We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just a bit Noisy”
Review of Hotel Glories

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Glories
Ranked #307 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Just a bit Noisy”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Near to Major road Junction so can be a bit noisy.
But benefits from being within easy walking of Sagrada Familia and next door to the Bull Ring now a museum.
Easy to find reasonable priced bars and restaurants at road most road junctions.

Room Tip: Dont think you can avoid road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Recepción H, Director de Recepción at Hotel Glories, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Hola Steve D,

First of all, we would like to thank you for taking your time in making such a detailed review of your stay and we´ll try to improve road noise

We look forward to welcome you back soon

Best regards


Raül Jimenez
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    276
    121
    34
    20
See reviews for
113
194
77
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona
1 review
Reviewed November 2, 2012

cosy and welcoming hotel, located next to a metro station, a supermarket and a big commercial center "Glories". very helpful staff. one metro station away from "la sagrada familia".

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank sharon z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Recepción H, Departamento de Recepción. at Hotel Glories, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Hola Sharon,

Thank you for your comment in tripadvisor. We hope see you soon in Barcelona.

Best regards

Reception desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
1 review
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We had a room in the basement and could not identify at the time of booking.
The rooms are very noisy.
Too expensive for what is offered.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank KaLaeu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Recepción H, Departemento de Recepción at Hotel Glories, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Hi Karsten,

Thanks for sleep in the hotel, we hope your next stay will in a high floor, but we don't have rooms under reception

best regards

Dpto. de Recepción
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Stayed for two nights prior to cruise. Good location - particularly for Sagrada Familia- with plenty of places to eat locally. The highlight was the friendly and helpful reception staff - they are a real credit to the hotel. Rooms were clean, relatively quiet and ideal for our needs. Just one negative - the mattress was so firm I wouldn't have liked to have slept more that two nights on it.

Room Tip: Despite previous reviewers' comments, we had a basement room. Would happily stay there again (wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank etfz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Recepción H, Director de Recepción at Hotel Glories, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Hola GeorgeA1954,

Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion.

You are very kind of mentioning our staff. They will always do their best to help you with anything you may need during your stay in our city.

I am very sorry to learn that you was disappointed with the mattress, we´ll try to improve it.

We hope that despite your disappointed with the mattress, we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel at some point in the future.


Your faithfully.


Raül Jimenez
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

This was the hotel with the best price/quality ration when I was trying to book a 3 night stay in Barcelona this September and, trying to keep this trip as low cost as possible, I made the right choice.
The staff is very helpful and extremely nice, the hotel looked good and well kept, which is always a plus when you first come through the front door, and offered to keep our bags before we could check-in and after we checked-out for free.

The only negative points of this stay was the extremely poor sound-proofing of the rooms. We could easily hear EVERYTHING from the other rooms and after 9AM it was impossible to sleep from all the noise coming from the housekeeping activities in the hallways, especially when using the vacuum cleaner.

The other negative point was that one day we left the room around noon and in spite of having placed the "Clean this Room" on the outside of the bedroom door, when we came back around 10PM the room wasn't touched and the wet towels were not replaced.
On the other hand, this hotel had the best wifi connection I've ever used, also for free!
It's also really close to the "Monumental" metro station, which was a really nice PLUS.

If and when I'm back in Barcelona I'll be checking this hotel again while choosing my stay BUT the poor sound-proofing is so extreme I'll be doing it very reluctantly. All in all, 4/5.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms on the floors below the ground, they are the closest to the restaurant/breakfast roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pedro N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Recepción H, Director de Recepción at Hotel Glories, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Hola Pedro,

Thank you for sharing your point of view of the Hotel Glories with other Tripadvisor readers.

We are sorry to hear the hotel didn’t meet your expectations in certain aspects. However, we appreciate your feedback and we will take in consideration your comments as this is a good opportunity for us to improve and become better every day.

We really hope to welcome you back soon and to prove that what happened were isolated situations

Best regards


Raül Jimenez
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Stayed here for a weekend (fri-mon) with my wife and we are very happy with the trip.
The room (one double bed) was small, but clean and cozy. There was a bathtub.
Our room was at the end of a hallway on the second floor (room 205), and it was not that noisy at all. You could hear people flush toilets and such, but in my experience you hear those things in most hotels.
I'd recommend the subway station at la Monumental instead of Glories to avoid the construction sites.
The hotel is close (5-10min walk) to la Sagrada Familia.
The breakfast was good enough for us, had all the essentials.
I'd recommend it to anyone looking for a good 3-star hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stefan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Recepción H, Director de Recepción at Hotel Glories, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Hola Stefan,

Thank you for sharing your point of view of the Hotel Glories with other Tripadvisor readers and appreciate your understanding of the sounds of other customers and comparison with other hotels. We´ll try to improve it.

We look forward to welcome you back soon

Your faithfully


Raül Jimenez
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Constanta, Romania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Three stars are too much for it. Location is good and staff is very kind. Breakfast is very nice and you have plenty choices to combine. The rooms look very nice in the pictures, not in reality. If you want nice sightseeing of the city, ask for bus routes from the hotel to the touristic attractions. There are very good connection buses to most of them. The front desk people are very polite and helpful and you can ask for information there. If you don't buy "Barcelona Card", take a T10 ticket (10 trips for about 9 EUR) to save money. Bus stations are very near to the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for 2nd, 3rd, 4th floor rooms, opposite to street view. They are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mihai T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Recepción H, Director de Recepción at Hotel Glories, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Hola Mihai,

Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion.
It was particularly pleasant to know you had a good impression of our staff . About the rest of the comments I will take it into consideration and speak to my manager but inform you that the room pictures are real.

We look forward to welcome you back soon

Best regards


Raül Jimenez
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Poblenou
Ibis Barcelona Pza Glories 22
Ibis Barcelona Pza Glories 22
#195 of 513 in Barcelona
1,922 reviews
Eixample
Acta Antibes
Acta Antibes
#111 of 513 in Barcelona
1,906 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Sant Antoni
Hotel Sant Antoni
#170 of 513 in Barcelona
784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Barcelona Century Hotel
Barcelona Century Hotel
#253 of 513 in Barcelona
571 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Teatre Auditori
Hotel Teatre Auditori
#177 of 513 in Barcelona
783 reviews
Amrey Sant Pau
#261 of 513 in Barcelona
702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Glories? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Glories

Property: Hotel Glories
Address: Calle Padilla 173, 08013 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #307 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Glories 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Glories is located to 10 minutes from the Sagrada Familia, for the 22 high-tech area, as well as the Agbar Tower. The National Theatre of Catalunya and the Auditori Concert Hall are just 400 metres away. Direct service to Plaza Catalunya in around 5 minutes. Monumental Metro Station is just 3 minutes’ walk away from Hotel Glories. The rooms all have air conditioning, heating, satellite TV , free Wi-Fi, 24-hour front desk offers car and bike hire, reserve tickets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Glories reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glories Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Glories Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing