldn't have done more, letting me use the hotel computer to book tickets, print emails and helping with translations.

Transfers from the hotel to the airport couldn't have been easier as there always seemed to be a taxi hovering outside. Typical cost is around 30 euros one way and takes about 20 mins.

Would also recommend the bus tour from Columbus Square which does take in the whole city and you can get on and off as often as you like.

Room Tip: Go for a higher floor.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank essexvilla_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

This hotel is very handy to La Ramblas and the metro station but it doesn't really have much in its immediate proximity. The rooms are fine and clean but lacking a decent hair dryer, it kept cutting out from over heating, not good if you have a woman in your party! Staff were generally cold and unfriendly and the ladies in our group felt a little uncomfortable around the male staff.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mattlanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Hotel Jazz
Hotel Jazz
#44 of 513 in Barcelona
4,487 reviews
Eixample
EuroPark Hotel
EuroPark Hotel
#31 of 513 in Barcelona
3,969 reviews
El Raval
Barcelo Raval
Barcelo Raval
#104 of 513 in Barcelona
3,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Andante
Andante
#87 of 513 in Barcelona
1,673 reviews
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#27 of 513 in Barcelona
4,550 reviews
Eixample
U232 Hotel
U232 Hotel
#58 of 513 in Barcelona
3,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelona Universal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelona Universal Hotel

Address: Avda Paral.lel 76-80, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#38 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#60 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#101 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $112 - $419 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelona Universal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically located just a five-minute walk from Las Ramblas, Hotel Barcelona Universal grants its guests easy access to all parts of the city. Metro lines 2 and 3 stop just outside the main entrance, at “Paral·lel,” and nearby buses can take you to the beaches of Barcelona, Park Güell, and anywhere in between. A stroll from our hotel near Las Ramblas will take you to some of Barcelona’s favorite tourist attractions.Hotel opened in 2001 and renewed in 2011.Hotel Barcelona Universal has 167 rooms, each equipped with free Wi-Fi Internet. Three “Barcelona Skyline Suites” feature a Jacuzzi and private terrace. Families and larger groups may be accommodated in triple or superior rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TravelClick, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barcelona Universal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Universal Barcelona
Hotel Barcelona Universal
Barcelona Universal Hotel Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing