We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Melia Barcelona Sarria
Ranked #135 of 512 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
1 review
“Lovely Hotel”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights in late August. The hotel reception and bar were absolutely stunning and our room, whilst small, was also very nice. The bathroom area was seperate from the sleeping area which I liked and the room was very well equipt. We never ate in the hotel, nor used the spa so we cant comment on those areas although 20 Euros per person per day to use the spa facility was steep. For me, whilst it was a lovely hotel I feel for a short break in Barcelona as a first time tourist, it was just too far out of the attractions. The metro startion is a fair distance away and the busses arent always reliable. For a business traveller, this hotel would be perfect. For a tourist, its not ideal.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTEL_MELIABARCELONA, Guest Experience Assistant at Melia Barcelona Sarria, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you very much for taking your time in order to write your comments, we really appreciate your evaluation.

We regret if you have found something not at the level of your expectations, we would like you to visit us again for giving us the opportunity to welcome you to the real Melia Experience.


Jorge Robles

Guest Experience Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,108
    794
    228
    109
    59
See reviews for
347
938
86
600
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

The hotel is very nice and so was the staff. It may be a little overpriced though; my bedroom was nice and clean, but way too small - there was barely enough room for my suitcases, considering that my bed occupied 90% of the bedroom. I'm quite sure that they put me in such a small room because the hotel was full and I was by myself - I wouldn't believe that most rooms in such a famous and expensive hotel are that small. The location is okay - cabs in Barcelona are not expensive, but if you're planning on using public transportation that may not be the best choice since the closest metro stop is not that close. It's a little far from the main touristic areas of the city and from the beach as well, but at least there's a big avenue close to it where you can go shopping and eating.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marcelachg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTEL_MELIABARCELONA, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Barcelona Sarria, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
We would like to yhnak you for having taken some of your valuable time to public your comments.

We would like to apologize if your stay has not been as you had expected.

We would like you to visit us again and give us the opportunity to offer you the best stay and make you feel like at home.
Please do not hesitate to contact us for everything you might need.

Kind Regards,

Alexis Mazorra
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donaueschingen, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

The Hotel Melia Sarria is a nice Hotel Close to Avenida Diagonal. City Center is some 30 minutes walking, well connected with Bus or Taxi no Metro at walking distance.
Staff have been very friendly, Lobby is large and very representative good for relax or some short Meeting.
The Restaurant has a very nice atmosphere, Food is delicious and Prices are fine for a 5 star.
Rooms are average, not very large well equipped probably over fit with furniture, desk, Sofa etc.
I´ve been surprised by the extra Charge to Access swimmingpool span and gym, with few hours available I´d just like to enjoy this Services for a short time without extra fee however all in all a good Level Hotel probably not a 5 star luxury Hotel but very nice.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlo U U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTEL_MELIABARCELONA, Guest Experience Assistant at Melia Barcelona Sarria, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
First of all we would like to thank you for having chosen Meliá Barcelona Sarrià and also for having taken some of your valuable time to send us your comments.

We really appreciate your positive comments and we will be pleased to welcome you in your next visit to Barcelone.


Kind Regards,

Jorge Robles
Guest Experience Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Beautiful hotel with a very professional staff and beautiful view to city. Our room was very big with a very big and comfortable bed. Very quite. Highly recommend for everybody! It cost every spend euro! And it is really five stars rate!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bearsik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTEL_MELIABARCELONA, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Barcelona Sarria, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you very much for your time reviewing your stay with us in Meliá Barcelona Sarrià with so positive comments about it.

We really appreciate your kind comments regarding the services and attention provided by our hotel staff.We sincerely hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in a future occasion.

Kind regards

Alexis Mazorra
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

I really want to give this hotel a better review. The staff were friendly and helpful, the room was clean and comfy and the breakfasts were absolutely delicious. I can also honestly recommend upgrading to The Level for the high quality lounge, drinks (booze!) and snacks.

However, I had two major issues - the Hotel is in a lovely suburb, but a suburb which is a loooooong way from the centre and the beach. We ended up spending a fair amount of money on late night Taxis to get back and getting very toned, if achey legs from all the walking. Also, the bathrooms aren't that private, even though there are two doors, they're both lightly frosted glass and not at all soundproof. I also think the shower needs an upgrade - mine was still fairly powerful, but not all of the settings worked well.

Oh and try and avoid checking out at the same time as an entire cruise ship filled with disorganised people. Not the Melia's fault, but it might be sensible to check the day before if there are going to be any mass check outs when you need to head for the airport.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a "Level" Room - Anything over 15th Floor. Worth it for the use of the Lounge a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTEL_MELIABARCELONA, Guest Experience Assistant at Melia Barcelona Sarria, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
First of all we would like to thank you for having chosen Meliá Barcelona and also for having taken some of your valuable time to send us your comments.

We would like to apologize for all inconveniences you have suffered in our hotel.

We would like you would visit us again and give us the opportunity to offer you The Excellence of our service and make you feel like at home, please do not hesitate to contact us for everything you might need.

Kind Regards,

Jorge Robles
Guest Experience Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Let me start off by saying this Hotel is very nice. There just happen to be a few problems. Problem number one, check in takes too long. After a long day of traveling you want to spend time in bed rather than standing at the front desk waiting to be checked in.

You might be very confused with the room as there are many sliding doors. The second big problem no views. I've been to this hotel 3 times and each time no views.

The upside is that it's near good restaurants. Just 5-10 minutes walk from the hotel. I would recommend eating at a restaurant called Madarin.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Ave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTEL_MELIABARCELONA, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Barcelona Sarria, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
We appreciate so much your time and your comments about our Hotel Melià Barcelona Sarrià. It is a pleasure for us that you have valued our work so positive.

We would like to apologize for all inconveniences you have suffered in our hotel.

We would like you would visit us again and give us the opportunity to offer you The Excellence of our service and make you feel like at home, please do not hesitate to contact us for everything you might need.

Kind Regards

Alexis Mazorra
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

The Hotel Melia Sarria makes a good impression as you step in the Lobby. On one side is the Bar and coffee shop. While the other side is the front desk, with a few sofas to sit and relax. The lobby lounge is big, comfortable and relaxing. Lots of tourists and group tours stay here. The location is between city centre and airport. And the main artery, the Diagonal is only 100 metres from the Hotel. The Hotel serves a sumptuous breakfast on the first floor, American and international. the rooms are fairly big, and the bathroom is very comfortable with a Cubicle as well as a bathtub. When you use the Bath Cubicle, the water does tend to run off out of the cubicle, so you got to be careful not to slip. There were no bathrobes provided in the room. No tea kettles in room, but for an extra they do provide tea/coffee kettle. The windows do not open completely but a little slantedly. The TV channels are not many, mostly sports and news in different European languages. All in all the experience is good and satisfactory. the staff is polite and friendly. Unfortunately i'd like to caution people about their articles in the Lobby. It can diappear if you are not alert. it happened to us that our new and quaint boutique umbrella disappeared in the lobby and till date even with cameras its untraceable.

Room Tip: higher the floor better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank p0ruse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Poblenou
Melia Barcelona Sky
Melia Barcelona Sky
#188 of 512 in Barcelona
2,443 reviews
Poblenou
The Level at Melia Barcelona Sky
NH Collection Barcelona Tower
#121 of 512 in Barcelona
2,478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Les Corts
Fairmont Rey Juan Carlos I
Fairmont Rey Juan Carlos I
#129 of 512 in Barcelona
775 reviews
Les Corts
NH Collection Constanza
NH Collection Constanza
#76 of 512 in Barcelona
1,890 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Claris
Hotel Claris
#64 of 512 in Barcelona
1,838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Barcelona Sarria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Barcelona Sarria

Property: Melia Barcelona Sarria
Address: Avenida de Sarria 50, 08029 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#20 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#50 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#63 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#84 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#100 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Barcelona Sarria 5*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The fully renovated Melia Barcelona Sarria is a luxury city hotel with a strategic location in the financial, cultural and commercial heart of the city of Barcelona. Only a few minutes from Avenida Diagonal, the Paseo de Gracia and the Football Club Barcelona Camp Nou Stadium, it is the perfect choice both for business and leisure travellers. Near the stops for the tourist bus, the hotel is also located in one of the city’s main cultural and entertainment districts. Its privileged location in center city Barcelona allows guests rapid access by public transportation or a peaceful stroll to the city's main touristic and cultural points of interest; and also outstanding shopping and commercial areas of the City of Gaudi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prodigios Interactivos SA, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Melia Barcelona Sarria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Barcelona Hotel Barcelona
Sol Melia Barcelona
Barcelona Sol Melia
Melia Barcelona Sarria Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing