We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Remarkable Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Melia Barcelona Sarria
Ranked #133 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Atlanta,Ga.
Level Contributor
135 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Remarkable Service”
Reviewed August 18, 2010

My husband and I traveled to Barcelona, Spain last month on a combination business/leisure trip. My Husband had business meetings, We were also celebrating our wedding anniversary. The Melia Barcelona is a modern hotel. Although it is not directly downtown, it is still very conveniently located. The local bus runs apx. every 10 minutes and is only a short walk from the hotel.

When we arrived, we found that the acommodations that we thought we had booked were not availble. Alexis Mazorra, the Guest Experience Manager, went above and beyond what he needed to do to make our stay a pleasant one .Because of Mr. Mazorra, we would not consider staying anywhere else in Barcelona on our next trip.

The room was very nice with a very comfortable bed. Yes, the shower did leak a bit. The bathroom layout was so cool though that we didn't care!!! The multiple shower nozzles were also fun!

We've stayed at many very nice hotels in Europe. I can tell you that the breakfast buffet at the Melia is as good as it gets. Absolutely wonderful!! There is certainly something for every taste. It was a big treat to linger over a glass of champagne before starting our day.

I can wholeheartedly recommend this hotel. Thank you Melia Barcelona for a job well done!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norma_Atlanta_Ga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,081
    770
    225
    106
    56
See reviews for
340
917
84
576
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2010

Awesome hotel in rather upscale part of Barcelona with mostly residential building all around. All of the sights are within 10-15 mins taxi ride of the hotel.
Excellent service, friendly staff (as friendly as they can get for a city that does not usually tip much). Make sure to buy into their LEVEL service - for 35 eu extra you will enjoy a great breakfast, spa/pool entry, snack room throughout the day which serves variety of tapas, beers and hard liquors. Rooms are small but very clean, didn't really expect anything else from European hotels. Nice updated bathrooms with good showers, shower doors are a bit tricky, water may overflow but you will learn to work them rather quickly. Overall this is a great alternative if you wish to escape from city noise without spending a fortune.
You will see people writing about a strip club adjacent to the hotel. That's true, but I didn't even notice it until the last day of our stay, rather quite place with not many visitors, in my opinion it was not a distraction.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rrazzorr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bamberg, Germany
Level Contributor
77 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2010

This hotel was just ok and I would definately make a different choice for my next visit. The staff was just above average. I didn't find them overly friendly but they were not rude either. I booked my hotel using Expedia and did not have any problems with check in. The first room I was assigned had not been cleaned yet so they had to assign me to a different room. The rooms are small but they were adequate. No coffee maker or iron and ironing board. The rooms had a tub (with jets) and separate shower. The shower only has a overhead spout. The spout on the wall could only be used for rinsing since it would not stay erect. The shower leaked water all over the floor everytime you used it. There was also mold around the shower (like it had been caulked to stop the leak). The sink was nice. The bathroom has no electrical outlets (for curling/flat ironing hair) luckily I travel with a extension cord which I had to run from the bedroom. They provide you no map of the city or how to get to to the metro, but I figured it out. The metro is not too far (Hospital Clinic stop). You have to go out the front of the hotel turn left (gas station turn right and about 3 blocks down. Not a very scenic route and be prepared for lots of graffiti. It is everywhere. The opposite direction will take you to AV Diagonal and that stretch has quite a few boutiques and a mall. I found the area surrounding the hotel quite loud I stayed on the 6th floor). Ambulances, sirens, and people beeping their horns at all hours of the night. Try to stay up higher if you choose to stay here. The hotel offers breakfast for 23 Euros per person and the spa is 15 Euro but they do offer a deal for 40 Euro per room for breakfast and the spa (which I had to ask about because I wasn't told but I did read about it in a Trip Advisor review). The hotel offers Free internet which was a plus, but I also had to ask for user ID and password after reading about it in the hotel guide. They offer 12 hours. The breakfast buffet is great!! Alot to choose from. I would not stay in this hotel again. For the cost, I definately would not consider it a 5 star hotel. And I wasn't even thanked when I checked out.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OKlawdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
Reviewed July 2, 2010

Poor hygiene and excessive dust in the rooms.
Hotel very impersonal.
Located away from tourist centers.
Do not recommend.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fino51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2010

Friendly atmosphere, very modern, quick service, quiet and well equipped rooms. Expensive to eat in specially breakfast. We would definetly return.

Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank YolandaH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2010

everything was great except two things...tiny rooms and the location away from everything ....
the staff were very warm and helpful......

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deepikagoyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2010

Spent 3 nights in this 'trendy' hotel. Impressed by the lobby and the bar, the room was not so impressive. Exquisite view, but lots of details to be improved in the room. A/C was not functioning properly and we asked twice for a review of the system. Rooms quite small. Pool bar staff was quite unprofessional.
Parking space is overpriced (25 euros per day...incl. clients !!).Gym is quite small.
Personnel is overall not professional enough...not responsive and not really pleasant.
Not worth 5* !!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Junovan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Poblenou
Melia Barcelona Sky
Melia Barcelona Sky
#190 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,357 reviews
NH Collection Barcelona Tower
#122 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,406 reviews
Poblenou
The Level at Melia Barcelona Sky
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Les Corts
Fairmont Rey Juan Carlos I
Fairmont Rey Juan Carlos I
#136 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
Eixample
NH Collection Barcelona Gran Hotel Calderon
Les Corts
NH Collection Constanza
NH Collection Constanza
#77 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Barcelona Sarria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Barcelona Sarria

Property: Melia Barcelona Sarria
Address: Avenida de Sarria 50, 08029 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#18 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#50 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#63 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#84 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#98 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Barcelona Sarria 5*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The fully renovated Melia Barcelona Sarria is a luxury city hotel with a strategic location in the financial, cultural and commercial heart of the city of Barcelona. Only a few minutes from Avenida Diagonal, the Paseo de Gracia and the Football Club Barcelona Camp Nou Stadium, it is the perfect choice both for business and leisure travellers. Near the stops for the tourist bus, the hotel is also located in one of the city’s main cultural and entertainment districts. Its privileged location in center city Barcelona allows guests rapid access by public transportation or a peaceful stroll to the city's main touristic and cultural points of interest; and also outstanding shopping and commercial areas of the City of Gaudi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Melia Barcelona Sarria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Barcelona Hotel Barcelona
Sol Melia Barcelona
Barcelona Sol Melia
Melia Barcelona Sarria Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing