We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Excellent hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Barcelona Universal Hotel
Ranked #70 of 519 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
minorca
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

Me and my partner stayed here for 3 nights in November and had an excellent stay. The room was very clean and modern with a lovely view. The staff were very friendly, professional and also very helpful with any thing we needed. Location was great although not on Las Ramblas it didn't need to be there was a metro right outside which got us every were and was really cheap for €9.45 you got 10 journeys and from here we got to the neu camp, sagrada familia and loads of other places and within about 5 minutes you could also be on Las Ramblas so found getting out and about very easy.

Would 100% stay there again if I was to return to Barcelona which I'm sure I will in the future as we had a fantastic time there.

Room Tip: We asked for a high floor and got a fantastic view, we emailed the hotel directly and they met a cou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katyrogers18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoCifuentes, General Manager at Barcelona Universal Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
We use our best efforts so that our guests are satisfied during their stay. Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion with other people; this is the best gift we can ask for. Best regards and thank you from the entire staff of our Hotel. (Thank you.)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,546 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,797
    1,406
    260
    57
    26
See reviews for
595
1,845
76
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (670)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gourock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

We stayed 2 nights midweek to catch a football match. The hotel was really nice. The reception area was always quiet and the reception staff were very attentive (not always the case in some hotels). They offered top help us carry our bags to our room, and about ten minutes later, sent a complimentary bottle of cava which was very much appreciated after our journey.

The rooms were of a good standard with plenty of toiletries and towels. Nothing too fancy, but cleaned and decorated in a modern style.

The breakfast was pretty good too - the usual pastries, breads, meat and cheese, and a small selection of cooked foods including spanish omellete.

It's very easy to get to the hotel - it's right beside the Parallel metro station - easy to get to the main train station or bus stop for the airport.

The city is great - lots of sightseeing to do - Camp Nou stadium, Gothic city areas, Gaudi Architecture, beach, marina, Las Ramblas and more.

The easiest way around is the metro system, which goes just about anywhere. Buy a multi trip or multi day ticket - you really will get good use from it.

Room Tip: The street outside is very busy and noisy at times.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iain T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoCifuentes, General Manager at Barcelona Universal Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
For us it is a challenge trying to improve every day. I would like to thank you personally for the time spent writing to us, as well as for choosing our hotel for your stay in the city. Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

I have just come back from my weekend trip to Barcelona. I would highly recommend this hotel as it is very close to Ramblas. Upon arrival, staff were very welcoming and friendly and throughout our stay also. The room was very cosy, and comfortable. Room service was great! We had breakfast buffet included, and the variety was fantastic, great breakfast! Front desk was very informative of the sight seeing and activities available during our stay as well. There is a roof top swimming pool and a great view of the city from the terrace too. In conclusion, excellent hotel.
PS. I also recommend that you watch the Flamenco on Ramblas. Mind Blowing experience!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SumisAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoCifuentes, General Manager at Barcelona Universal Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Continuous improvements in the quality of our facilities and the service provided are our top priorities. Your feedback helps us continue maintaining the facilities in line with the service. Thank you. We are very pleased by you choosing us for your stay and the fact that you enjoyed your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid,Spain
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

This was the fourth time we have stayed at this hotel, which was made better as we received a complimentary - eventually - bottle of bubbly (we had agreed a time for it to come to the room)!!
The staff (once again), couldn't have been much more of a help, organising a company to get us to the airport, as we were due to depart just on the day the strike against austerity hit.
Although our room looked out to the back of the hotel, we were high enough up to still have a view across the city & it was as quiet as being on a high floor to the front.
We decided to be room only this time, to push us out the door earlier, so we could use the time exploring this amazing city.
Looking forward to returning already!!

Room Tip: Being a city, it will always be noisy around hotels, but we try to request as high a floor as possib...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank norriebhoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoCifuentes, General Manager at Barcelona Universal Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
First of all let me thank you for the confidence you placed in our hotel. Thank you very much for your comments which will help us improve our work performance. With your permission I will pass them on to the staff to share them in the most appropriate way. We appreciate your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
86 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights in November just before a cruise. We were compelled to book on short notice due to the general strike that was held on November 14th which moved our arrival up by a couple of days. The good news was this hotel. Clean with nice sized rooms and convenient to the Ramblas and just above the Metro, yet far enough away to avoid most of the violent demonstrations in the central area. Lots of restaurants, bar and entertainment choices along Avenida Paral-lel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravlinfoolSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoCifuentes, General Manager at Barcelona Universal Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you very much for spending time and writing your opinion. On behalf of our staff we appreciate your words; to us they are helpful and allow us to assess both: quality of our facilities and the service we want to offer to our customers. Thanks again and we hope to see you soon among us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

We stayed in this hotel while visiting he city. i must say even though doesn't have a perfect surroundings but definitely perfect location, next to metro station, and really 7-10mins walk from Las ramblas. unlike most of the city, being dirty, this hotel was very nice. good breakfast, and service overall. really worth our money. also this hotel does like weekend getaways--highly recommended as can get a few extras.... defo will stay again if ever need to go to barcelona.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aggerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

Just back from 3 days in this hotel, it is very hand to get to from the Airport. Get the Train to Sants Station and the L3 Metro to Paral Lel metro station and you are right outside the hotel,cheaper and less hassle than buses and considerably cheaper than a taxi

The room itself was extremely clean however the walls are pretty thin, we could hear the people next door showering and also the staff making up the rooms.

We were on the roadside of the hotel and you could hear the traffic so if you are a light sleeper be warned.

The wifi was free in the hotel and quick, nearly reason enough to stay there if the internet is as vital to your work as it is to mine.

The location means Las Ramblas is an quick walk, turn left out of the hotel rather than right if you want to avoid the "professional" ladies.

All in All a good hotel and one I would stay at again if I were back in Barcelona

Room Tip: Take a back room if you're a light sleeper
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank holeinthehead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoCifuentes, General Manager at Barcelona Universal Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you for choosing us for your stay in Barcelona, we welcome your visit has been good and we valued your opinion. Our trainned staff takes great effort in maintaining the standards of our service and making mistakes helps us learn from them. Therefore it is of great value to us that customers tell us about these. Thank you and I look forward to welcoming you personally on your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
EuroPark Hotel
EuroPark Hotel
#32 of 519 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,572 reviews
Eixample
U232 Hotel
U232 Hotel
#44 of 519 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,844 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Jazz
Hotel Jazz
#34 of 519 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Andante
Andante
#71 of 519 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,491 reviews
Eixample
Soho Hotel
Soho Hotel
#72 of 519 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,083 reviews
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#92 of 519 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelona Universal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelona Universal Hotel

Property: Barcelona Universal Hotel
Address: Avda Paral.lel 76-80, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#38 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#54 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#101 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelona Universal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically located just a five-minute walk from Las Ramblas, Hotel Barcelona Universal grants its guests easy access to all parts of the city. Metro lines 2 and 3 stop just outside the main entrance, at “Paral·lel,” and nearby buses can take you to the beaches of Barcelona, Park Güell, and anywhere in between. A stroll from our hotel near Las Ramblas will take you to some of Barcelona’s favorite tourist attractions.Hotel opened in 2001 and renewed in 2011.Hotel Barcelona Universal has 167 rooms, each equipped with free Wi-Fi Internet. Three “Barcelona Skyline Suites” feature a Jacuzzi and private terrace. Families and larger groups may be accommodated in triple or superior rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Barcelona Universal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Universal Barcelona
Hotel Barcelona Universal
Barcelona Universal Hotel Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing