We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet hotel near a pretty good shopping area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Melia Barcelona Sarria
Ranked #132 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
273 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Quiet hotel near a pretty good shopping area”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

The hotel is located near the avenida diagonal close to nice shopping center. If you are for the first time in Barcelona maybe it would be better to get a hotel closer to all the tourist attractions.

Rooms are refurbished with the typical Melia touch similar to the Melia Sevilla. The rooms are a bit small but convenient. The rain shower is good but need some guidance how to operate. The first time we thought it was broken as we tried everything and it still did not work. It needs some special trick to operate.

Break is festive as always in a Melia hotel!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTEL_MELIABARCELONA, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Barcelona Sarria, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
First of all we would like to send our regards and also appreciate the time you have taken to send us your comments and opinions about our hotel. We hope to welcome you again and please do not hesitate to contact us for anything you might need.

Kind regards,

Alexis Mazorra
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,080
    770
    224
    106
    55
See reviews for
339
916
84
576
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stuart, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We spent one night in the beautiful Hotel Melia Barcelona prior to our Holland America cruise. Taking the advise of one of the earlier postings, we contacted the Melia prior to departure and inquired about an upgrade to a “Level” room which comes with many amenities. The Melia staff responded promptly to our emails and confirmed our upgrade request.

Upon our arrival at 7AM, and after a long transatlantic flight, we were quickly whisked to our room and told about the added privileges, which included the extensive breakfast buffet for both mornings! The buffet normally costs € 17.50 per person, so that alone almost covered the cost of our upgrade. Also included was access to the lovely spa area, which helped greatly to overcome our jetlag.

Our room was modern with a nice city view and quiet enough to get in an afternoon nap. Several hours later, we were refreshed and took in a nice dinner at one of the many restaurants close by. Staff, again, was helpful in choosing where to eat.

After reading so many comments and warnings about petty crime and pickpockets in Barcelona, we came prepared with a money belt and our awareness level set on high. We found Barcelona to be a beautiful city: clean, good services, and friendly people everywhere. Not once did we ever feel threatened or intimidated. Our only regret was we didn’t have more time to spend there! Thanks Melia for a great experience!

Room Tip: Upgrade to the Level!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jkadventures11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTEL_MELIABARCELONA, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Barcelona Sarria, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
We are grateful that you have sent us your impressions. Our intention is always to give the best service to our guests and to create memorable experiences. To receive comments like yours gives us a great satisfaction on having verified that the level of organization, service and quality of our hotel works top-level as you indicate which is precisely the philosophy of our company Meliá Hotels International.
We keep entire at your service and we will be very pleased to welcome you back.

Kind regards,

Alexis Mazorra
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courbevoie, France
Level Contributor
120 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

We organised a conference there and everything went well. Good room, good service, good food (room service). And a couple of small restaurant accros the square.
Not too far from the centre either, but I could not take advantage of it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTEL_MELIABARCELONA, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Barcelona Sarria, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
We are very grateful you have had a nice stay and a successful event. We appreciate you have taken your valuable time to send us your comments.
We hope you choose us for your next event and we keep entire at your service. Do not hesitate to contact us if require any information.

Kind regards,

Alexis Mazorra
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

My wife and I spent 4 nights at the Barcelona Melia last week. The room (5th floor) was avearge and the temperature control faulty so that we were freezing for most of the time. The shower was also faulty (part of it didn't work at all). Rather 'tired' accomodation overall. The breakfasts were the highlight - really pretty good though you need to ensure that you are not late as the shutters come down on the stroke of closing time. What surprised us,for a supposedly 5 star hotel,was the absence of any restaurant at dinnertime - light snacks, of poor general quality, are available in the downstairs bar area, but the 1st floor restaurant was shrouded in darkness even though a sign indicated that it should have been open (as did the information packs in the rooms). We complained and were told that there is no hotel restaurant open at dinner! There are many good hotels in Barcelona - sadly, this is not one of them and is absolutely not a 5 star experience.

Room Tip: Move to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BLS590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTEL_MELIABARCELONA, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Barcelona Sarria, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
We appreciate your time and comments; we have already taken actions on the incidents you mentioned. Thanks for helping us.
I would like to inform you that we do have a restaurant , it is true that is next to our Qlounge, but it is a new concept that many hotels have nowadays, so far we have not received any complain but we take into account your considerations.
I keep entire at your service and although your last experience was not as you expected, we would like you give us the opportunity to welcome you again and offer you a nice and pleasant stay with us.

Kind regards,

Alexis Mazorra
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
189 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Things didn't start well when the non-smoking room we were given proved to have recently been heavily smoked in. The second room seemed great until we visited the bathroom, to find that the drain access cover had been left off - ugh.

The real problem though occurred on the second day when I was trying to navigate an extremely crowded breakfast room, and caught my head on a light fitting just at a height of 191 cm or so (I am 192cm). Consisting of (very sharp) wire, this was presumably intended to hang over tables and so not to be a hazard to tall people. However the tables had been moved to provide an extra aisle. The restaurant area is very large so the only possible reason for creating this hazard can have been service convenience for the hotel.

As expected there was blood (and it did hurt too). There was not though any first-aid trained person employed by the hotel who came forward. A bottle of iodine-based disinfectant was provided by the staff, and some swabs, but no-one seemed to know what to do so my wife had to clean up the mess.

Later that day the manager visited us; his principal interest seemed to be to photograph the wounds, as presumably he was worried about me making a claim. What upset me most was what I took as a veiled suggestion that we might have done this deliberately to obtain a discount - he phrased it as "of course you wouldn't have done it on purpose to...", a thought that, unlike the wire of the chandelier, I can honestly say had never entered my head.

Nevertheless he then went on to say that when we came to pay our bill the following day, we would receive a discount, as a token of his sadness for what had happened.

In view of the now significant series of problems we had been having in our three day stay at the Melia Barcelona, it came as no surprise to me when my wife paid the following morning that there was no discount on the bill.

On the plus side, it is a nice building, and the views across the city are good. However it is a 20 plus minute walk from any Metro station, so for a tourist unwilling to take taxis all the time, it needs to work hard to attract...which it certainly didn't do for us.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else, until there is better management
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTEL_MELIABARCELONA, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Barcelona Sarria, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
In first place we would like to send our warmest regards and thanks for having taken your time to comment about your experience in our establishment. We have taken into account this sadly situation very seriously to take action and not to fail again on this matter.


We are really sorry about the incident that happened in our breakfast room. We would have never wanted to happen. As soon as I was informed about it, I went to your room to offer my assistance. Of course I was worried about you, but you informed me that everything was ok and suggested to do something to avoid this kind of accidents. With all my respect I thanked you for your comprehension and asked for the photo for further feedback and solutions, and you kindly agreed and understood.

We know you took as a veiled suggestion, and our offer was not thinking you wanted to obtain discount. As I explained to you, it was a way to show our appreciation for your understanding and behavior, please accept my apologies If I did not explain more clearly.
I would like to inform you that I called you after a few days to check how you were and your wife kindly informed me that you were ok getting better without difficulty.
I reiterate our thanks for your time and please do not hesitate to contact us for anything you might need, we will be very pleased to assist you and we would like to welcome you again to Melia Barcelona. We are sure all our staff will do their best to make you feel like home and have a nice experience.


Alexis Mazorra
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Stayed for two nights with a tour group. The hotel, even though some distance from the city centre, has a wonderful shopping centre just around the corner so ask the staff for directions. There are eating places in close proximity.
The hotel breakfast was varied and tasty and staff very pleasant and helpful. It was the room itself that let this hotel down. The carpet and walls are stained, the furniture had veneer missing and was badly scuffed in others. The bathroom grout was also stained and had an air of neglect.
The mattress was comfortable, as were the pillows. The cooling worked well during our stay. The wifi was adequate even if you need to log on each time you use it.
Supplied toiletries were generous and nice. We stayed in room 514 which had a generous size shower as well as a spa bath.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aussienanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTEL_MELIABARCELONA, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Barcelona Sarria, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
We appreciate the time you have taken to send us your suggestions and positive comments about our establishment. We believe it is by listen to our gust’s opinions and suggestions we will improve in terms of offering a better service.
Thank you for your help and he hope to welcome you next time you visit us

Kind regards,
Alexis Mazorra Sanchez
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
124 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

The room I stayed in on 7th floor had seen better days... The carpet and walls were a bit grubby and the wardrobe had a funny smell that transferred to my clothes. The air con packed up twice and I had to call them to fix it. The room service dining wasn't great. However, despite all this the hotel probably has the best customer service I have eperienced in a long time. They rang to checkpoint my food had arrived and that the engineer had been to fix the air con. The bathroom was lovely.....best bit!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank short_scuba_diver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTEL_MELIABARCELONA, Guest Experience Assistant at Melia Barcelona Sarria, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear guest,

First of all we would like thank you for having choosen Melia Barcelona.

Regarding your experience in our hotel we would like to tell you that we apreciate your opinion that will help us to improve our guest satisfaction.

On the other hand we hope you will give us another chance to show you our best services.

We remain at your service and we will be very pleased to welcome you in your next visit.

Kind regrads,



Nayden Boykov
Guest Experience Assistant - Meliá Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Poblenou
Melia Barcelona Sky
Melia Barcelona Sky
#188 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,353 reviews
NH Collection Barcelona Tower
#122 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,399 reviews
Poblenou
The Level at Melia Barcelona Sky
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Les Corts
Fairmont Rey Juan Carlos I
Fairmont Rey Juan Carlos I
#137 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
Eixample
NH Collection Barcelona Gran Hotel Calderon
Les Corts
NH Collection Constanza
NH Collection Constanza
#79 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Barcelona Sarria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Barcelona Sarria

Property: Melia Barcelona Sarria
Address: Avenida de Sarria 50, 08029 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#18 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#50 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#63 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#84 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#97 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Barcelona Sarria 5*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The fully renovated Melia Barcelona Sarria is a luxury city hotel with a strategic location in the financial, cultural and commercial heart of the city of Barcelona. Only a few minutes from Avenida Diagonal, the Paseo de Gracia and the Football Club Barcelona Camp Nou Stadium, it is the perfect choice both for business and leisure travellers. Near the stops for the tourist bus, the hotel is also located in one of the city’s main cultural and entertainment districts. Its privileged location in center city Barcelona allows guests rapid access by public transportation or a peaceful stroll to the city's main touristic and cultural points of interest; and also outstanding shopping and commercial areas of the City of Gaudi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Melia Barcelona Sarria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Barcelona Hotel Barcelona
Sol Melia Barcelona
Barcelona Sol Melia
Melia Barcelona Sarria Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing