We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Not bad” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Le Meridien Barcelona

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Meridien Barcelona
Ranked #101 of 523 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Mongolia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Not bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

Business hotel trying to be "hip" in a great location. Room clean, small, with poor view. Roof terrace tiny with no service. Reception always very busy with people checking in and out. Felt very impersonal. Better options in Barcelona in the same area are definitely available.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Drafiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,063
    800
    214
    89
    51
See reviews for
443
1,002
106
247
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (391)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

It was an interesting experience because they were very reluctant to provide the service they should until you get upset, then they go overboard to provide what you requested. I guess they did not want to take responsibility until you called them on it and then they were happy to oblige. It started right from the beginning when i arrived at 11am and they told me check in was not until 3pm. We stowed our bags and left to explore the city. We came back at 3:30pm and they told me check in was not until 4:00pm. I checked there website and it was 3:00pm! i had to call out the person who initially told me 3pm then we all agreed it was 3pm and they apologized?? They continually screwed up from that point on from check in time, to cleanliness of the room, to honoring SPG membership, to not doing what they said they would on room charges. They fixed everything but their first reaction was denial or act like there is no problem. I would have to call them on it and get the person responsible in front of me and then they would fix it. I tip well so the staff was taking care of me, but who wants to continually have to ask them to provide normal service. I travel a lot and have never experienced anything like this before. I was on vacation trying to enjoy time with my family and shied away from the hotel as much as possible. Barcelona is a beautiful city! You will spend 1/2 day in this area. Eat lunch at the market!! Amazing! There are no good dinner options in the area.

Room Tip: Barcelona is spread out all over the place. You will only spend 1/2 day in this area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hokie42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LMHotel, General Manager at Le Meridien Barcelona, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear guest,

I am very sorry to read your review.

Please allow me to assure you that customer service is one of our utmost priorities and at no time would we want to say no to a guest's inquiry.

Unfortunately the impression you seem to have gotten is not in line with our service promise and I apologize for this.
I truly hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you again so we can gain back your confidence in us.

Kind regards,

Elisa Barral
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
96 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

First of all the location - at the middle of the Ramblas but on the side - so you do not hear the noise at night.
The hotel is modern , very clean, big rooms and big bathroom ( good surprise for European hotels )
Amazing sleeping quality - the bed was too comfortable !!!
The service was more than good - they just make you feel at home.
the next time i come to Barcelona is only for this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vizaim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
82 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

This Meridian is a nice hotel on the inside but would be so much a better hotel if it was somewhere other than the Ramblas. The location is noisy down on the street, touristy and maybe not the safest, with all the back and forth endless crowds descending on the Ramblas nearly 24/7. People constantly warn about pickpockets in the area surrounding the hotel, and a couple with us had a nearly bad experience nearby. The rooms are nice but not over generous in size. With so many great hotels in Barcelona to chose from, located north of this area in different districts, I do not want to return here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jeffreyr932
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

This hotel is at a perfect location if you want to walk to many of the wonderful sights, shops and restaurants of the city center. Overall, a very nice ambience but overpriced due to the location. View from the room was not the greatest but the view from the spa made up for it. Gym was small but clean, with a variety of modern equipment. My one complaint would be the attention to detail of the cleaning staff. The closet was microscopic (not enough room for more than a couple days of clothing), and yet the hangers and clothing rod were covered in dust. You could still see the glass marks on the side tables by the bed and the decorative cover on the bed was dirty. Besides that, cleanliness was ok overall in the hotel. Nice modern bathroom but not good for privacy due to the sliding, frosted glass door.
If you are staying here, you are staying for the location. I would stay here again but I wish the SPG program made it worth the price.

Room Tip: Ask for a room above the 5th floor. Rooms with king size beds are a bit larger than the 2 double bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SP1234Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
221 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

The hotel is well located , next to the wonderful Boqueria Market ..but was extremely extremely crowded , and the front office staff was lacking attention. Huge line to get attention either from the concierge or front desk. Overall a very poor level of service.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frenchramsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

We stayed at Le Meridien Barcelona as a home base for family touring of Barcelona urban attractions in June 2014. We stayed in a Prestige Suite on the 5th floor. We had our 5-month old daughter with us, and we were somewhat concerned that street noise from the Ramblas would be a problem that might interrupt her sleep. As it turned out, while the sitting room was overlooking the Ramblas and slightly noisy despite closing the windows, the bedroom faced over a quiet side-street and was perfect for sleeping. We all slept very well!

Overall, we really enjoyed staying at this hotel. Plusses, in our view, included:
1. Great location for touring the city (right on the ramblas, very close to a metro stop and a big grocery store)
2. Comfortable rooms, recent renovation of rooms and common areas. Chic hotel design.
3. Great buffet breakfast and dinner fare at Cent Onze restaurant, overlooking the Ramblas
4. Excellent service from staff, including Gold Key concierge. The concierge expertly helped us make all our bookings for tours, saving us a lot of time and effort.

The only minus, we would say, was that the concierge desk was often very busy with tourists trying to make bookings for attractions. Heavier staffing during peak periods would have been helpful.

Overall, we wholeheartedly recommend this hotel for anyone visiting central Barcelona who wants a comfortable, convenient home base for touring the city.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room, try to avoid low floors facing the Ramblas, unless you get a suite in whic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
La Rambla
Hotel Bagues
Hotel Bagues
#24 of 523 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 stars 690 reviews
El Raval
Royal Ramblas Hotel
Royal Ramblas Hotel
#116 of 523 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 stars 1,448 reviews
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#14 of 523 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 stars 3,894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Born / La Ribera
Grand Hotel Central
Grand Hotel Central
#37 of 523 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 stars 1,462 reviews
Eixample
Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona
Eixample
El Palace Hotel
El Palace Hotel
#4 of 523 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 stars 1,431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Barcelona

Property: Le Meridien Barcelona
Address: Ramblas 111, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#45 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#56 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#64 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#72 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Barcelona 5*
Number of rooms: 231
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly positioned for discovering the rich artistic heritage represented by Barcelona's museums, music and architecture, Le Meridien Barcelona is a five star hotel located on the city's most famous street, Las Ramblas. With examples of Gaudi's architecture, the Liceo opera house, MACBA and the Gothic Quarter, all main attractions within walking distance, guests can immerse themselves in local culture. Throughout the hotel art and architectural detailing catch the eye. In the central lobby is Le Meridien's HUB, a perfect place to rendezvous with friends and family. Furnished with contemporary designer pieces and decorated with specially curated art installations. The Hub is a great place to meet and offers a stimulating and fascinating environment. Each of the 231 rooms and suites combines comfortable living with art and design elements, including original works by contemporary local artists. Sublimely comfortable Le Meridien furnishings and multiple entertainment options ensure a relaxed stay. The Longitude 02º 10' Bar in the HUB is the place to enjoy a delicious Illy coffee, fresh cakes or a glass of wine or cava. Alternatively, CentOnze Restaurant offers great views of Las Ramblas along with the gastronomic creations of Chef Eugeni Cortes who reinterprets local cuisine using fresh ingredients sourced from the nearby Boqueria Market. Le Pop Cocktail Bar stimulates your senses with an exciting blend of cocktails, music and vintage savoir vivre with a modern twist. Located on the sixth floor of the hotel, the Explore Spa Studio is a blissful oasis of relaxation offering treatments and therapies based on renowned French Cinq Mondes beauty products. Open to both guests and members of the public who, in consultation with a beauty therapist, can choose from a range of offerings designed to aid skin rejuvenation and promote personal wellbeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Le Meridien Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Barcelona Hotel Barcelona
Barcelona Le Meridien
Meridien Barcelona
Le Meridien Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing