We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upscale City Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Meridien Barcelona
Ranked #110 of 515 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 20, 2014

My mother and I stayed here on the last leg of a long tour of Europe in June 2013. This was my second time staying at the property, the first being in 2008 before renovations were completed. The hotel, in Le Meridien style, is a tad modern and decorated in bold colors. The lobby is nice and the staff was very helpful. The hotel was very busy when we stayed.

We were a little disappointed in our room. It was updated and clean, but the room was very small (which is why I only gave four stars/Very Good). Our room faced out to a street and we could hear a lot of street noise but we did not hear much noise from the hallway. To me, this felt typical of a city hotel so I'm not sure if it is a case of expectations versus reality. Having stayed at a number of Starwood properties throughout Europe, I still believe the room was disappointingly small. However, we didn't spend a lot of time there due to the great location to the many sites we wanted to visit. The area around the hotel - Las Rambles - has a great energy and is at the epicenter if you want to get out and see the city.

We particularly appreciated the friendliness of the staff and how helpful the concierge was in helping us book a few things. As another reviewer mentioned, the recommendations for restaurants felt typical. We did end up at a place where we had a LOVELY meal, we just had to pry a little bit.

We also had excellent breakfast at the hotel each day. As I recall, it was a bit pricey, but the convenience and the food made us feel as though it was worth it.

If I had to stay again, I might look at other hotels in the same area to compare price versus size of room, but I would consider staying again because of the staff and how well the facilities have been kept.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liz I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,541)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,033 - 1,039 of 2,541 reviews

Reviewed January 12, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in mid October prior to going on tour. Its location is the only thing going for it, situated on La Rambla. We had a room overlooking backyards and all we could see was roof tops. The room didn't have enough space to place suitcases. The lights in bathroom were so dim had so use bedroom mirror to see. We only had one bathrobe and asked for another, and slippers. An extra bathrobe was supplied, but no slippers - the excuse being we were not eligible for them in the room we occupied. The breakfasts were the worst we have encountered in either 4 or 5 star establishments. The worst five star hotel we have ever had the misfortune of staying in.

Room Tip: Try the hotel over the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank togram2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LMHotel, General Manager at Le Meridien Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Greetings from Le Méridien Barcelona,

I am very sorry to read your comments about our hotel and that you seem not to have been satisfied with our products and services. Please apologize for any inconveniences you may have experienced.
I would love to hear your suggestions on how we could improve our breakfast service. Therefore please do not hesitate to contact us directly!
In regards to the slippers, I will follow up with our housekeeping department to see what could have happened.

Kind regards,

Elisa Barral

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

My wife and I spent a week in the hotel in February 2013 and really enjoyed our stay. The genuinely helpful nature of the staff was especially appreciated.
The most important thing about the hotel is the location. It is right on Las Ramblas, which seems to be the heart of Barcelona. There was always something going on around there, from the Opera at the fabulous Liceu only 5 minutes walk away, to the Gothic Quarter with all of the quaint streets steeping with history, to the Cathedral, and the general street theatre which is Las Ramblas. It also is located very close to two subway stations, so transport is not a problem.

There was a very nice touch that hotel made, in giving us a small potted plant when we arrived, it just had many buds, and as we stayed the plant flowered beautifully. This humanised the stay.

I cannot say much about the food, because there is so many excellent restaurants within a stones throw of the hotel, that I would recommend trying them out, from breakfast at one of the great paternities or bakeries, to restaurants recommended by the concierge.

We had stayed in Barcelona before, but this experience was so much better, a combination of the service and the location.

Finally the room, we were very happy in the room, we stayed around the corner from the Las Ramblas side, as other reviewers had recommended this to avoid late night noise. The bed was comfortable and there was more than enough space.

We will be back!

Room Tip: If you are into the arts, check what is going on at the Liceu, it is 5 minutes walk from the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Trevor D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LMHotel, General Manager at Le Meridien Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Greetings from Le Méridien Barcelona!

You know what I liedbest about your review? The fact that you say you will be back!
And maybe then we will convince you to try our Centonze Restaurant overlooking las Ramblas or to enjoy an Illy coffee at our Longitude Bar?

Thank you very much for your kind words!

Elisa Barral

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Spent 5 days here over Christmas-used points to get 2 connecting rooms. Management said the hotel was fully booked but our entire floor was very quiet and seemed almost empty. We were on the 4th floor all the way in the back of the hotel with absolutely no noise. The room lighting takes a while to get used to but eventually can be figured out. Beds were on the soft side with a few flat pillows (must have) . Housekeeping was perfect. Check in and out was a breeze. There is a downstairs coffee bar which is excellent. We did not get complimentary breakfast but went to
Bar lobos across the street which is a great café- perfect for quick eating. There is a supermarket one block away on Las Ramblas which has everything you could possibly need and the in room minibar has room for your own beverages. The only somewhat negative experience we had was that the concierge kept referring us to mediocre restaurants on the main streets instead of some of the "hidden gems" on the side streets. if you do your homework a family of 4 can definitely have a 3 course meal with wine for under 100 euros. The hotel restaurant was very good but on the pricey side. Would definitely stay at this hotel again. Good to know also that both casa battlo and guell palace (a few blocks away) are open on Christmas day.

Room Tip: If you want a really quiet stay in the back of the hotel-down side is no views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank buster659
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LMHotel, General Manager at Le Meridien Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Greetings from Le Méridien Barcelona,

thank you very much for choosing us for your holiday season trip. I am glad to read that you enjoyed your Christmas vacation in Barcelona and even more that you liked your stay with us.

I am only sorry to read that you seem to not have been satisfied with our concierge service and will follow up with the team to see what could have happened. Because normally we always try to assist our guests in unlocking the most authentic and hidden part of the city.

Hopefully we will be welcoming you and your family again in the future!

Kind regards,

Elisa Barral

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

The location is what makes this hotel. It's right on La Rambla, so you're in the heart of everything. It's classed as a 5 star hotel and you pay as if it's a 5 star, but in general it should be classed as a 4 star. The 5 star parts are the location, the bathroom and the concierge, Bruno. Everything else really is 4 star. Our shower was fantastic – large, multiple shower heads including from the sides. The room décor is a bit bland and passing each other in the area near the bathroom is very tight. The window was small, so the room could be quite dark even during the day. The only English language tv channels were news. We were there for 5 nights, I was very surprised that they didn’t change the sheets at all. I’m sure if I asked for them to be changed they would have, but I was surprised that it wasn’t the normal course of events in a 5 star hotel. The pillow on my side the the bed was lumpy, so I asked for another one and for more soap. This took over an hour and required a second call – again, not 5 star service. It took us 25 minutes to check in on arrival. There were 4 staff, but two seemed to be in training, so only 2 customers were being dealt with at a time. The same for the concierge – there was always a delay to see him. The one we dealt with most was Bruno and he was excellent. Helpful, nice, with great suggestions – everything you want from a concierge. We rented a car as we were planning a day trip to Andorra and Sitges, but I wouldn’t do so if I were staying here again. You really don’t need on in Barcelona, espeically if you stay on La Rambla, and the parking was very expensive (€35 per day). Most 5 star hotels would have an airport shuttle bus, but not this one. Breakfast is €25 per day, but there are many lovely, outdoor places within a few minutes walk for €5 - €10. We had a look at the spa – very small, not very special looking. One small thing – all the other 3 and 4 star hotels I’ve stayed in in Barcelona had free bottles of water in a fridge by the lifts – you could take 2 or 3 as you needed. At Le Meridian, there was one free bottle a day, then you were paying mini-bar rates for more. All in all, a nice hotel, but not worth the 5 star premium price.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Donna O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LMHotel, General Manager at Le Meridien Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Greetings from Le Méridien Barcelona,

this is an incredibly detailed review! Thank you so much, because it will be extremely helpful for our guest satisfaction meetings.

Although I am happy about your rating, I am also sorry to see that we did not seem to have met your expectations.
Especially am I sorry about the delays you seem to have experienced during several service encounters. I will discuss these with the involved teams to see what could have happened.

Last but not least, Bruno will be very proud to read that you personally praise him!
Thank you very much for this. It is always very rewarding for our associates.

Kind regards,

Elisa Barral

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

The Meridien is perfectly located if you want to be in the middle of the tourist action of Las Ramblas. But, within a few minutes walk, you can wander into the Gothic Quarter, or one of the many other wonderful areas of Barcelona.

The rooms were very nice and comfortable - larger than many others in Europe where I have stayed. One issue is the night lights in the rooms. They are on a motion detection system and "click" on and off each time you or your spouse gets up. Then, the click on sometimes when you are still laying in bed. It gets a bit annoying.

The coffee in the lobby is also quite good, as the coffee I tasted in many of the shops was a bit "muddy." The hotel bar is a great place to unwind. We enjoyed several different bottles of cava and they were quite reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Our annual trip for New Years was to Barcelona. We chose Le Merdien primarily because of it's location right in the heart of the city. We were not disappointed. This is an excellent hotel with larger than average rooms (seating could use a little help both chairs we not comfortable) with a great bath & shower. The bed was very comfortable but it was a bit too low (no box spring, platform only). Loved the motion sensor night lights! Hotel was very clean & staff was glad to help in any way they could. We did not eat at the hotel, so I can't comment on the food. Our room was unbelievably quiet - especially since the hotel is located right on La Rambla. We never heard any outside noise. WIFI is ridiculously expensive - ours was comp'd because of our SPG membership, but 19 euros per 24 hours is really high.

We would absolutely stay here again.

Room Tip: Always ask for a room off La Rambla. We didn't have to, they automatically gave us one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loriellenm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LMHotel, General Manager at Le Meridien Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Dear Lorie,

it is wonderful to read that you chose Le Méridien Barcelona and Barcelona itself as your New Year's travel destination. I hope you fully enjoyed the multiple offerings the city has for this time of the year.
And maybe next time you will get to try our restaurant and bars?

Kind regards and a happy 2014,

Elisa Barral

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
La Rambla
Hotel Bagues
Hotel Bagues
#27 of 515 in Barcelona
893 reviews
El Raval
Royal Ramblas Hotel
Royal Ramblas Hotel
#114 of 515 in Barcelona
1,762 reviews
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#26 of 515 in Barcelona
4,593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona
Eixample
El Palace Hotel
El Palace Hotel
#7 of 515 in Barcelona
1,767 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Grand Hotel Central
Grand Hotel Central
#21 of 515 in Barcelona
2,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Barcelona

Address: Ramblas 111, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#45 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#56 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#64 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#83 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $262 - $716 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Barcelona 5*
Number of rooms: 231
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly positioned for discovering the rich artistic heritage represented by Barcelona's museums, music and architecture, Le Meridien Barcelona is a five star hotel located on the city's most famous street, Las Ramblas. With examples of Gaudi's architecture, the Liceo opera house, MACBA and the Gothic Quarter, all main attractions within walking distance, guests can immerse themselves in local culture. Throughout the hotel art and architectural detailing catch the eye. In the central lobby is Le Meridien's HUB, a perfect place to rendezvous with friends and family. Furnished with contemporary designer pieces and decorated with specially curated art installations. The Hub is a great place to meet and offers a stimulating and fascinating environment. Each of the 231 rooms and suites combines comfortable living with art and design elements, including original works by contemporary local artists. Sublimely comfortable Le Meridien furnishings and multiple entertainment options ensure a relaxed stay. The Longitude 02º 10' Bar in the HUB is the place to enjoy a delicious Illy coffee, fresh cakes or a glass of wine or cava. Alternatively, CentOnze Restaurant offers great views of Las Ramblas along with the gastronomic creations of Chef Eugeni Cortes who reinterprets local cuisine using fresh ingredients sourced from the nearby Boqueria Market. Le Pop Cocktail Bar stimulates your senses with an exciting blend of cocktails, music and vintage savoir vivre with a modern twist. Located on the sixth floor of the hotel, the Explore Spa Studio is a blissful oasis of relaxation offering treatments and therapies based on renowned French Cinq Mondes beauty products. Open to both guests and members of the public who, in consultation with a beauty therapist, can choose from a range of offerings designed to aid skin rejuvenation and promote personal wellbeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Le Meridien Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Barcelona Hotel Barcelona
Barcelona Le Meridien
Meridien Barcelona
Le Meridien Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing