We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location to experience Barcelona”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Regencia Colon Hotel
Ranked #194 of 521 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
London, Canada
Level Contributor
119 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Great location to experience Barcelona”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

We recently stayed for three nights at the Regencia Colon prior to going on a cruise . Our stay was very pleasant , the staff was courteous and helpful , the room was clean and the price very reasonable for being in the heart of the city .
The location is easy to reach from the airport or the train station either by the airport shuttle , metro or a reasonable cab ride . Within walking distance are some beautiful areas as the Ramblas , Cathedrale , Placa Catalunya , there are lots of restaurants and transportation to all the main sights in Barcelona is within walking distance .
Good place to stay before or after a cruise to experience Barcelona .

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anthony F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

786 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    418
    84
    28
    7
See reviews for
177
340
22
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

We recently spent four nights at this hotel during a trip to Barcelona. The location is very good , on a quiet street in the old city (Barri Gothic)steps from the Cathedral. It is not terribly close to a metro stop, but several are within easy walking distance. It is an easy walk to the airport bus.

The lobby is up a few steps, but unless one is handicapped it is not a struggle. Once in the lobby there is a lift to the rooms. The staff was courteous and efficient and check-in was a breeze.
The room was very good for a three star. It was quite spacious and had a lot of storage, so unpacking was the thing to do as closet and drawer space was plentiful. The room was clean and well kept .Our room had a good view of the Cathedral over the roof of the building in front of us. The room was quiet at night.

The bed was comfortable, and the bathroom had a tub/shower and was plenty large enough.

We can't comment on the breakfast as we did not have it included in the room rate. There are plenty of bars for breakfast close by and there are a lot of restaurants in the area around the hotel.

We would certainly happily stay here again and recommend this hotel for those looking for good value, a very nice and comfortable room , and a convenient location.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank gogiandtom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

No swimming pool !#!! No exercise room !!@#!!. Steep stairs take you to the entrance and they would not help with the luggage. A good place to go if you suffer from jet lag. Close to the hop-on, hop-off bus. Church and eating. I would not recommend it for seniors or handicap, because of the steep steps and lack of customer service.

Room Tip: Rooms are clean and neat. Very good for rest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SDKimba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gresham, Oregon
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

Excellent location across plaza from the Barcelona Cathedral in Barri Gothic area. Many excellent restaurants and stores nearby. It is expensive without Brunch. The bar has extremely slow service and the food is not good. Hotel provided instructions and discounts for the on/off buses, which is great way to see city. Some of our friends stayed at the smaller Colon Hotel
next door and paid much less. The rooms are smaller but everything else is same.

Room Tip: There was 10 people in our group and three of the couples asked to have rooms changed and ended up w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 234Jerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

Excellent location near Cathedral in Barri Gothic. On quieter street so even street facing room was not really noisy as i feared from some other reviews. Pleasant and helpful staff. Not luxury, but certainly fine, especially since i didn't go to Barcelona to spend time in my hotel room other than to sleep. Good value overall. Would stay here again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank sharon12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

It's rated as a 3 start hotel but I'd give it a 2 at most. Stayed 1 night there and other than having a good location, it was a terrible experience. It was definitely not worth the high price I paid. The room was small, old, dirty, and the bed sheets smelled like vinegar! I don't know if they were spraying the room or bed with something but It was gross. The bathroom was also in horrible condition. The sink and bathtub did not drain properly and water would accumulate quickly. Just plain, old nasty. I would not recommend this place.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank smileyx25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trevor-wa
Level Contributor
186 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

in Europe staff gets payed very well for basic jobs so they don't have to give service, the front desk staff at this hotel does and goes above and beyond, our second stay here and the perfect location , we'll stay here the third time.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trevor-wa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Denit Barcelona
Hotel Denit Barcelona
#138 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,446 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Nouvel Hotel
Nouvel Hotel
#234 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 957 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
H10 Raco Del Pi
H10 Raco Del Pi
#108 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hesperia Barri Gotic
Hesperia Barri Gotic
#112 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Suizo
Hotel Suizo
#257 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Colon Hotel
Colon Hotel
#78 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regencia Colon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regencia Colon Hotel

Property: Regencia Colon Hotel
Address: 13-17 Sagristans, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#106 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#159 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Regencia Colon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Regencia Colon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regencia Colon Barcelona
Hotel Regencia Colon Barcelona
Regencia Colon Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing