We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Honeymoon!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Meridien Barcelona
Ranked #117 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Honeymoon!”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Location: Perfect. Right on La Ramblas. Close to gothic district, shopping, and even a 30min walk to the beach.

Service: Front desk speaks great english, very helpful.

Rooms: Reserved a Junior Suite for about 4 days. After notifying management it was our honeymoon upon reservation (3 months prior to the date) we received complimentary cava and chocolate covered strawberries in the room and they put us in a Junior Suite that was the corner room overlooking La Ramblas. Absolutely beautiful. Pictures will be uploaded. Also paid for flowers to be put in the room and bathroom. Housekeeping arranged the flowers into a heart. Rooms very spacious, bathroom modern, clean and large. Heated floors, and towel rack and rainfall shower.
Only room complaint was that another guest complained we were to loud at night. However we were just talking to each other near the wall...my guess is that the walls could be thicker because then in the morning i heard them speaking very loudly on the phone. Non-issue for us but obviously for those guests it was.

Hotel has security in front, a nice bar and restaurant. Only downside is no pool, if it had that it would be unreal!!

Room Tip: Corner Junior Suite overlooking Ramblas is amazing and has great light entering room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rustinkoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,162
    868
    240
    94
    53
See reviews for
486
1,091
113
275
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (427)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Location is extremely convenient and central (both metro and walk)... and quiet. Room (Suite Méditerranéenne) was beautiful, large, clean with a nice terrace and great amenities. I loved the design of the bathroom and bed is great. Staff was really nice and professional.
A beautiful stay in Barcelona in a perfect hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SylGeneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LMHotel, General Manager at Le Meridien Barcelona, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your kind words about the hotel, especially about our newly refurbished Mediterranean Suites. We agree that the design by Isabel López is beautiful.
The rooms are comfortable, practical, yet with an inspiring design reflecting our Mediterrnean location.

We hope you will be staying with us again soon.

Best regards,

Elisa Barral
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

What a great hotel! The service was friendly and helpful! The room was massive, and the breakfast was of average size but superlative quality - I couldn't get enough of it! But by far the best thing about this hotel is the location - right on La Rambla. Through a tie-up with the Barcelona Contemporary Art Museum MACBA we were offered free entry, which we took advantage of and really enjoyed. All in all, we loved this place, and want to return!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LMHotel, General Manager at Le Meridien Barcelona, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Greetings from Le Méridien Barcelona,

I am very happy to read you enjoyed your stay with us and that you really liked our breakfast, which we put strong effort into.

Also that you took advantage of Le Méridien's Unlock Art program and visited our local partner, the MACBA museum.

Best regards,

Elisa Barral
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We love the location of this property, but find the rooms small.  The desk, valet and doormen were very friendly and helpful.  There was a younger gentelman (possibly a mgr in training) that was very attentive and hopefully pursues a career in hospitality mgt.  The female concierge was knowledgeable (getting her keys soon), helpful & personable--I wish she was there more often during our stay.  Unfortunatly, the property is loosing her...Hopefully she is transfering to another Starwood property, as she is a gem!   Yes, we are Starwood platinum.   The gentelmen concierges were friendly, but had their few standard restaurants withing a 10 min. radius and directions to the "typical attractions" and thats it.   A concierge  should try and make each guests experience unique by taking into account what the guest is seeking.  If they dont understand what is being requesting ask questions, instead  or moving the guest along with any answer.  We were at the hotel 3 years ago and sent to the same 3-4 restaurants again this trip.  We requested recomendations for good food & late night dining (9:30ish).  We did not have location or cuisine restrictions, and were open to local, fine dining and or trendy establishments. So to get the same recomendations 3 years later was disapointing.  San Joan day was celebrated during our stay, and there was no information on the events until that afternoon.  We would have prefered information about the celebration upon check in, as we could have planned better for the evening.  As for the room.... If you pack more than 1 small carry on bag per person you will find the room crowded.  we were upgraded- thank you...but, it was almost impossible, or very difficult for my husband and I to move around the room at the same time (2 pieces of large luggage and 2 totes bags).  the foot of the bed is about 2 1/2" from the wall, so if you pack light you'll be comfortable.  Housekeeping was attentive with the exception of the grout around the bathtub...it could use some attention, but in their defense they are not provided with a great deal of time to thoroughly clean each room during high season.   

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SFWolff888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LMHotel, General Manager at Le Meridien Barcelona, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am very thankful for your extensive feedback, because it is of very high value in our daily work towards improvement of our services.

Special thanks for the kind words about the associates you were happy about. Rest assured that I will forward these compliments to them to reward their excellent customer service.

But I am also sorry to read that we seem to not have fulfilled your expectations during some concierge service encounters. Please apologize for any inconveniences this may have caused you. I will follow-up with the involved team members, because it is not our standard to offer generic recommendations.

I truly hope we will be welcoming you again in the future and please do not hesitate to contact me directly should you require any assistance.

Best regards,

Elisa Barral
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxfordshire
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

i recently spent four days here - 3 as part of a conference for 35 people.
The hotel could not have a better location. Most rooms face a quiet(ish) side road, but breakfast/dining faces onto La Ramblas.
Smart, clean , nice standard sized but well appointed rooms, good breakfast, and a comfortable and stylish conference room. very good.
A few niggles stop me giving this 5 stars.
1.We had to lift heavy suitcases up four steps to the entrance - watched by staff! - why no ramp (there is to the lifts inside.
2.Delays at reception (which doubles as concierge most of the time) due to lost booking, and later when the key wiped itself and was replaced by one which didnt work- each taking 5-10 mins queing.
3. Although the tea cups were washed, and the milk refilled each day, you only seem to get one allowance of tea and coffee - which wasn't topped up.
But smart, comfortable and brilliantly located.

Room Tip: ask for a room not overlooking la ramblas if you want complete quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oxontraveller55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LMHotel, General Manager at Le Meridien Barcelona, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear oxontraveller55,

I am pleased to read that overall you were very happy with Le Méridien Barcelona and especially happy about you liking the hotel for small conferences.

But I do want to apologize in the name of the entire team for the inconveniences you mention.
Although it is difficult for us to change exterior features about the hotel, it is not our standard to not assist with your luggage. I will inform the involved team to reinforce this.

I truly hooe we will be welcoming you again in the future.

Best regards,

Elisa Barral
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
57 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We traveled to Spain for our 10 year anniversary and booked the trip on points.

Upon arrival, the staff was very busy and the hotel manager was off site. We were supposed to be upgraded but they could not accommodate us. We were put in a basic room. The rooms are clean but tight. Next time I'll be sure to book a suite.

Our room was right over La Ramblas which has its pluses and minuses. It's over the busiest street in Barcelona great people watching and noisy at the same time. The biggest plus for this hotel is the location. Down the street from the fresh market, across from the old city, down the street from the best shopping in town and a quick ride to the beach. Everything further is a quick subway ride (station just outside the hotel).

The staff helped us with a typing we needed, Internet connectivity, reservations, etc.. But they seemed so busy that it was tough for them to give us the full attention we wanted. It wasnt until our last day did the hotel manager call us. He invited us for coffee in the lobby and sent us off with a very thoughtful parting gift which made up for the minor inconveniences we had.

He also took the time to draw up a personal walking tour for us to explore some less known corners of town which was great because we thought we saw it all. Being in the center of the city made it easy to get everywhere in minutes.

I would also like to compliment the concierge. They had a great knowledge base of the city and they were able to send us on our way each day and evening based on what we were in the mood for. In all of my travels, I have not met a better concierge staff. They asked a few questions about what we liked to do before opening a map and pointing at a street or square. They adjusted their suggestions based on our answers. They were spot on in pointing us in the right direction.

Overall, a great hotel in the perfect location with a wonderful staff.
Can't it to go back (and get a bigger room).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NoahTrop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
59 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

For the price, the room was perfect. Location was perfect. It had everything we needed; and American plug in, a spacious bathroom, amazingly new, big, flat screen TVs, a huge bed, turn down service, a bathroom scale even! The shower was nice, the breakfast was awesome. It's a beautiful hotel, newly redone, an outdoor deck on the 6th floor. When we go back to Barcelona I'd never stay anywhere else but here. I can't say enough good things about our stay here.

Helpful?
2 Thank Michiganis
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
LMHotel, General Manager at Le Meridien Barcelona, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Michiganis,

I want to send you my sincerest THANK YOU for such a fantastic review. It makes my team and I extremely proud to read that you consider us one of your favorite hotels and we are very much looking forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Best regards,

Elisa Barral
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
La Rambla
Hotel Bagues
Hotel Bagues
#22 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 839 reviews
El Raval
Royal Ramblas Hotel
Royal Ramblas Hotel
#120 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,669 reviews
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#24 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Born / La Ribera
Grand Hotel Central
Grand Hotel Central
#30 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,848 reviews
Eixample
El Palace Hotel
El Palace Hotel
#8 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,643 reviews
Eixample
Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Barcelona

Property: Le Meridien Barcelona
Address: Ramblas 111, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#45 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#56 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#64 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#85 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Barcelona 5*
Number of rooms: 231
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly positioned for discovering the rich artistic heritage represented by Barcelona's museums, music and architecture, Le Meridien Barcelona is a five star hotel located on the city's most famous street, Las Ramblas. With examples of Gaudi's architecture, the Liceo opera house, MACBA and the Gothic Quarter, all main attractions within walking distance, guests can immerse themselves in local culture. Throughout the hotel art and architectural detailing catch the eye. In the central lobby is Le Meridien's HUB, a perfect place to rendezvous with friends and family. Furnished with contemporary designer pieces and decorated with specially curated art installations. The Hub is a great place to meet and offers a stimulating and fascinating environment. Each of the 231 rooms and suites combines comfortable living with art and design elements, including original works by contemporary local artists. Sublimely comfortable Le Meridien furnishings and multiple entertainment options ensure a relaxed stay. The Longitude 02º 10' Bar in the HUB is the place to enjoy a delicious Illy coffee, fresh cakes or a glass of wine or cava. Alternatively, CentOnze Restaurant offers great views of Las Ramblas along with the gastronomic creations of Chef Eugeni Cortes who reinterprets local cuisine using fresh ingredients sourced from the nearby Boqueria Market. Le Pop Cocktail Bar stimulates your senses with an exciting blend of cocktails, music and vintage savoir vivre with a modern twist. Located on the sixth floor of the hotel, the Explore Spa Studio is a blissful oasis of relaxation offering treatments and therapies based on renowned French Cinq Mondes beauty products. Open to both guests and members of the public who, in consultation with a beauty therapist, can choose from a range of offerings designed to aid skin rejuvenation and promote personal wellbeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TravelUp, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Meridien Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Barcelona Hotel Barcelona
Barcelona Le Meridien
Meridien Barcelona
Le Meridien Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing