We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not stunning, but sturdy, reliable hotel in ideal location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Regencia Colon Hotel
Ranked #197 of 512 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago IL
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Not stunning, but sturdy, reliable hotel in ideal location”
Reviewed July 13, 2014

We spent five nights here and found it terrific. Being close to the Cathdral also meant being close to Catalan music, dancing and acrobatics (traditional pyramid-making by experienced locals.) And close the the Travel Info bureau with a very capable and energetic staffer (Mark, I think.) and Starbucks, a health food store with great provisions, a bakery, chemist, and other necessities. About a block to the Metro and one block to the Music Theatre. quick walk to Las Ramblas. quiet at night, even though close to the action. Safe, quiet, clean, affordable. Helpful staff. Brunch was half the price of other places and more workaday but just fine. Eggs, cereals, fruit, meat, cheese. Just less lavish and wasteful. 30 minutes to the airport.

Room Tip: we were on the corner nearest the cathedral and it was fine. Not a great view from the first floor b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AnneMcD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

808 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    426
    87
    29
    7
See reviews for
189
346
24
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Williston, Vermont
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2014

David and Pietro at the front desk were extremely helpful. Pietro welcomed us upon arrival with many helpful suggestions, and when we decided to stay in Barcelona longer, David helped us make necessary arrangements. Our rooms were very clean and spacious, and the location was perfect. We will be back!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Phil N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014

My mother and I stayed at this hotel recently and absolutely loved it.
The room was very clean and comfortable. The front desk staff were all very friendly and helpful. And the location really made this place an incredible value. While we were close to everything, we were also on a quiet street, which was nice. We had an amazing view of the Barcelona Cathedral from our window. And we were just a short walk from Plaza Catalunya, which was the best location for all of the buses (from day trips to both the blue or red line of the hop-on/hop-off bus tours).

Also, the free wi-fi is great. Every day when we returned to the hotel, as soon as we walked through the front doors, I would hear the notifications start buzzing on my phone! And ever day, we remarked on what a great find this hotel was. Seriously. It is definitely a great deal, as it was less expensive than other nearby hotels.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LaCasper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Right on the city centre and next to Barcelona Cathedral. Nice easy walk to bus station, train station, Sagrada Familia, beach, Las Ramblas, and everything else. We booked directly with the hotel which was cheaper than booking.com and were lucky to get "Late booking rate" which is available for advance booking less than 7 days of checking, and it cost only EUR 76.50 including VAT.
Room was big, brilliant, tastefully decorated, spotlessly clean and had all the small things which you would ever need. We had a view of the Cathedral from the window. 32-inch LCD TV in the room to catch-up with world cup football matches as well as international channels.
Definitely recommend and we will be back.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suds123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2014

Hotel is in the very touristy part of town, which we prefer to avoid. That said, it was safe and easy to see many attractions. The rooms were clean and efficient though nothing fancy. Ours was very large. The front desk staff was very helpful and spoke english well. Next time I would stay closer to The Sagrada Família.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank denverchic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portage, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

This is a really good hotel! It's comfy and very clean!! It's not 5 star, but good enough to have a good sleep. The employees are very nice!! The hotel is centrally located!!! We were very happy and pleased with the choice! For the next time in Barcelona, this hotel gonna be our choice!!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

We really liked this hotel in Barcelona. It was in the Gothic quarter near most of the tourist sites we wanted to visit.

The room was very clean, but it was a little smaller than expected. But most likely for the age and location thats pretty typical.

The hotel was well priced. The only thing that was odd is that we had to lock the door manually with a key before leaving and then drop off the key at the hotel desk. A little out dated, but we were fine with it.

We did not really use any of the hotel amenities, but we were overall pleased with the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank itguy79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Colon Hotel
Colon Hotel
#76 of 512 in Barcelona
1,932 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Denit Barcelona
Hotel Denit Barcelona
#160 of 512 in Barcelona
1,470 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Nouvel Hotel
Nouvel Hotel
#220 of 512 in Barcelona
1,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
H10 Raco Del Pi
H10 Raco Del Pi
#112 of 512 in Barcelona
982 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
NH Barcelona Barri Gotic
NH Barcelona Barri Gotic
#109 of 512 in Barcelona
726 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Portal de l'Angel
Catalonia Portal de l'Angel
#65 of 512 in Barcelona
1,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regencia Colon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regencia Colon Hotel

Property: Regencia Colon Hotel
Address: 13-17 Sagristans, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#106 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#159 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Regencia Colon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Regencia Colon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regencia Colon Barcelona
Hotel Regencia Colon Barcelona
Regencia Colon Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing