We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SERCOTEL ABBOT - CONVENIENT, WELL LOCATED AND VALUE FOR MONEY”
Review of Hotel Abbot

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Abbot
Ranked #459 of 516 Hotels in Barcelona
Reviewed May 4, 2013

The location of the hotel is great with easy access to Barcelona's main attractions (the Camp Nou - FC Barcelona’s ground - is just 35 minutes walk away for example). The central point for nearly everything, Plaza Espana, is a short distance away (as is the National Art Museum of Catalanya and Montjuic/Olympic Park) and the Sants metro station is even closer. The rooms are small but are extremely clean, modern and comfortable. The hotel has free Wi-Fi but has no bar. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. There’s several small bars, restaurants and shops near by. The neighbourhood is safe and we were very comfortable walking around at any time of the day. Overall, a fabulous place to stay and thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (231)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 231 reviews

Reviewed May 3, 2013

I spent 3 nights at the Sercotel Abbot over the Easter Weekend in late March. The main reason I chose it was because of price and location. Flying in the late afternoon, you can catch a train straight from the airport to the Sants train station, so it is a very convenient loaction to arrive and leave Barcelona. The hotel is only a few blocks away.

While it is listed as a 4-star, this is mainly bacuse of the amenities offered within the hotel, rather than the condition of the hotel itself. While it has been updated, it doesn't feel as luxurious as one might expect of a 4-star hotel. The rooms are a good size with the requisite flat screen TV, safety deposit box, bar fridge etc.The staff are helpful and friendly and the price is right.

However, unless you like to walk, places like Las Ramblas or Sagrada Familia are quite a hike, and most would likely take the Metro which is cheap anyway. There are a number of very decent restaurants in the area, and many seem to cater to the locals as much as tourists (which I like anyway).

One plus is that there is a branch of the La Peradeta seafood chain close to the Sants station. This is where there is fresh seafood on a bed of ice, and you select your fish, calamari or shrimp, whereupon it is weighed, and prepared the way you like it (grilled, fried etc.). A bit pricey but delicious!

When I go back to Barcelona, I would definitely consider a return stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Therichpeasant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

This hotel is just outside of the city center which makes the room rate much more reasonable. However, it is only a 5 minute walk from one of the bigger train/metro stations in the city, Sants Estacio, which makes it a prime location!. The RENFE train from the airport takes about a half hour to reach this station and leaves every half hour. The Metro from Sants leaves every few minutes and takes you to the heart of the city (and anywhere else) in minutes.

The hotel is small, as are the rooms and elevators, but is very comparible to most other hotels in Europe. The lobby was very well decorated and fashionable. The staff was accommodating and pleasant enough. The room was very tidy and clean with plenty of space for luggage and to spread out. Our room faced Avinguda Roma and some traffic noise could be heard through the large window, but it wasn't bad in my opinion. As I have found is common in Europe, the beds were a bit harder than I prefer. A thin sheet is all that is given for a blanket, but upon request, much thicker comforters are available.

The bathroom was nice and the shower was great! Excellent water pressure and room enough for two people.

Nearby are plenty of restaurants, cafes, and bars. Also within a 20 minute or so walk is a mall (Arena), Plaza Espanya, The National Art Museum of Catalanya, and Montjuic/Olympic park.

The neighborhood was safe and we felt very comfortable walking around, even at night. We were pleased with our stay and would glady do so again!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tjhess74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Is convenient to the airport, because the сentral train station Barcelona Sants is located nearby. The metro station is also close, it facilitates travel around the city. In hotel everything was rather neat, our room was the average size, quite cozy. The friendly staff, the reception is open around the clock. The noise insulation in the rooms was not good enough, early in the morning we woke up to the sound working of the maids. The breakfast was insufficiently a varied and hearty, therefore we were compelled to have breakfast again in any other cafe.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wind41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here at the beginning of July for a long weekend in Barcelona. The hotel is really close to the Estacio Sants station which was fantastic for getting to and from the Airport and also the Metro line took you down to the Port and up La Rambla which was perfect for us.

First impressions were good, the staff were really helpful, friendly and spoke good English. There are 2 lifts though I found them somewhat unnerving as they were really small and the recommended max people was 3! The rooms, despite a bit of disrepair, are large by European standards and comfortable, though the bathroom was very small. Unfortunately the Air Con wasn't amazing but it did cool the room slightly.

The breakfast was very nice, a good selection of meats and cheeses, bacon, eggs, fruit, yoghurt, bread products, tea and coffee. Although we had a drink and tapa that we could have claimed in the evening, we didn't take this up as we were exploring Barcelona!

Overall, I would recommend the hotel if you were travelling to Barcelona on a budget, if I returned to Barcelona on a shoe-string, I would stay here again!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Degilda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

We stayed at the sercotel abbott in July and found it to be very convenient. The hotel is located within a 5 minute walk from the Barcelona sants railway station which we used to connect to from the airport upon arrival, the downtown core including las ramblas, sagrada familia, montejuc and gaudi park (had to take a small bus to get to the gaudi park after training to the Vallcara station. The hotel rooms are a good size for Europe, room to put our suitcase down and still walk around. The bathroom was very small but that wasn't a problem for us. We also had the breakfast included for a coulpe days and it was quite complete. Coffee, breads, yogurt, fruit, meats, cheese, scrambled eggs, bacon and cereal. There is also a grocery store across the street from the hotel which was great for buying water and fruit as I would not recommend eating at the restaurant/ hotel bar. We had a package with welcome wine and a tapa from the bar and the "tapa" was a small bowl of chips. Overall howeverl I would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tkosk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

The location of this hotel is great for easy access to Barcelona's main attractions. Plaza Espana is a short walk and the Sants train station is even closer.From Sants, you can catch the Metro to most of Barcelona's most popular tourist attractions.

The rooms are small and lack any real "charm" but they are clean and comfortable.The hotel offers free wi-fi and our booking included free breakfast and a glass of wine with a tapa. The breakfast was just OK. If you have to pay extra ,I would suggest eating breakfast at one of nearby cafes.

The staff were friendly and helpful.

Overall, I think this is good option if you are on a budget and plan on spending most of your time soaking up all that Barcelona has to offer.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AtlanticC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Hotel Acta City47
#232 of 516 in Barcelona
792 reviews
Eixample
H10 Itaca Hotel
H10 Itaca Hotel
#183 of 516 in Barcelona
1,299 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Exe AB Viladomat
Hotel Exe AB Viladomat
#320 of 516 in Barcelona
758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Catalonia Roma
Catalonia Roma
#311 of 516 in Barcelona
366 reviews
Abba Sants Hotel
#342 of 516 in Barcelona
603 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Zenit Borrell
Hotel Zenit Borrell
#325 of 516 in Barcelona
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Abbot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Abbot

Address: Avenida de Roma 23, 08029 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#221 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $66 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Abbot 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Abbot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sercotel Abbot Hotel Barcelona
Comfort Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Abbot Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing