We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic neighborhood tapas” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Koska Taverna

Koska Taverna
Ranked #979 of 9,333 Restaurants in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $26
Cuisines: Bar, Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Montjuic
Description: De vermuteo!! Pintxos, tapas y buenos tragos!!
Kirkland, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic neighborhood tapas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

Wonderful neighborhood experience- fantastic food! Loved sitting at the tables with the locals, kids playing around us - even the house red wine was excellent. Loved this place. a real Barcelona experience. great service, unique food- for example the usual potato tapa was uniquely presented as new potatoes with a yummy spicy sauce for dipping, the cheese platter, the chorizo Spanish omelet- oh totally forgot to mention the tomato bread! was very different from the usual - instead of a soft bread- it was toasted with garlic- making it unique and much better (in my opinion) than the usual presentation.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    56
    4
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
“A Poble Sec Dime”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

My husband and I were told that if we want to visit an authentic, "non-touristy" neighbourhood in Barcelona, we should check out Poble Sec. We didn't have a specific restaurant or bar in mind, we just got off the train at Poble Sec and walked around. We liked the look and vibe of Koska Taverna from the outside, so we decided to go in and try it. What a fantastic experience! The food was AMAZING! The stuffed squid was out of this world, perfect with the wine and cider that the staff recommended. And we didn't leave without trying dessert. The carrot cake was like no other we have tried before (we soon learned that the chef was working on perfecting the recipe for 10 days straight!). We ended up talking with the waiters and chef while enjoying our food. Great service, and truly a memorable experience. Our future visits to Barcelona will certainly include a stop at Koska.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
162 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Enjoyable experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013 via mobile

My wife discovered this Taverna the last time she was in Barcelona.

It is a small restaurant serving typical and no traditional tapas. The service was great and the staff very helpful with helping us choose from the many offerings.
If you are in the neighborhood you must stop in for an unusual but wonderful dining experience.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Russell B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pintxos but not only”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

The carrer blai is full of small places where to eat pintxos. Here you have good pintxos too, for around 2 euros, but also small or bigger dishes like tapas you can share, which are really unusual, potatoes cooked like in France, chorizo with cider, drinks are also original (belgian beer, cider...).. and some good American deserts (brownie, apple pie.. want to try the carrotcake !). Good value for money, nice service!

Helpful?
Thank CMass75
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Trendy tapas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

Happened into this place when strolling around after getting off at the paral lel stop. It had a very simple but clean look with cold beer (a non-Spanish option which was very welcome) and very interesting fare. Tasty tapas served On slices of French bread.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jcfree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Koska Taverna also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Koska Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing