We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but don't stay in room 302”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Barcelona Universal Hotel
Ranked #79 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is situated perfectly for exploring the city with a metro stop just outside and just a 5 minute walk to Las Ramblas and Port Vell.

The staff are helpful and friendly and the rooms were clean and nicely furnished. One aspect that let down our visit was the lack of a window. We certainly pulled the short straw being placed in room 302 as other rooms with an external view looked more pleasant and much larger. Having said this we were happy with our stay but would not recommend room 302.

1  Thank Sioper88
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,948)
There are newer reviews for Barcelona Universal Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,026 - 2,032 of 3,948 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2013

Just back had a fantastic 2 nights. Hotel was nice and clean but nothing more than your average travelodge at home. Breakfast again was ok. Staff on reception slightly abrupt when asking for credit card incase of extras ( we didn't take credit card, just had debit which turned out ok ) .
We walked back late afternoon on both days and I was not comfortable at all, lots of men hanging round made me feel slightly uneasy. We decided that on the evening we would take taxi home, so glad we did as in taxi the driver said very bad to walk these streets late, prostitutes, drugs robbery etc. we saw some very scary sights on the ride home. I would say if you are travelling alone or females don't walk back at night it's just not worth it.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We selected this hotel for our 3 day holiday in Barcelona based on user reviews on trip advisor and value for money. The taxi from airport to hotel cost us 28 Euros (on return we took the train for 2 Euros plus Aero bus for 6 Euros - total of 8 Euros per person).

On reaching at 12pm we were advised to come back at 3pm as our room wasn't ready...not a great experience. The hotel is nice and clean. Our bedroom was on the 5th floor. The bedroom was medium sized and well equipped with modern cons. The bathroom was equally good, with a window (bright and airy). View from the room was pretty grim,facing washed laundry from the adjoining block of council flats. There was poor Wifi signal for the Iphone from the room, but from lobby it was great. Hotel staff were friendly and helpful.

The one main disadvantage of the hotel is that it is a good 15 min walk away from both Waterfront, La Rambla, or Catalunya Square(from where you take the Bus tour). If you have been walking during the day, the last thing you want is the hotel to be far away. In hindsight, this was a slight discomfort for me and my wife. The breakfast in the hotel was good quality and they had a selection of meats, eggs, cereals, juices etc (I would recommend to use this as the street outside doesnt have much to write about).

Overall, this hotel is good value for money if you are on a budget as it fits the bill.
We cant complain as we paid £78per night (excluding breakfast) - I had paid the same for Marriot Lisbon when I went for work the week before and it was a class apart. Next time we would explore a different one.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with clever-hotels.com
Thank P-Bhinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

I stayed here with my partner for his 50th birthday. We had an amazing room on the side of the hotel. It was spacious and clean with a seating area . Well worth the extra money. Staff where very helpful and the location was excellent. Will defo return in the summer

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simonmarshall40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

hotel is excellent in every way. rooms spotlessly clean. staff helpful Beyond expectations Did not eat in the restaurant as there is numerous cafes and bar in the location. Top tip book the city tour bus for two days It's well worth the few extra euros. Some reviews say the rooms are a little noisy due to traffic however you must also remember you are booking a city centre hotel

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brianp1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

It is hard to believe this hotel is 25th best in Barcelona but on saying that, there is little wrong with it. It is a good clean and well appointed hotel. It has free wifi and rooms well stocked with all sorts of spare bathroom stuff.
The staff are good and straight forward.
The rooms suffer a little from noise from surrounding rooms. Laughing and night time 'activities' were audible but not really a big deal.
The hotel is very well located close to la rambla.
It has little to make it great hence the surprise at the very high rating but it is certainly a dependable if forgettable hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MalDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

I stayed here for four nights in mid March and found the hotel really nice, clean and with everything you needed. It was a very quick journey from the airport (15-20 minutes) and right outside the hotel is a metro station which will take you all around the city.

Rooms were cleaned everyday, and although our room was a little noisy as far as traffic is concerned (we had one facing the street) it didn't really bother us.

We didn't eat at the hotel so I can't comment on the food. There aren't many decent restaurants nearby so you're better off heading to La Ramblas for meals and it's surrounding area for meals.

I've already booked another trip to the same hotel in October!

Room Tip: The hotel often offers good deals, so keep an eye out for their discounts.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juliet F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Hotel Jazz
Hotel Jazz
#44 of 513 in Barcelona
4,489 reviews
Eixample
EuroPark Hotel
EuroPark Hotel
#32 of 513 in Barcelona
3,975 reviews
El Raval
Barcelo Raval
Barcelo Raval
#105 of 513 in Barcelona
3,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Andante
Andante
#86 of 513 in Barcelona
1,677 reviews
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#25 of 513 in Barcelona
4,554 reviews
Eixample
U232 Hotel
U232 Hotel
#58 of 513 in Barcelona
3,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelona Universal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelona Universal Hotel

Address: Avda Paral.lel 76-80, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#38 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#62 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#101 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $110 - $414 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelona Universal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically located just a five-minute walk from Las Ramblas, Hotel Barcelona Universal grants its guests easy access to all parts of the city. Metro lines 2 and 3 stop just outside the main entrance, at “Paral·lel,” and nearby buses can take you to the beaches of Barcelona, Park Güell, and anywhere in between. A stroll from our hotel near Las Ramblas will take you to some of Barcelona’s favorite tourist attractions.Hotel opened in 2001 and renewed in 2011.Hotel Barcelona Universal has 167 rooms, each equipped with free Wi-Fi Internet. Three “Barcelona Skyline Suites” feature a Jacuzzi and private terrace. Families and larger groups may be accommodated in triple or superior rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TravelClick, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barcelona Universal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Universal Barcelona
Hotel Barcelona Universal
Barcelona Universal Hotel Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing