We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“olay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Melia Barcelona Sarria
Ranked #154 of 515 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed November 24, 2012

well we went on anothe FAM trip, being a top agent in my area in the North of Lebanon in a selling hotels in one of the leading hotel supplier.

Barcelona, was the choice.
Melia Hotel is a 5 stars hotel , but more or less doesnot provide the services of a 5 stars.
it is very clean, very nice staff, not bad for a location, you need a type of transportation to reach the city centre.

i can give it a four stars. we liked it , i wont complain on anything.

the sales managers were very welcoming.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SUZAN888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTEL_MELIABARCELONA, Guest Experience Assistant at Melia Barcelona Sarria, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2012

We would like to thank for having taken your valuable time to send us your comments that no doubt will help us to improve our guest satisfaction and quality service.

We keep entire at your service and we hope to welcome you back in your next visit.

Kind regards,

Mar Pérez P-Hickman
Guest Experience Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,428)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

835 - 841 of 2,428 reviews

Reviewed November 22, 2012

I spent two nights there on a business trip. This is not my usual kind of hotel but the room, breakfast, service and the level treatment were all estremely good. Location is good. A mention for the concierges at the level, all really great; thanks!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mmerlot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTEL_MELIABARCELONA, Guest Experience Assistant at Melia Barcelona Sarria, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2012

We would like to thank for having taken your valuable time to send us your comments. We try to give the best service to our guest and create memorable experiences.

We hope you choose us for your next event and we keep entire at your service.

Kind regards,

Mar Pérez P-Hickman
Guest Experience Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

My daughter and I didn't quite arrive at the hotel in the usual way I assume, like a limousine, because we wanted to experience Barcelona as a traveller so, the last leg of our journey was walking and pulling our suitcase behind us! When we entered the revolving door to the hotel our welcome was met with a look of disdain. The receptionist didn't quite believe me when I said I had a room booked but still went on with the formalities. Suddenly, he realised I was booked on 'The Level' and before I knew it I had staff running around looking after my every whim! The Level comes with it's very own benefits and you are very much looked after and in particular Frank did make us feel welcome and at ease but there was one member of staff on The Level who looked down on us and why she had to make us feel uncomfortable I'll never know because she was after all just collecting our empty glasses.
My daughter and I had a fabulous time in Barcelona and luckily we are the type of people who could have a laugh and a giggle and not let other peoples judgement ruin our break, after all i could have complained about the hairdryer that didnt work or the lack of coffee in our room which was promised but i don't like to complain about such menial things...so please Melia Barcelona remember: Every guest should be treated like royalty not just the ones who 'look' like royalty.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Victoria187057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTEL_MELIABARCELONA, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Barcelona Sarria, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2012

First of all we would like to send our regards and thanks for having taken your valuable time to send us your comments. We also apologize on behalf of all the Melia Barcelona Team for for not beingable to provide the service you expected and we always offer .

We are sorry for not being able to reply you back before, we were on the investigation to clarify the issues that you highlighted to us.



We are most concerned to note of your comments on the manner displayed by our staff during your stay at the hotel and please accept our humble apologies for the unpleasant experience. We take this feedback very seriously as it is utmost important that we ensure our guests receive the best level of service at Melia Barcelona as we always do and at the same time we believe it is only through listening carefully to the comments and suggestions of our customers, that we will be able to achieve the constant improvement, guest satisfaction and quality service that we strive for.

We are agree with you that the smile is the first rule of the hospitality and we have briefed our team about this issue in order to improve our service in all departments and not to fail in this issue again by taking the appropriate corrective actions .With all our due respect, I can assure that this has been an isolated case, we think that a combination of misunderstandings made this unexpected experience to happen

We appreciate your comment congratulating the professionalism of Frank. I will be pleased to transmit your congratulations.



Although your experience was not up to your expectation, please we would really appreciate if you could give us the opportunity to welcome you again

Kind regards and we keep at your entire service,

Alexis Mazorra Sánchez
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

This renovated hotel has it all: good location, pleasant, quiet rooms with free WiFi, good breakfasts, helpful staff (who all speak English). The room design is innovative and effective. The bed was comfortable. There is a mini bar but no tea making facilities. Nearby there are shops and it's easy to reach the major touristic sites. There are also extensive conference facilities.
My shower had a fault (the handset sprayed all over when first switched on) but it was fixed within hours of my drawing it to the attention of the staff.
A late check out was no problem.

Room Tip: The LEVEL rooms are larger – request, but don't expect, an upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davcosLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTEL_MELIABARCELONA, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Barcelona Sarria, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2012

We would like to thank for having taken your valuable time to send us your comments that no doubt will help us to improve our guest satisfaction and quality service.

It will be our pleasure to welcome you again, and please do not hesitate to contact us for anything you might require.

Kind regards,

Alexis Mazorra
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

We made advance reservations to this hotel hoping that we made the right decision. It was a block off a main thoroughfare but it didn't make any difference. Never having been to Barcelona we were only two blocks from the hop on hop off bus system which was great. Highly recommend it to see the city.

Hotel Melia was very clean, modern and convenient. The room was exceptionally nice with a very modern bathroom & amenities. We didn't eat there as we preferred local eateries close by but I suspect the food was good. Definitely recommend the hotel as well as Barcelona.

Room Tip: Room was average size you would expect in a U.S. quality hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTEL_MELIABARCELONA, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Barcelona Sarria, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2012

We really appreciate the time you have taken to send us your impressions. When we receive comments like yours it gives us a great satisfaction on having verified that you had a memorable experience with us.

We keep entire at your service and we hope to welcome you back in your next visit. .

Kind regards,

Alexis Mazorra
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

The hotel is located near the avenida diagonal close to nice shopping center. If you are for the first time in Barcelona maybe it would be better to get a hotel closer to all the tourist attractions.

Rooms are refurbished with the typical Melia touch similar to the Melia Sevilla. The rooms are a bit small but convenient. The rain shower is good but need some guidance how to operate. The first time we thought it was broken as we tried everything and it still did not work. It needs some special trick to operate.

Break is festive as always in a Melia hotel!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTEL_MELIABARCELONA, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Barcelona Sarria, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

First of all we would like to send our regards and also appreciate the time you have taken to send us your comments and opinions about our hotel. We hope to welcome you again and please do not hesitate to contact us for anything you might need.

Kind regards,

Alexis Mazorra
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We spent one night in the beautiful Hotel Melia Barcelona prior to our Holland America cruise. Taking the advise of one of the earlier postings, we contacted the Melia prior to departure and inquired about an upgrade to a “Level” room which comes with many amenities. The Melia staff responded promptly to our emails and confirmed our upgrade request.

Upon our arrival at 7AM, and after a long transatlantic flight, we were quickly whisked to our room and told about the added privileges, which included the extensive breakfast buffet for both mornings! The buffet normally costs € 17.50 per person, so that alone almost covered the cost of our upgrade. Also included was access to the lovely spa area, which helped greatly to overcome our jetlag.

Our room was modern with a nice city view and quiet enough to get in an afternoon nap. Several hours later, we were refreshed and took in a nice dinner at one of the many restaurants close by. Staff, again, was helpful in choosing where to eat.

After reading so many comments and warnings about petty crime and pickpockets in Barcelona, we came prepared with a money belt and our awareness level set on high. We found Barcelona to be a beautiful city: clean, good services, and friendly people everywhere. Not once did we ever feel threatened or intimidated. Our only regret was we didn’t have more time to spend there! Thanks Melia for a great experience!

Room Tip: Upgrade to the Level!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jkadventures11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTEL_MELIABARCELONA, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Barcelona Sarria, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

We are grateful that you have sent us your impressions. Our intention is always to give the best service to our guests and to create memorable experiences. To receive comments like yours gives us a great satisfaction on having verified that the level of organization, service and quality of our hotel works top-level as you indicate which is precisely the philosophy of our company Meliá Hotels International.
We keep entire at your service and we will be very pleased to welcome you back.

Kind regards,

Alexis Mazorra
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
NH Collection Barcelona Tower
#133 of 515 in Barcelona
2,613 reviews
Les Corts
Fairmont Rey Juan Carlos I
Fairmont Rey Juan Carlos I
#120 of 515 in Barcelona
968 reviews
Poblenou
Melia Barcelona Sky
Melia Barcelona Sky
#191 of 515 in Barcelona
2,585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Poblenou
The Level at Melia Barcelona Sky
Eurostars Grand Marina Hotel
#187 of 515 in Barcelona
2,296 reviews
Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
Pullman Barcelona Skipper
Pullman Barcelona Skipper
#119 of 515 in Barcelona
2,458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Barcelona Sarria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Barcelona Sarria

Address: Avenida de Sarria 50, 08029 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#24 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#50 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#63 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#84 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#111 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $113 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Barcelona Sarria 5*
Number of rooms: 326
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The fully renovated Melia Barcelona Sarria is a luxury city hotel with a strategic location in the financial, cultural and commercial heart of the city of Barcelona. Only a few minutes from Avenida Diagonal, the Paseo de Gracia and the Football Club Barcelona Camp Nou Stadium, it is the perfect choice both for business and leisure travellers. Near the stops for the tourist bus, the hotel is also located in one of the city’s main cultural and entertainment districts. Its privileged location in center city Barcelona allows guests rapid access by public transportation or a peaceful stroll to the city's main touristic and cultural points of interest; and also outstanding shopping and commercial areas of the City of Gaudi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Melia Barcelona Sarria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Barcelona Hotel Barcelona
Sol Melia Barcelona
Barcelona Sol Melia
Melia Barcelona Sarria Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing