We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Barcelona Universal Hotel
Ranked #80 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely welcome”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

The power of the front desk! My review may be coloured by the fact that we had one of the most pleasant welcomes I have ever had at a hotel. It doesn't take much but it makes a huge difference.

We had a triple room which was very spacious and much less cramped that I have experienced with 3 in one room. On the 8th floor, you could hear the traffic if you listened closely for it. The bathroom was large and had a bath and a separate shower. The roof terrace was impressive (it has several separate areas) with a pool that was a reasonable size. In fact, I think their photography has done the hotel a disservice as I was suspicious that the pool was going to be minuscule when it was adequate and the terrace/ solarium areas were much larger than I expected.

The location is good. It's about a 10 minute walk to La Rambla and the Placa Reial. There is a metro station very close by and taxis can be easily found sitting outside the hotel itself.

I would recommend it and I would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saucewiththat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roberto C, Director General at Barcelona Universal Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
We use our best efforts so that our guests are satisfied during their stay. Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion with other people; this is the best gift we can ask for. Best regards and thank you from the entire staff of our Hotel. (Thank you.)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,899 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,998
    1,521
    287
    61
    32
See reviews for
664
2,034
81
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (717)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Being right beside the Metro makes this hotel very accessible, though it is located in a secondary area. Buy a T10 ticket there. We were able to slip back to the hotel easily from the various sights. Great advantage, it is also within reasonable walking distance of most places as Barcelona is well spread out.
On arrival we were greeted by a friendly porter who took in our bags, efficient check in to room 221 which is large spacious nicely decorated and furnished, good linen, in a minimilist style, with even larger balcony, no view, but very quiet and comfortable, which was exactly what we requested. Pity no tea or coffee facilities.
Wifi worked well, get the code from the desk.
Walked around the corner to Los Cachitos as recommended by the hotel and had a great evening. I have reviewed it on tripadvisor.
Great nights sleep every night.   Up early, good shower, tired towels (small crib inaccessible soap in unopenable plastic). Up to the 10th  floor with a small pool and open area with gymnasium and then to 11th floor and Solarium, this all works very well if a bit tight. Good facility.
We found the front desk most patient and helpful in all our requests or queries, though at times I felt they were pushing their own favorite restaurants and did not seem keen on my suggestions such as Cera 23 which i found on TA, it is nearby with truly excellent food and value. I have reviewed it also.
For the price the  hotel offered all we could want for the 5 nights we stayed there and would highly recommend it, but be clear what you want and you will get it, read the other reviews for guidance.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 201 had its own large balcony and was quiet looking on apartment spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cc4bees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roberto C, Director General at Barcelona Universal Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
For us it is a challenge trying to improve every day. I would like to thank you personally for the time spent writing to us, as well as for choosing our hotel for your stay in the city. Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Upon arriving in barcelona we found our way easily to the Hotel Universal. With a great location just mins away from the Port and right next to the Para-lel Metro the hotel is a perfect stay for those wishing to see the sights but to miss out on the noise of the more busy areas.

A lot of reviews will say the noise is too loud but that is the nature of staying in a city centre hotel, if it is an issue for you then request a room on a higher floor, i did and the hotel did not dissapoint!

The room itself was fantastic, spacious and clean with great views of the Para-lel.

If i was going back to Barcelona i would stay here again!

Room Tip: Higher rooms are more protected from the City's hussle and bussle
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roberto C, Director General at Barcelona Universal Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Continuous improvements in the quality of our facilities and the service provided are our top priorities. Your feedback helps us continue maintaining the facilities in line with the service. Thank you. We are very pleased by you choosing us for your stay and the fact that you enjoyed your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

TOP TIP: when exciting the metro at the Paral-el stop, take the Carrer de Sant Pau exit and turn right, this should bring you out right in front of the hotel :)

We were lucky enough to get a room on the 9th floor with it's own terrace/balcony area. The room was fantastic with a huge bed that was so comfortable we crashed out everytime we returned to the hotel! The bathroom was well appointed with toiletries restocked every day. The view from the hotel over Montjuic are fantastic. From our balcony and the rooftop you can see the sea, the Palau Nacional, Sagrada Familia and Tibidabo in the distance!!

The breakfast was a good selection for the large mix of nationalities that frequent the hotel, with a hot selection, pastries, breads, cheeses, meats, cereals, yoghurts, fruits and lots of different juices. Each table being provided with its own coffee pot was a nice touch.

We walked to every sight but Sagrada Familia from the hotel, and even that was only 4 or 5 met stops on one line from the metro stop right outside the hotel! We also arrived and departed by public transport with the train and metro being easy to navigate and only cost 85cents with the T-10 travelcard!!

We had a fantastic 5 night stay and I was very very sad to leave the fantastic Barcelona and this marvellous hotel.

Room Tip: Email ahead and ask for a high room if you would like a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reviewreadingaddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights/five days, and had a very pleasant stay.
we arrived at 10 am and the room was already ready for us, we asked for a quiet room which we got, although it had no view. the room as small but well appointed and very comfortable.
Location was excellent , right at the metro station and a 10 min walk to the waterfront and Las ramblas.
Staff Were pleasant, helpful and the food was good.

I would recommend the hotel and would stay aging.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gwill12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roberto C, Director General at Barcelona Universal Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
First of all let me thank you for the confidence you placed in our hotel. Thank you very much for your comments which will help us improve our work performance. With your permission I will pass them on to the staff to share them in the most appropriate way. We appreciate your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luzern, Schweiz
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We stayed for 1 Week at Unversal Barcelona. We chose the hotel because of its many excellent reviews and the good trip advisor ranking (which, of course stirs up expectations).

The Location of the Hotel is very good in means of public tansportations. But since the Taxis in BCA are plenty and very cheap, the andvantage of being located next to a metro station is not such a big advantage. In means of noise, the location is terrible. The Street that is in front of the hotel is terribly big, noisy and has traffic all night long.

Ask for a Room facing the inner courtyard if you are a little sensitive to noise. The double glazing does not lock out the noise. It is very, very noisy at night.

The Staff is just ok. We did not experience the excellent service, described several times here on trip advisor.

The size of the standard rooms is very small. We arrived with a big suitcase each and we had really a problem with finding either sufficient space in the cabinet or instead letting our suitcases open on the floor. Both were almost impossible.

If you like a busy breakfast Room in the morning where you have to stand in line for 10 Minutes before you are let in, overstrained staff and an empty buffet, then you should order breakfast with your room (it costs 25 Euros!). If you like it a bit quiet in the morning, then you better go out for breakfast.

I have to mention, that we were offered a bigger and less noisy room and breakfast at our room every day, at no extra charge. But to get this, we had a totally unnecessary and painstaking discussion with the manager who blamed on us that we should have made our complaint directly at the front desk instead of contacting our travel agency first. I have to mention that we were about to leave, before we were offered a solution.



All in all, we had a nice Week at Universal barcelona. But we were asking ourselves several times, how this hotels gets its excellent ratings.

We found it just average. Not more. We will return to Barcelona for sure, but not to Hotel Universal.

Room Tip: Take room facing inwards but be aware that they are smaller than the rooms facing the street. If you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jhardegger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexPagan, Front Office Manager at Barcelona Universal Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
We would like thank you for your review on Tripadvisor.
We would like to say that almost all of our guest do value our location, as they can reach the city center on foot (10 min) or take the metro right outside the hotel. Regarding noise in the rooms, I would comment that is a subjective issue. In case that noise disturb any guest we always offer the possibility of changing room the latest next day after they report this issue to us. Acting this way we try to give a solution and improve the rest of all our customers. Also clarify that the size of our rooms is according to all Barcelona standards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Just back from a 3 night stay here. The hotel was everything my wife & I expected. Our room was excellent,especially the very large comfy bed. Reception staff very helpful & speak good english. Breakfast was good but if you come here expecting a full english you may be dissapointed as they have to cater for a lot of nationalities that stay here. Metro station right outside the hotel,which is very useful for getting around the sights of Barcelona.
Would stay at this hotel again if we were to return to Barcelona.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roberto C, Director General at Barcelona Universal Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
First of all let me thank you for the confidence you placed in our hotel. Thank you very much for your comments which will help us improve our work performance. With your permission I will pass them on to the staff to share them in the most appropriate way. We appreciate your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
EuroPark Hotel
EuroPark Hotel
#30 of 513 in Barcelona
3,918 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Jazz
Hotel Jazz
#40 of 513 in Barcelona
4,444 reviews
El Raval
Barcelo Raval
Barcelo Raval
#104 of 513 in Barcelona
3,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#28 of 513 in Barcelona
4,502 reviews
El Raval
Andante
Andante
#88 of 513 in Barcelona
1,653 reviews
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#98 of 513 in Barcelona
3,780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelona Universal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelona Universal Hotel

Property: Barcelona Universal Hotel
Address: Avda Paral.lel 76-80, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#38 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#61 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#101 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelona Universal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically located just a five-minute walk from Las Ramblas, Hotel Barcelona Universal grants its guests easy access to all parts of the city. Metro lines 2 and 3 stop just outside the main entrance, at “Paral·lel,” and nearby buses can take you to the beaches of Barcelona, Park Güell, and anywhere in between. A stroll from our hotel near Las Ramblas will take you to some of Barcelona’s favorite tourist attractions.Hotel opened in 2001 and renewed in 2011.Hotel Barcelona Universal has 167 rooms, each equipped with free Wi-Fi Internet. Three “Barcelona Skyline Suites” feature a Jacuzzi and private terrace. Families and larger groups may be accommodated in triple or superior rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, TravelClick, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barcelona Universal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Universal Barcelona
Hotel Barcelona Universal
Barcelona Universal Hotel Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing