We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Melia Barcelona Sarria
Ranked #130 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed June 28, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for one night and opted for The Level experience. The staff were excellent and always willing to help. The Level lounge has a good selection of drinks and snacks. The hotel has a spa with free access if you are a level customer. We went in once and it was empty. It was very nice but the swimming pool was smaller than expected and not really big enough for a good swim.

Having stayed in Melia hotels before I expected a little more from the hotel room. The room was nice but I think it was becoming a little dated and could have done with a fresh coat of paint or for someone to rub the marks off the walls. It didn't really have the wow factor but the bed was comfortable and the bathroom was clean and spacious. I particularly like the speaker for the TV in the bathroom. We also had a great view of the city.

The hotel is a little far out from the city centre but we managed to walk there and then got the metro back. The staff were good at providing us with a map and informing us which bus to take or which metro to use and where to change.

I would definitely recommend this hotel. The staff are exceptional and the hotel is overall very good.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pickles2508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTEL_MELIABARCELONA, Guest Experience Assistant at Melia Barcelona Sarria, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
We appreciate that you have shared your Experience with us.
We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay in our Hotel, and moreover when is because of one of our most important points, Our Team.

We would like to thank your for helping us in order to improve our facilities, we have informed our Maintenance Department for solving all these issues.

Best Regards,

Jorge Robles
Guest Experience Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,099
    784
    227
    107
    57
See reviews for
344
933
85
587
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 27, 2014 via mobile

Stayed almost a week there on biz. Front desk staff was friendly and helpful. I saw many trainees there during my stay. Not all staff spoke good English.

Bar and restaurant was cosy. Food quality was above average but menus limited. Service here spot on. Also served a wide spread during bfast.

Bedroom was small but cosy. Aircon wallk controls were broken. Bathroom was very big for European stds with separated show and bath. My shower room water out flow was very slow so if one took more than 3 mins to shower the place was flooded.

Rooms dont not get made unless u put the sign up on the door. I learnt this the hard way coming back to a wet bathroom on the first day. (due to the shower room)

They had a mini spa in which was OK std. There were limited documentation on the Spa use and limited assistance unless u wanted a massage.

There was also a gym in which if there was more than 3 persons it was over crowded. Equipment limited too.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank contact b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTEL_MELIABARCELONA, Guest Experience Assistant at Melia Barcelona Sarria, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thank you very much for sharing your experience through Trip Advisor.

We have informed our Housekeeping and Wellness Team in order to improve the services that you have pointed.

Thank you very much for helping us to improve, We would like you to visit us again in order to give you our best service.

Best Regards,

Jorge Robles
Guest Experience Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
91 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2014

For an urban vacation you get just what you need.
spacious, updated and clean rooms, good service, great breakfast with a wide selection.
in a taxi drive of 10 minutes you get to most of the attractions.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cocogelado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTEL_MELIABARCELONA, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Barcelona Sarria, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Google Translation
Le agradecemos que haya publicado sus comentarios en Trip Advisor, y así hacernos llegar su valoración.

Es un placer saber que ha disfrutado de su estancia junto a nosotros.

Atentamente,

Alexis MAzorra
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
124 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2014

Stayed 2 nights as part of a tour group. Excellent quality including room and breakfast. Large room with good black out curtains, comfortable bed and clean modern bathroom. Only real drawback was distance from city centre although the hop on hop off bus route is only 5 minutes walk and this will get you circuitously into the centre if you are not in a hurry. Hotel is on a fairly busy road but rooms were quiet - we faced the street.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Warooka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTEL_MELIABARCELONA, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Barcelona Sarria, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
The Meliá Barcelona Sarrià Team appreciate that you have shared your Experience in our hotel with the travellers of Trip Advisor.
We are delighted to know that, although the location was not the best for your needs, you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Best Regards,

Alexis Mazorra
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2014

We booked the Melia Sarria for a 5 day 4 night stay and were very happy with the accommodation. The room was a good size, modern and comfortable. The bathroom was particularly good with a full size bath and an excellent shower with an overhead shower head and 6 power nozzles to the front. We did not eat at the hotel (though the food offer looked good), preferring to eat out and about. For breakfast we walked down Sarria (away from Aveniguda Diagonal) and ate at a small shop (part of the Garnier chain). The breads & pizzas etc were freshly baked on the premises and were all excellent. Amazing quality and breakfast for 2 for around 7 Euros. From the hotel it is possible to walk down Aveniguda Diagonal to the top of the Rambla or you can walk to Hospital clinic on blue L5 (Metro) and take one stop to Diagonal. We bought a 5 day Card, which covers Metro, Bus and Tram at the tourist desk at the Airport (31.50 Euros). With this you can travel from the Airport to Placa Espanya on the Bus 46 or on the train from Terminal 2 (shuttle Bus from T1) to Sants Estacio or Passeig de Gracia.
Using the travel card to get around Barcelona is easy and at 6 Euros a day great value. We would definitely recommend Barcelona for a break & the Melia as somewhere to stay.

Room Tip: Traffic noise means the higher rooms are better. Ours on the 9th floor was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTEL_MELIABARCELONA, Guest Experience Assistant at Melia Barcelona Sarria, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
We appreciate that you have shared these advices with the Trip Advisor Community. It is a reward for us to know that you have had a nice stay with us.

We hope to welcome you soon in Barcelona

Jorge Robles
Guest Experience Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 24, 2014

Great hotel, Turk bath was not functioning but overall, it was great to have a nice hotel to come back to, with excellent service after a day walking around in the city.

Staff was very helpfull, thumbs up! Great recommendations for restaurants, and advice for when travelling around in the city.

swimming pool is not in fact a swimming pool but more of a relaxation area.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank azim q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTEL_MELIABARCELONA, Guest Experience Assistant at Melia Barcelona Sarria, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
We really appreciate that you have shared your stay with us. We are sorry for the inconveniences caused by the problem with the turkish bath.

We are delighted to know that you want to come back, moreover after this incident.

Thank you very much

Jorge Robles
Guest Experience Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Nz
Level Contributor
78 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2014

We enjoyed four nights here in May. The first two nights we were on our own, the second two as part of an Insight Vacations tour. Comfortable beds, great bathroom with bath and shower. Staff very pleasant and helpful. Breakfasts were excellent. Even though not exactly 'central' it was only a quick taxi ride to most places of interest. We did, however, enjoy exploring the local area on foot and visiting local bars and restaurants. A short walk to great shopping at L'illa Diagonal. Would stay here again if we were lucky enough to pay another visit to beautiful Barcelona.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Helpful?
1 Thank jandm63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTEL_MELIABARCELONA, Guest Experience Assistant at Melia Barcelona Sarria, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
we really appreciate that you have shared your Experience with us, we are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel in a local neighbourhood.

We are looking forward to welcoming you soon,

Good Luck!

Kind Regards,

Jorge Robles
Guest Experience Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Poblenou
The Level at Melia Barcelona Sky
Poblenou
Melia Barcelona Sky
Melia Barcelona Sky
#190 of 513 in Barcelona
2,403 reviews
NH Collection Barcelona Tower
#121 of 513 in Barcelona
2,440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Les Corts
Fairmont Rey Juan Carlos I
Fairmont Rey Juan Carlos I
#133 of 513 in Barcelona
732 reviews
Les Corts
NH Collection Constanza
NH Collection Constanza
#80 of 513 in Barcelona
1,865 reviews
Eurostars Grand Marina Hotel
#186 of 513 in Barcelona
2,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Barcelona Sarria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Barcelona Sarria

Property: Melia Barcelona Sarria
Address: Avenida de Sarria 50, 08029 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#18 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#50 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#63 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#84 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#96 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Barcelona Sarria 5*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The fully renovated Melia Barcelona Sarria is a luxury city hotel with a strategic location in the financial, cultural and commercial heart of the city of Barcelona. Only a few minutes from Avenida Diagonal, the Paseo de Gracia and the Football Club Barcelona Camp Nou Stadium, it is the perfect choice both for business and leisure travellers. Near the stops for the tourist bus, the hotel is also located in one of the city’s main cultural and entertainment districts. Its privileged location in center city Barcelona allows guests rapid access by public transportation or a peaceful stroll to the city's main touristic and cultural points of interest; and also outstanding shopping and commercial areas of the City of Gaudi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Prodigios Interactivos SA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Melia Barcelona Sarria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Barcelona Hotel Barcelona
Sol Melia Barcelona
Barcelona Sol Melia
Melia Barcelona Sarria Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing