We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok, but not 4 star....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Premier Hotel Dante
Ranked #98 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Gauteng , South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Ok, but not 4 star....”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

My husband and stayed at the Hotel Dante in August this year.

Arrival/Check in – this process was quite quick as we were the only people checking in and the front desk was quite. The lady at the desk was quite friendly. Reception area looks modern and was clean.

Hotel room – was fair in size but I did not like the carpets in the room. They looked old and not very clean. The room itself also was quite dated and the furniture was quite old as well. No mirrors in the room. You had to go to the bathroom if you needed to use the mirror or you could use the one by the entrance of the room. The bathroom looked like it was recently redone and was more modern. The bed felt really old and was not comfortable. You could feel the springs in the mattress.

The cleanness of the room was something that needs serious attention. We found our room was not very clean both the bedroom and bathroom. Glasses were in the sanitized bags but when we took them out they were absolutely dirty. We had to call to get them replaced.

Breakfast was included and was ok. If you go down a little bit later but still within breakfast hours some of the items on the hot meals section were finished. Different items were kept very close to each other and we found on many occasions that the items would be mixed due to this.(Eggs, mushrooms, beans, ham) Not very appetising! The lady managing the breakfast area was fast, efficient and very friendly. Area was quite small and you have to sit close to other guests due the space of the room. You can choose to have breakfast delivered to your room at no additional cost which is a nice option if you don’t feel like dining with other guests.

Location- It is a bit of a walk to the main attractions.

The lobby and bar area was always clean and the staff very friendly. Drinks were also reasonably priced and it is a nice break after a day out.

Overall I think this hotel is ok but certainly not at a 4 star standard.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TashnViven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    535
    553
    99
    18
    10
See reviews for
311
489
91
112
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
São Paulo
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

The hotel is very well located, the room where I stayed where very good and the breakfast was great.
I didn't request anything specially to the staff, but generally I can say that they where available all the time.
If I go back to Barcelona, likely I will look for this hotel' offers again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 9, 2013

went to Barcelona for a city break taking in football and this hotel was fab for that. it was equidistant between the main drag las ramblas, and the nou camp stadium. the staff spoke very good English, and were kind, attentive and knowledgeable. rooms were very good, good size and clean.. will be my point of call again for barcelona

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mafbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
muscat
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We had a two days stop over at Barcelona and it was our first time, we wanted a hotel that is ideally located close to the city attractions but yet reasonably priced. After a good search, we decided to stay at this hotel. The rooms were spacious, the price was good, the rooms were clean and breakfast was good and had variety. Will definitely stay again here if traveling to Barcelona. There were hotels at downtown, but thanks God we stayed away from them, as the noise and crowed was nota welcoming experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank falhashar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Can't fault the Dante on every level. Cosy, comfortable and well situated. The rooms are well equipped, sleep quality is good but the Internet connection is poor, downloading the daily paper took several minutes. The breakfast is brilliant but if you can't face loud tourist types you might want to avoid the breakfast room at peak times as tis smallish.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robmarshall33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

This is a great place to stay when visiting Barcelona. My family and I stayed here for eight nights while on vacation to this city.

Check-in: We arrived at 11:00 a.m. and well in advance of the standard check-in time of 3:00 p.m. The front desk staff was expecting us and a very nice lady named Alexandra checked us in. She said that our room would be ready shortly. While that was being completed, she took the time to give us a briefing on the city by giving us a map with the hotel location clearly marked among tour deals that the we could get cheaper through the hotel. We were even given a memo from the hotel about safety in the city and specific scams pulled on tourists to watch for. By 11:30, we were in our room. This was especially nice since we were exhausted from the flight from New York to Barcelona and needed some rest.

Room: It looked new and was very modern but a bit small but that’s quite typical of Europe. The beds were comfortable. My wife and I shared two twins that had been put together to form a king and our son slept in a sofa bed which pulled out of a lounge chair.

We did not find any dresser drawers in the room but there was ample closet space. Our luggage fit right under the beds so that saved us some space. There was a mini bar/refrigerator but there was room in there for our own things as well.

The bathroom was very nice and modern. The toilet was actually in a separate room next to the bathroom which was handy as there were three of us staying here. The shower tub combination was fine but the glass for it only covered only half the tub. Somehow, water stayed in there when using the shower. When we checked in, we were treated to special welcoming toiletries such as a comb, shoe shine sponge and a toothbrush. Shampoo and soap supplies were adequate and replaced daily. Ample towels and hand towels were provided but no wash cloths. We knew that from previous reviews posted here so we brought our own from home.

We had a small balcony as well but the view was of the back of the hotel and of their service and laundry area so nothing too interesting for us to look out on. The room also contained a safe and flat screen television. Programs from multiple languages are available but English is limited to news programs. A small coffee and tea station was provided and stocked with instant coffee and tea bags along with two ceramic cups.

The room was kept very clean by the housekeeping staff. The day we checked in, we were awakened by housekeeping as someone thought the room had not been serviced. The person was very polite and apologetic when she realized her mistake!

Food: There is a bar and small restaurant in the lobby here but we did not use that. They will give you ice for your room if you simply go in there and request it.

The breakfast buffet was excellent. It consisted of eggs, bacon as hot items each day and plenty of cold meats, cheeses, breads and danishes to choose from. Some days sausage appeared as did side dishes of potatoes. Those varied but was a nice change of pace since we had breakfast here for eight straight days. The buffet was well attended to and kept fully stocked even up to closing time. One morning, we arrived later for breakfast than usual and found the place packed. With only 15 minutes until closing, no one was denied access and the food continued to be stocked. The two ladies working there seemed overwhelmed but still did their job well.

Location: It’s pretty much in the center of Barcelona so it’s not all that far from the main attractions. It was a 20 minute taxi ride from the airport. The hotel is in a quiet area and this is especially the case at night but we had no problems at all as it’s perfectly safe area. There are several restaurants in the area and a really good one just across the street. A supermarket is a few doors away which was very convenient for us as we got drinks and lunch there each day which saved us a ton of money.

Staff: Very friendly and helpful. It was easy to see that they had been properly trained in customer service. Most staff spoke at least enough English to get by. The front desk staff always says hello when they see you coming and going and ask if there is anything they can do for you. They were really great with helping us arrange excursions to out-of-town destinations. It’s cheaper if you book through the hotel. Alexandra, as I mentioned, and Martin were of great help to us at reception.

As a Diamond member of the Best Western Rewards Program, I was very impressed with this hotel and recommend it to anyone considering a visit to Barcelona.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank timman19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Hotel was very welcoming and comfortable. Good choice of breakfast but limited space in room. Building work on site across road commenced at about 6.00 am which was something of a nuisance. Overall good experience and would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Hotel Constanza Barcelona
Hotel Constanza Barcelona
#73 of 513 in Barcelona
2,078 reviews
Pol & Grace Hotel
#66 of 513 in Barcelona
931 reviews
Eixample
U232 Hotel
U232 Hotel
#55 of 513 in Barcelona
3,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Hotel Villa Emilia
Hotel Villa Emilia
#38 of 513 in Barcelona
2,264 reviews
Wilson Boutique Hotel
#93 of 513 in Barcelona
1,227 reviews
Eixample
The Mirror Barcelona
The Mirror Barcelona
#100 of 513 in Barcelona
1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Premier Hotel Dante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Premier Hotel Dante

Property: Best Western Premier Hotel Dante
Address: C/ Mallorca 181, 08036 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#42 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#50 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#75 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#144 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Premier Hotel Dante 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN PREMIER Dante is located 10 minutes from Paseo de Gracia and the main tourist attractions. It is a place in the heart of the Barcelona atmosphere with shops, bars and restaurants, avoiding the high traffic of the main streets. The Hotel has 80 rooms, a lounge area / library, 24h reception, concierge service, ironing service, laundry service, a snack bar, meeting rooms, parking, buffet breakfast and Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. The rooms are bright and comfortable and include free Wi-Fi, satellite plasma TV, heating, air conditioning, minibar and safes for laptops. They also have a bathroom with hairdryer. A large buffet breakfast cold / hot, and products for celiacs is served in the hotel. There is also a snack bar serving cocktails, snacks, sandwiches, tapas and a menu with a variety of dishes. The Best Western Premier Dante is located about 25 minutes driving from Barcelona, 5 minutes walking from the Hospital, a 15-minute walking from Plaza Catalunya and 10 minutes walking from the famous Casa Batllo and La Pedrera of Gaudi. In addition, the hotel is well connected by public transport (metro, bus and train) to the main tourist points of the city and the main train station "Sants" (AVE). NOTE: Local tax € 1.21 per night and person for stays between 1 and 7 nights. Not included in the booked rate and is payable at the hotel. Children under 16 are not subject to tax. NIRC: HB 00 20 07 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Premier Hotel Dante reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Barcelona
Barcelona Best Western
Best Western Premier Hotel Dante Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing