We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable Hotel close to the Ramblas” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Barcelona Universal Hotel
Ranked #74 of 522 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle
Level Contributor
86 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Comfortable Hotel close to the Ramblas”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights in November just before a cruise. We were compelled to book on short notice due to the general strike that was held on November 14th which moved our arrival up by a couple of days. The good news was this hotel. Clean with nice sized rooms and convenient to the Ramblas and just above the Metro, yet far enough away to avoid most of the violent demonstrations in the central area. Lots of restaurants, bar and entertainment choices along Avenida Paral-lel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravlinfoolSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoCifuentes, General Manager at Barcelona Universal Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you very much for spending time and writing your opinion. On behalf of our staff we appreciate your words; to us they are helpful and allow us to assess both: quality of our facilities and the service we want to offer to our customers. Thanks again and we hope to see you soon among us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,679 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,873
    1,451
    270
    57
    28
See reviews for
614
1,924
80
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (693)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

We stayed in this hotel while visiting he city. i must say even though doesn't have a perfect surroundings but definitely perfect location, next to metro station, and really 7-10mins walk from Las ramblas. unlike most of the city, being dirty, this hotel was very nice. good breakfast, and service overall. really worth our money. also this hotel does like weekend getaways--highly recommended as can get a few extras.... defo will stay again if ever need to go to barcelona.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aggerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

Just back from 3 days in this hotel, it is very hand to get to from the Airport. Get the Train to Sants Station and the L3 Metro to Paral Lel metro station and you are right outside the hotel,cheaper and less hassle than buses and considerably cheaper than a taxi

The room itself was extremely clean however the walls are pretty thin, we could hear the people next door showering and also the staff making up the rooms.

We were on the roadside of the hotel and you could hear the traffic so if you are a light sleeper be warned.

The wifi was free in the hotel and quick, nearly reason enough to stay there if the internet is as vital to your work as it is to mine.

The location means Las Ramblas is an quick walk, turn left out of the hotel rather than right if you want to avoid the "professional" ladies.

All in All a good hotel and one I would stay at again if I were back in Barcelona

Room Tip: Take a back room if you're a light sleeper
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank holeinthehead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoCifuentes, General Manager at Barcelona Universal Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you for choosing us for your stay in Barcelona, we welcome your visit has been good and we valued your opinion. Our trainned staff takes great effort in maintaining the standards of our service and making mistakes helps us learn from them. Therefore it is of great value to us that customers tell us about these. Thank you and I look forward to welcoming you personally on your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

The hotel is very well placed, Parallel tube station right in front of hotel. Walking distance to the Ramblas, restaurants, snacks etc in the surroundings of the hotel. The hotel does not look very nice from the outside.The room was fine, nicely and efficiently decorated, we had one to the back with no view but very quiet as there was no noise from the street.

The only thing that surprised us was how well you heard the noise from the hall if somebody passed by talking or coughing, like if the door was open. So the hoovering on Sunday morning at 10 am in front of the room seemed a bit early after a Saturday night out, but that was the only negative point.

The rooftop is fantastic and although we visited in November we could still enjoy a bit of sunshine sitting in the sun with a view on Barcelona - obviously the pool was not accessible anymore at this time of the year.

We had a look at the fitness room, which looks very much bigger on the pictures on the site (good job done with the mirror), but the equipment looks modern.

We did not try the breakfast as if you are in BCN going out at night, 11am for breakfast is in the early range. However just opposite the hotel there is a Pans. A chain restaurant which we were first not very eager to visit, but that serves a menu breakfast and the Serrano Bocadillo with orange juice and tea or coffee was more than perfect and the price unbeatable, less than EUR 3.-- compared to the EUR 15.-- the breakfast buffet would have been.

We were happy about the free WiFi that worked perfectly.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claudia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoCifuentes, General Manager at Barcelona Universal Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Personally I appreciate your writing; I will discuss your comments with our staff. Your words are very useful in order to keep improving and trying to provide a good service. Much obliged.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lillooet
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

We spent two nights at this hotel. The night before a cruise and a night after. We found this hotel excellent value. The staff were friendly and efficient. The rooms were spotless and spacious. When we arrived back to the hotel at 9:30 am from the cruise, the staff allows us into our room at no extra charge. There are many resturants and shopping nearby. We loved the location. I would stronly recommend this hotel to anyone taking a cruise out of Barcelona.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 670Nanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manageruniversal, Manager at Barcelona Universal Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
First of all, I would like to thank you for expressing your opinions about the services of our hotel during your stay. The opinion of our clients is very important for us, as it makes us improve our services continually. We are very pleased by you for choosing our hotel for your stay in Barcelona.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
62 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

As this trip was our honeymoon we splashed out for the suite so I can't say what the usual rooms are like. The overall atmosphere was more suited to the business traveller than for a romantic break but the location was ideal, right round the corner from the fantastic 'La Rambla' where you can find street entertainers, restaurants, cafe's and the wonderful market. Because of this it made a great base for our visit. The rooftop pool was a nice touch and when we were there it was totally empty so we had the pleasure of having it all to ourselves. The suite was just gorgeous with a jacuzzi, lots of space and very large comfortable bed.

On the downside the food was pretty awful. We read a review that suggested avoiding the breakfast on account of it being bad value for money and not very tasty. This was helpful to know and we sought out cafe's in the morning. However we found that the bad food wasn't just confined to the breakfast and when we ordered snacks from room service they were really disappointing. We are not exceptionally fussy people but even the toastie was awful. I once ordered prawns that were so awful that I had to spit out the first one and couldn't touch the rest. When I pointed this out to them they just shrugged as if it were a matter of taste. We decided to keep it simple if we had to order food so once when very hungry and tired we just opted for a plate of chips, which had to be sent back twice as they were stone cold.

Having said all that I have given the Universal four stars as we really did have a good time. We ended up bringing food back to our room and would suggest that anyone staying there does the same.

Room Tip: Go for the higher floors and avoid the food
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissusWLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

Very well located, which is important for me, too big and not very relaxing, too many people everywhere, always crowded. Plenty of restaurants to choose from all around. No tea or coffee facility, difficult parking due to small parking spaces, room not well lit and although beds quite comfortable, the rooms were too small for a hotel of this size.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marianne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Hotel Jazz
Hotel Jazz
#42 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,262 reviews
Eixample
EuroPark Hotel
EuroPark Hotel
#35 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,665 reviews
Eixample
U232 Hotel
U232 Hotel
#49 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#94 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,577 reviews
El Raval
Andante
Andante
#78 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,533 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Constanza Barcelona
Hotel Constanza Barcelona
#75 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelona Universal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelona Universal Hotel

Property: Barcelona Universal Hotel
Address: Avda Paral.lel 76-80, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#38 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#58 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#101 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelona Universal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically located just a five-minute walk from Las Ramblas, Hotel Barcelona Universal grants its guests easy access to all parts of the city. Metro lines 2 and 3 stop just outside the main entrance, at “Paral·lel,” and nearby buses can take you to the beaches of Barcelona, Park Güell, and anywhere in between. A stroll from our hotel near Las Ramblas will take you to some of Barcelona’s favorite tourist attractions.Hotel opened in 2001 and renewed in 2011.Hotel Barcelona Universal has 167 rooms, each equipped with free Wi-Fi Internet. Three “Barcelona Skyline Suites” feature a Jacuzzi and private terrace. Families and larger groups may be accommodated in triple or superior rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Barcelona Universal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Universal Barcelona
Hotel Barcelona Universal
Barcelona Universal Hotel Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing