We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantanstic Melia barcelona”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Melia Barcelona Sarria
Ranked #133 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Staten Island, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantanstic Melia barcelona”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Upon arrival,we were offered an upgrade to level service. Received an beautiful king sized room on the 21 st floor overlooking the city. The evening concierge service, our wonderful server was Milos Cakarevic ,was delicious tapas and cocktails. The next morning great breakfast buffet. It was an excellent choice for pre cruise in Barcelona.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MAURA D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTEL_MELIABARCELONA, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Barcelona Sarria, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thank you very much for recognizing the Passion for service of our The Level Team , specially Milos Cakarevic, we will transmit your congratulations and with no doubt they will be motivated to continue working in the same way offering the best service

We hope to welcome you again at Meliá Barcelona, please do not hesitate to contact us, we are at your entire service

Kind regards,

Alexis Mazorra Sánchez

Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,083
    770
    226
    106
    56
See reviews for
340
918
84
578
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Staff in this Melia is more oriented to international guests than any other Melia I know in Spain.
Friendly welcome at reception, at breakfast. Breakfast place can be very busy making breakfast time less enjoyable. Wide variety of food offered, eggs cooked to order with a smile.
Swimming pool is small and you must wear a swim cap.
The 'level ' rooms gives tou access to free internet, personnalised service (check in/out), tapas and treats and is a nice addition to the stay.
Room are elegant, modern, spacious.
Melia is close to shopping area but far away from main touristic attractions.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Superket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTEL_MELIABARCELONA, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Barcelona Sarria, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
We have so much appreciation and gratitude for your opinion and also for having taken some of your time to reflect it on Tripadvisor.

We feel proud of our effort and your comment gives us strength to continue working in the same way.

We hope to welcome you again at Meliá Barcelona, please do not hesitate to contact us for anything you might need

Kind regards,

Alexis Mazorra Sánchez

Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meridian, Idaho
Level Contributor
110 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

These accommodations were provided by our cruise line for a pre cruise package. We weren't disappointed. The hotel is a modern building in a good location near restaurants and shops. The service was good. The lounge offered a nice selection of wine and beers. We had breakfast one morning and it is quite expensive, but the amount of food that's included is overwhelming. Splurge once.
Comfortable bed and larger bathroom. Very clean.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PenguinLuver23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTEL_MELIABARCELONA, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Barcelona Sarria, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind and positive comment and thank you very much too for having taken your time to send it.

We work hard to offer the best service and for the satisfaction of our guests and when this is a reality , it give us strength to continue working in the same way.

We hope to welcome you again at Meliá Barcelona, ease do not hesitate to contact us for anything you might need

Kind regards,

Alexis Mazorra Sánchez

Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

First time I've ever been to Barcelona that the weather was crappy. Cold and rainy. Busy hotel as a big tennis tournament was in town. Staff was very friendly and the food was pretty decent. The "Level" executive lounge was a nice addition to my stay. Had one of the suites and the bathroom was very nice. The shower was one of the best I've seen. Its a little bit of a hike to tourist attractions but in good weather it would be a nice casual walk.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Tarheeltraveldude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTEL_MELIABARCELONA, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Barcelona Sarria, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thank you so much for having taken your time to send us your opinions. We feel very proud that our effort to make you feel like at home came true

We hope to welcome you again, we remind you that all our staff keeps at your entire service

Kind regards,

Alexis Mazorra Sánchez

Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

This hotel has been around for a long time and it shows it. Rooms are not even comparable to a medium priced motel in the USA. Few amenities, no coffee maker, no refrigerator, no ice, unless you go down to the bar and pay for it. Breakfast is very expensive. For the price I am sure there are better hotels in Barcelona.

Room Tip: Don't get a room facing the back of the hotel with a view of some rather ugly apartments.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTEL_MELIABARCELONA, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Barcelona Sarria, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thank you very much for the time you have taken to send us your opinion. I would like to inform you that our establishment is a five star hotel, we are conscious that there are always aspects to improve but at at same time we are recognized for our service and guest satisfaction. We are sorry if you did not notice it during your stay.

We will be very pleased to welcome you again to make you feel like at home enjoying a memorable stay as our guests do in Meliá Barcelona

Kind regards,

Alexis Mazorra Sánchez

Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Got to stay at the Melia Barcelona, after beeing turned down at the Tryp Apolo!

Got a double Melia room, which had a separate washroom, toilet/bathtub/bidée.

The bed was a extra large king size, which was very firm (abit hard for my comfort though. So watch out if you don't like to hard beds).

There is no ice machine available at the Melia Barcelona, so if you want any ice for any drinks, you are out of luck.

Room had quite dark finishes, abit like a boutique hotel, not a lot of space available around the bed, but they managed to squeeze in a desk together with the minibar.

Since we were transfered from from Tryp Apolo with included breakfast, we also got this at Melia.(Otherwise it is from €17.90 if you pre-book, and other wise it is around €20.). The breakfast had a good selection of bread, hot dishes (loved the bacon) and some local sausages (which was more than loved by the wife).

The TV has mainly spanish tv channels, and this includes some movie channels, but for international channels, this was mostly limited to news.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LarsPson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTEL_MELIABARCELONA, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Barcelona Sarria, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
We appreciate the time you have taken to send us your positive which will be a reference for other guests who will be thinking of staying with us. We work with passion to create memorable experiences and offer the best service.

It will be our pleasure to welcome you again, please do not hesitate to contact us, we will be at your entire service.

Kind regards,

Alexis Mazorra Sánchez

Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guam
Level Contributor
153 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

We have stayed at two Melia properties- Costa Rica and Barcelona. Didn't care for the Costa Rica property. Decided to give Barcelona property a try since it is the hotel recommended by Holland America Cruise Line. Just not to my standards. Melia Barcelona is located away from the busy tourist area. The mall, money changer, Starbucks, and some restaurants are located within walking distance. The breakfast buffet is good with a good selection of breads, pastries, and cheeses. Breakfast is located on a different floor than the restaurant.

We went to eat dinner at the restaurant on the lobby level. There is a bar with what appears to be the restaurant area next to it. Doesn't look much like a restaurant though. We stood at the entry for 10 minutes and no one, not even an employee from the reception area, came to assist us. We ended up leaving the hotel to find a restaurant.

The room is dismal looking. It is small. The carpet and wall were stained. The color of the drapes and carpet makes the room look drab. The bathroom shower leaks a lot of water making it inconvenient to get ready in the morning. Bathroom situation is terrible.
The hotel claims to have a gym. It is small- really small with old equipment. There is a small pool as well.

People go on vacation to relax while taking in the sites. With all the walking around you want to return to a comfortable, cheery room. You won't find that at Melia Barcelona. We stayed out long just to avoid the room. Housekeeping did a good job cleaning. They should provide two floor towels when they see the first one and other towels are on the floor soaked in water. Better yet fix the problem.

Reception service is ok. Not particularly friendly or helpful but then again that seems to be the norm in Barcelona.

Room Tip: Look for another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Defenders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTEL_MELIABARCELONA, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Barcelona Sarria, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
We appreciate the time you have taken to send us your comments and suggestions which will certainly help us to provide a better service with a better product.

With all due respect, I would like to inform you that friendliness of the staff and willingness to help is what most compliment in our hotel, sorry if you did not have this feeling during your stay.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you in a future visit; we will do our best to make your stay a memorable one as we usually do with every guest who stays at Melia Barcelona.

Kind regards,

Alexis Mazorra Sánchez
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Poblenou
Melia Barcelona Sky
Melia Barcelona Sky
#189 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,359 reviews
NH Collection Barcelona Tower
#124 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,408 reviews
Poblenou
The Level at Melia Barcelona Sky
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Les Corts
Fairmont Rey Juan Carlos I
Fairmont Rey Juan Carlos I
#135 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
Eixample
NH Collection Barcelona Gran Hotel Calderon
Les Corts
NH Collection Constanza
NH Collection Constanza
#79 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Barcelona Sarria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Barcelona Sarria

Property: Melia Barcelona Sarria
Address: Avenida de Sarria 50, 08029 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#18 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#50 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#63 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#84 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#98 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Barcelona Sarria 5*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The fully renovated Melia Barcelona Sarria is a luxury city hotel with a strategic location in the financial, cultural and commercial heart of the city of Barcelona. Only a few minutes from Avenida Diagonal, the Paseo de Gracia and the Football Club Barcelona Camp Nou Stadium, it is the perfect choice both for business and leisure travellers. Near the stops for the tourist bus, the hotel is also located in one of the city’s main cultural and entertainment districts. Its privileged location in center city Barcelona allows guests rapid access by public transportation or a peaceful stroll to the city's main touristic and cultural points of interest; and also outstanding shopping and commercial areas of the City of Gaudi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Melia Barcelona Sarria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Barcelona Hotel Barcelona
Sol Melia Barcelona
Barcelona Sol Melia
Melia Barcelona Sarria Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing