We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly and basic”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Adagio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Adagio
Ranked #313 of 521 Hotels in Barcelona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Friendly and basic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Amazing location, friendly staff and good breakfast!

Me and my boyfriend stayed here for 6 nights, we were very pleased. Our room was basic, with a bed, a tv, shower, very small bath and a toilet, the view could have been better but what is to be expected for a small 2star hotel in a busy city - you don't spend much time in your room anyway!
We were pleasantly surprised with the breakfast on offer and enjoyed this every day.
The staff were friendly, approachable and helpful. The wifi worked well in our room for the first two days then only worked in the recpetion area for the rest' Would recommend this hotel to anyway wanting a central location.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Kf1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    234
    123
    40
    27
See reviews for
86
202
47
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

The hotel is very centrally located close to La Rambla and the Metro. That is the good part. The bad part is that it is quite noisy, difficult to get fresh air to the room and the breakfast is terrible.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
3 Thank Henrik B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

The hotel was adequate for what it cost, and it was a cheaper one. It was certainly clean, but the smell of bleach in the bedrooms was overpowering....we had to ask to be moved, as it was eye watering. The room was certainly compact, but the bathroom was good. Breakfast was continental, and hopefully the re siting of the reception and new bar will be finished soon! The staff were very helpful and Barcelona was a delight!

Room Tip: Higher floor ( 4th ) is where we stayed, but the smell of bleach was just as strong! The view was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suejarvis1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grenoble, France
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

I booked this hotel because of the low price, the location, the included breakfast and the free wifi. Besides the price and location which were as expected, the rest of the services were poor. The breakfast was just Edam (or something similar), salami, bread and something that looked like a croissant. With respect to wifi, the speed was so low that it was like not having internet. In addition i had to call the reception as some point to restart the router as for two hours there was no internet and nobody had done anything about it. The only positive thing is its personnel which was very helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Barcelona hotels

Kirkby-in-Ashfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed at the Adagio for 5 nights in Feb 2013. The hotel is superbly located just of La Rambla and the Placa Reial. The hotel is very basic and a little tired, but improvements are in hand. We found the foyer to be under renovation when we arrived, the workmen are there Monday to Friday from 11am to about 8pm, in the mornings though everything was cleared away and the breakfast area opened up.
Our room was spotlessly clean and everything worked, lovely shower, loads of towels, hairdryer, tv etc, proper free wi-fi (no signing up to cloud) was a bit hit and miss, we were on the 4th floor and some days we got no signal, others it was perfect.It even worked in Starbucks 3 doors away once !! but It's worth checking with the foyer if you get no signal as they had to reset it once when I asked if there was a problem.
Breakfast ,,, well I'd have to say it's a bit poor ,,, but it's a cheap hotel and you can't expect much. It consisted of one type of cereal, (always the same, frosted cornflakes) plus bread rolls with salami or cheese, jam & butter. There's a coffee machine and tea bags, plus a machine with juice, orange or pineapple. The staff I have to say were excellent, check out isn't until 11.30 and you can leave luggage in a locked room if you have a late flight back, we camped in the foyer for an hour the afternoon we left and they allowed us to charge our phones and offered us coffee. They give really good advice and are always helpful. In short it's probably only a two star hotel if you grade it on facilities, but I would say 3 star due to location and the staff.
Check out these places - Parc Guell , El Bosc de les Fades , La Cervesera Artensa , Les Gens que J'Aime , Guell Palace , Font Magica ,

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

I thought i had to write about the adagio, we stayed there 5 years ago and from the pictures nothing has seemed to have changed for the better. From the comments i remember the old, worn and outdated furniture, the rooms maybe clean but i still remember the smell of bleach when the house keepers were cleaning the rooms. The only good point about the hotel is the location, wish i could be more positive.

Room Tip: Book elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smelbo24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasov, Romania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

I've stayed 3 nights in this hotel.It's situated near Rambla, very close to Liceu underground station.Being a 2 star hotel, the rooms are quite small but they are clean.Hotel adagio is a good place to stay while visiting Barcelona.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gumitabv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel California
Hotel California
#208 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Ingles
Hotel Ingles
#330 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Condal
Hotel Condal
#263 of 521 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Rialto
Hotel Rialto
#348 of 521 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,596 reviews
La Rambla
Hotel Internacional Ramblas Cool
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Barcelona House
Hotel Barcelona House
#282 of 521 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Adagio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Adagio

Property: Hotel Adagio
Address: Carrer de Ferran, 21, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#208 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Adagio 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Adagio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adagio Barcelona
Hotel Adagio Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing