We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel 10 minutes walk from La Rambla”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Barcelona Universal Hotel
Ranked #80 of 518 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 12, 2013

As part of a group of 6, we chose this hotel firstly for price and the fact that it was not right on La Rambla as other reviews had said it was just too noisy to stay in that area. In fact the hotel was only 10 minutes walk away from the main part of town. The hotel was clean and was efficient in checking us into the hotel even though we had arrived hours early expecting only to be able to leave our cases with the concierge. The reception area was nice and the bar looked good. We had a problem with noisy neighbours on our first night but the receptionist dealt with this swiflty and advised us that if the problem continued they would simply ask them to leave the hotel. The second night was quite. The rooms were a good size, with a safe and good towels and toiletries. The only downside is that there are no tea/coffee making facilities, which would make a huge difference. The pool is very small and not heated. We imagine it would be pefect though during high summer after a day of sight seeing. Barcelona is a lovely compact city which is easy to get around on foot or on the metro. Buy the T10 ticket which gives you 10 trips cheaper than individual tickets. You get one ticket which your whole party can use, but watch for the pick pockets. The locals seem to want to remind you all the time to watch your phones/camera's etc. Luckily our trip passed without incident.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CapriCoupe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,101)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,175 - 2,181 of 4,101 reviews

Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

We used trip advisor to select this hotel. Firstly, so easy to find from airport, one bus and train later and we were standing in the foyer. Lovely room, champagne for two delivered within minutes of checking in. perfect location to get to all main attractions, we actually walked everywhere from the hotel. breakfast was very good, nice choice of hot and cold. Prices in hotel bar not bad either, only 3 euros for large wine. Mini bar prices not so good so buy your own and use the fridge for that instead.

Thank Gina H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
RobertoCifuentes, Director General at Barcelona Universal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

First of all let me thank you for the confidence you placed in our hotel. Thank you very much for your comments which will help us improve our work performance. With your permission I will pass them on to the staff to share them in the most appropriate way. We appreciate your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

The hotel is situated about a 10 minute stroll from La Rambla so very handy for exploring.If you use the airport bus get off at Placa d'Espanya and either walk down Avda Paral.lel which takes about 20 minutes but if you have a lot of luggage get a taxi for a few Euro. For interest our taxi from the hotel to the airport was 28 Euro
The hotel room was large and clean ( room 709 with a front view) as was the bathroom which had the usual toileteries to let you shower and scrub your teeth if you arrive empty handed.
The staff are all very helpful and their English will answer any questions.
We did not eat in the hotel so can't comment about the food.
Would we stay again? Without a doubt.

Room Tip: Front facing can be noisy if you open the window but they give great views the higher you are.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lewis_frame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoCifuentes, Director General at Barcelona Universal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Thank you very much for spending time and writing your opinion. On behalf of our staff we appreciate your words; to us they are helpful and allow us to assess both: quality of our facilities and the service we want to offer to our customers. Thanks again and we hope to see you soon among us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

We would recommend this hotel to anybody that is looking to stay in Barcelona. Its situated around 5-10 minutes walk from La Rambla. The room is modern and clean. We had a room on the 7th floor which had great views across Barcelona. The staff are very friendly and speak very good English. The only small down side was the cost of the breakfast which was €15 per person and not a great quality but there are plenty of places to go elsewhere. We would choose this hotel again if we were going to head back to Barcelona.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank philshadwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoCifuentes, Director General at Barcelona Universal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Personally I appreciate your writing; I will discuss your comments with our staff. Your words are very useful in order to keep improving and trying to provide a good service. Much obliged.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights last month and would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone planning a trip to Barcelona! On arrival we were welcomed by friendly staff and much to our delight a free upgrade. We stayed in the skyline suite, which was spacious, had a terrace and not to mention a huge bathroom including a jacuzzi bath. The hotel was also in a great location with a tube station right outside the entrance which made it easy to explore the city. The breakfast was of good standard and catered to all tastes. I could not recommend a better hotel and would certainly stay there again if visiting the city.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beckstar21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoCifuentes, Director General at Barcelona Universal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Your feedback is important and of great value to us. It helps us to assess our work trying to improve ourselves and set new targets.
I sincerely thank you very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 4 days and in our view the place is a perfect city break hotel.

We didn't spend too much time there as there is so much to see in Barca.

Saying that; it's clean, moder, nice staff, good breakfast, wonderful power shower, great coffee and has a swimming pool!!!

Booked in advance and had a room on the 7th floor at the rear of the building.

Couldn't fault it one bit.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darren L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Would reccommend to anyone!!!!

I booked the Universal Hotel 6 months in advance & got a GREAT rate with a free bottle of carva, late checkout & breakfast. The trip was for my boyfriend as a birthday prezzy, and he was over the moon!
Hotel was easy to find using the metro line from the airport, extreamly close to L2 & L3 lines.

Room was clean, spacious and comfortable. We had a road facing room, noise was't bad at all (blackout curtains = bliss) Windows didnt open fully but it was'nt warm enough for that, plus there is aircon.
The Free wifi access was a god send....... helped out alot when planning trips fefore leaving the hotel.
The metro was just like the London tube but BETTER, cleaner, punctual, cooler and cheaper. Make sure you get a 2 or 3 days travel card as it saves you money.

Rite outside the hotel there are restaurants that you will instantly recognise......Subway, KFC and a Burger King. Great for when your on all the go all day and just want a quick bite to eat for dinner.

Room had a safe, TV (not many English channels) Hairdryer, desk, phone,and a bath with showerhead.

Breakfast was continental and had a wide range of choice, cant complain really.

Barcelona in its self was a fantastic place. If you can and your into football (or even if your not really, like me) try and go see Barcelona play at Camp Nou...... atmosphere was amazing!!

HOT TIP: If you have an iphone then download the Barcelona Metro App helps you get from A-B on the metro in a few easy clicks!

Overall 10/10 for everything.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank danni_essex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoCifuentes, Director General at Barcelona Universal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Once again thank you very much for your writing. It is very important to us that our guests are satisfied and their acknowledgment helps us keeping this mission. We appreciate your words and thank you for choosing us for your stay in Barcelona.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Barcelo Raval
Barcelo Raval
#108 of 518 in Barcelona
3,463 reviews
El Raval
Andante
Andante
#93 of 518 in Barcelona
1,747 reviews
Eixample
EuroPark Hotel
EuroPark Hotel
#33 of 518 in Barcelona
4,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
U232 Hotel
U232 Hotel
#67 of 518 in Barcelona
3,257 reviews
Eixample
Room Mate Carla
Room Mate Carla
#52 of 518 in Barcelona
397 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Claris
Hotel Claris
#66 of 518 in Barcelona
1,979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelona Universal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelona Universal Hotel

Address: Avda Paral.lel 76-80, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#38 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#63 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#101 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $74 - $263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelona Universal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically located just a five-minute walk from Las Ramblas, Hotel Barcelona Universal grants its guests easy access to all parts of the city. Metro lines 2 and 3 stop just outside the main entrance, at “Paral·lel,” and nearby buses can take you to the beaches of Barcelona, Park Güell, and anywhere in between. A stroll from our hotel near Las Ramblas will take you to some of Barcelona’s favorite tourist attractions.Hotel opened in 2001 and renewed in 2011.Hotel Barcelona Universal has 167 rooms, each equipped with free Wi-Fi Internet. Three “Barcelona Skyline Suites” feature a Jacuzzi and private terrace. Families and larger groups may be accommodated in triple or superior rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, TravelClick, Agoda, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Barcelona Universal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Universal Barcelona
Hotel Barcelona Universal
Barcelona Universal Hotel Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing