We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Good Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Best Western Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Best Western Hotel to your Saves list
Best Western Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Mallorca 181, 08036 Barcelona, Spain (Eixample)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #93 of 522 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Ponteland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

There is a free safe in the room and a hair dryer in the bathroom. You can use the mini-bar to chill your own drinks if you wish. The location is approx 25 mins walk to Las Ramblas.
Breakfasts are good with some things changing daily.
No tea or coffee machine in the room. English news papers in reception.
Excellent supermarket next door.
Lots of traffic noise - we were on the fourth floor.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EricPonteland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vilajoana, Director Comercial at Best Western Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your review.

We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. And your review will help us improving our service in the future. Actually, we are planning to soon add tea and cofee facilities in every room of the hotel for free. By now, however, you can order cofee and tea for free to our room service.

We hope you come back soon. And if you do, please, do not hesitatte to contact us to ask for a room on the backside of the hotel so that you can stay away from the street noise. Some people preffer the street side because of the view, although there is some traffic noise during the day, but you can ask for a room on the backside if you preffer a really quiet room.

Please, do not hesitate to contact any member of our staff for anything you might need.

On behalf of all the Best Western Premier Hotel Dante staff, thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

976 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    423
    444
    86
    15
    8
See reviews for
235
394
77
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Only 5 safe streets to Hop on/off bus. Very clean room and updated bathroom. I took a taxi from seaport to hotel - meter said 14E, but I was told 28E since I had to pay for taxi # 1985 to go back to seaport. Taxi to airport was 38E. For just 6E, there is a bus service to the airport.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank happytraveler70-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vilajoana, Director Comercial at Best Western Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your review.

We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. However, we do not underestand why you rate the hotel with a 2 over 5 rate. If there is something about your stay that you did not like, please, feel free to contact me directly at comercial@hotelesdante.com so that we can know about it. This way we will be able to know in which areas we need to improve.

I understand your problem with the taxi you took at the seaport, and I know they have an extra charge for transfers from the seaport, but I am sure it is not 14€ extra charge. Unfortunately some taxi drivers are dishonest and take advantage of some people (not only tourist, it has happened to myself too). I am very sorry for that because it has a direct impact on your satisfaction as a client of the hotel. The rate for your taxi to the airport is normal, and it is true that there is a bus service to the airport much cheaper, and it has a bus station 5 blocks away from the hotel.

We hope you come back soon.

Please, do not hesitate to contact any member of our staff for anything you might need.

On behalf of all the Best Western Premier Hotel Dante staff, thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugeley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Four of us visited Barcelona and stayed here. It was a lovely hotel and very close to all the important places. Staff were very helpful in advising best places to visit/see. Including a flamenco night which the reception staff booked for us including the taxi. Nothing was too much trouble and this included drinks to our rooms on our return in an evening. There was a slight mix up with our room booking but they offered to remedy this as soon as we checked in and also gave us a bottle of bubbly in compensation, which we enjoyed on our last night. Lovely first break to Barcelona for us all with the hotel making our stay !

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Absfab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vilajoana, Director Comercial at Best Western Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your review.

We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is nice to hear that the hotel "made your stay". Your review encourages us to keep improving our service. We hope you come back soon.

Please, do not hesitate to contact any member of our staff for anything you might need.

On behalf of all the Best Western Premier Hotel Dante staff, thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managua, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
128 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Located on a corner of L'Eiaxmple neighborhood, this small but very comfortable four star hotel is a good option for its location, a few blocks from Paseo de Gracia street and Plaza Cataluna, and reasonable price (119 euros including breakfast internet rate ). I choose a midsize room to be more comfortable after walking all day. The breakfast, as usual in Spain, is plenty and hearty, you can indulge you with all sorts of fruits, hams, cheeses, breads and pastries to get the energy necessary to tourist the rest of the day. The hotel's restaurant serves a tasty quinua and zucchini soup, which we tried it the first night. The front desk was selling tickets for the classic Barca - Real Madrid game at Euros 550 the cheapest place. We refuse to pay this exorbitant price and luckily, the day before the game, we found tickets in the internet at normal price Euro 165.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Camoto54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vilajoana, Director Comercial at Best Western Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your review.

We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. And your review will help us improving our service in the future. We hope you come back soon.

Please, do not hesitate to contact any member of our staff for anything you might need.

On behalf of all the Best Western Premier Hotel Dante staff, thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Before starting the hotel comments, let me say from our experience at least, all the internet hysteria about crime in Barcelona seems to be well overdone. No doubt there is theft and larcency in Barcelona as in any big city but we felt totally safe in the area around the Hotel Dante as well as in other areas of the city. As return visitors we did not spend a lot of time on the Ramblas or at the most visited sites, but we were out and about in taxis, metro, trains, walking, eating in sidewalk restaurants and local bars and did not feel any different "vibe" than you do in any European city. Maybe it is the unique nature of the oft reported fake policeman and mustard stain street scams that generates a high fear response, but under no circumstances allow this to stop your visit. Just use the same common sense that you do anywhere including your home town or country.

That said, we had a fine stay at the Hotel Dante. Price was (very) high compared to other places in Spain but not out of line with those in world class cities. Excellent and well served breakfast, front desk staff competent and helpful, although the night clerk was on his own and overworked. Did not seem to be any server or diners in the hotel restaurant the one time we looked in, but with a good selection of bars and cafes in the area you really shouldn't be dining at the hotel. When looking for places to eat, turn LEFT as you go out of the hotel, walk a couple of blocks, turn right and you will find many small places serving tapas or full meals.

Good WIFI and there is a terminal and printer just inside the restaurant that we used for boarding passes. The hotel will get you an airport cab, if you are just going somewhere in town there are lots of cabs passing the door all the time. The metro station is about a five minute walk. Passeig de Gracia train station is a 5 Euro cab fare. If you are looking for some comfort and are interesed in staying in a real neighbourhood rather than right on the Ramblas then this is a good choice.

Room Tip: Our room was at the rear and looked out at a church and some apartment blocks. We heard no street o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 492traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vilajoana, Director Comercial at Best Western Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your review.

We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. And your review encorages us to keep improving our service in the future.

I would like to particularly thank you for your comment about safety in Barcelona. I couldn't agree more. It is true that pickpockets are a huge problem in the city, but not more than other european cities. We try to warn our guests at their arrival, so that they don't trust people stopping them in the touristic areas where most of this pickpockets take place. As a hotel, we are pushing the authorities to work in new solutions for this problem, and we hope that soon we will start seeing results.

We hope you come back soon.

Please, do not hesitate to contact any member of our staff for anything you might need.

On behalf of all the Best Western Premier Hotel Dante staff, thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
84 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

don't love neighborhood, but it is quiet, and fairly near transportation. The staff was great.
The Wifi was good...TV good..bed is hard.....

Only problem, taxi was told our flight left terminal 1, he dropped us off there, and we had to get a bus to terminal 2. Luckily we had allowed plenty of time...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dutchgirl57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vilajoana, Director Comercial at Best Western Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your review.

We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please, excuse us if it was our fault that the taxi took you to the wrong terminal of the Airport. I appologise in name of all the staff. Your review will help us improving our service in the future. We hope you come back soon.

Please, do not hesitate to contact any member of our staff for anything you might need.

On behalf of all the Best Western Premier Hotel Dante staff, thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed at Hotel Dante prior to a cruise. We arrived at 10:00 a.m. after a delayed flight from Los Angeles. We were allowed access to a room even though it was well before the noon check-in time. The hotel is modern and well-appointed. The room was very clean, although there were a few stains on the carpet. Wi-fi was free. Room service of coffee/tea was free. We ate in the bar/lounge. The menu was limited, but the food was fine. The hotel is situated in the midst of everything, perfect for strolling. The strong point of the hotel is the staff; efficient, friendly; always pleasant. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Betty C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vilajoana, Director Comercial at Best Western Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your review.

We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your review will help us improving our service in the future. We take note of your comment about the bar menu. We hope you come back soon.

Please, do not hesitate to contact any member of our staff for anything you might need.

On behalf of all the Best Western Premier Hotel Dante staff, thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Hotel Praktik Vinoteca
Hotel Praktik Vinoteca
#64 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 stars 594 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Vueling BCN by Hc
Hotel Vueling BCN by Hc
#72 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 stars 598 reviews
Pol & Grace Hotel
#73 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 stars 609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Room Mate Emma
Room Mate Emma
#53 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 stars 1,087 reviews
Eixample
U232 Hotel
U232 Hotel
#42 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 stars 2,506 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Granados 83
Hotel Granados 83
#41 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 stars 1,128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel

Property: Best Western Hotel
Address: C/ Mallorca 181, 08036 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#43 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#51 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#66 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#145 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN PREMIER Dante Dante is located 10 minutes from Paseo de Gracia and the main tourist attractions. It is a place in the heart of the Barcelona atmosphere with shops, bars and restaurants, avoiding the high traffic of the main streets. The Hotel has 80 rooms, a lounge area / library, 24h reception, concierge service, ironing service, laundry service, a snack bar, meeting rooms, parking, buffet breakfast and Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. The rooms are bright and comfortable and include free Wi-Fi, satellite plasma TV, heating, air conditioning, minibar and safes for laptops. They also have a bathroom with hairdryer. A large buffet breakfast cold / hot, and products for celiacs is served in the hotel. There is also a snack bar serving cocktails, snacks, sandwiches, tapas and a menu with a variety of dishes. The Best Western Premier Dante is located about 25 minutes driving from Barcelona, 5 minutes walking from the Hospital, a 15-minute walking from Plaza Catalunya and 10 minutes walking from the famous Casa Batllo and La Pedrera of Gaudi. In addition, the hotel is well connected by public transport (metro, bus and train) to the main tourist points of the city and the main train station "Sants" (AVE). NOTE: Local tax € 1.21 per night and person for stays between 1 and 7 nights. Not included in the booked rate and is payable at the hotel. Children under 16 are not subject to tax. NIRC: HB 00 20 07 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Travelocity so you can book your Best Western Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Barcelona
Barcelona Best Western
Best Western Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing