We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, staff OK”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Meridien Barcelona
Ranked #117 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent location, staff OK”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Stayed at Le Méridien Barcelona at the end of December while they were renovating the higher floors.

Initially stayed in a deluxe room, and later switched to a junior suite. Due to the renovation the junior suite was noisier.

Pros:
+ Location is excellent
+ Decent breakfast
+ Good cocktails in the bar
+ Prompt room service
+ Very quiet and intimate feeling in the lobby

Cons:
- Some issues with some of the staff
- The junior suite was rather dark, and to make matters worse, the walls were grey. Lighting should be improved

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hennessyparadis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,160
    864
    239
    94
    53
See reviews for
485
1,087
113
275
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (425)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stanford-Le-Hope, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

I have just spent 3 nights in this hotel situated on La Rambla right in the heart of Barcelona, with my wife, daughter and two grandchildren. The position of this hotel could hardly be better, a short walk in one direction to the Plaza de Catalunya and in the opposite direction to the Port. You will find two of Gaudi's famous buildings, La Pedrera (Casa Mila) and Casa Battlo not too distant, within walking distance for all but the most frail.
My only criticisms of the Hotel were the beds, bit lumpy and not very comfortable, and the bar service was a bit hit and miss, sometimes we waited ages to be asked for our order, despite the fact that there were very few people in the bar.
Despite these minor irritations, the staff were very friendly and efficient and I would not hesitate in booking this Hotel again.

Room Tip: Rambla view for people watching.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlennCroc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

My 23 year old architectural student son and I booked to stay here with British airways, as a club
Class package in January. We have over the years stayed in many hotels within the Meridien group and always found them good, this one however was not. When staying in a 5 star hotel I do expect help with my baggage, ( they did not, ) the room was also so tiny, excellent shower though.
We had dinner in the restaurant , we had to send the starter back as it was so salty, to be fair they didn't charge for it. Breakfast was not 5 star.
Whilst eating our meal a fight stated on the street outside which wasn't a pleasant experience, seeing police armed with batons hitting youths.
The next morning we checked out even though we had paid for a three night stay ( it was that bad.) We went to stay at El Palace and saw a totally different city. We are returning to Barcelona in May to continue enjoying the wonderful sights and we are going to stay at El Palace again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Yugneb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisa B, Director General at Le Meridien Barcelona, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
First of all I would like to thank you very much for expressing your opinion. Then I honestly apologize for the disappointment you feel.

We have 24h security taking care of all our guest. The safety at our hotel is one of our most important priorities, Le Méridien Barcelona is the safest place to be!
Even if this time, we could not meet all your expectations and you experienced unusual service, we hope you give us another chance to show you that we normally serve a higher level of service!

The next time that you visit Barcelona, I hope to get the chance to show you that we can offer you a much better experience. I would be happy to welcome you back to our hotel and show you the real Le Méridien Barcelona!

Kindest regards from Barcelona,

Elisa Barral
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
119 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Le Meridien Barcelona was simply the best experience I've ever had in my traveling life.

At first, on La Rambla - Barcelona's everlasting party.

Secondly, amazingly art-deco design 5-star hotel, with the very Barcelona's spirit.

Then, surprisingly upgrade to Prestige Suite (I've had booked Junior Suite) for me and my kids (thanks, my darling Laura!).

At last, but not least - my endlessly thankfulness to Concierge - Christian, Bruno, Ricardo and friends, who've made our stay very special before, during and after that!

Alex, Jordi and my Galego friend - for your perfect service, warm reception and pleasant talks about football, indeed we've become Barça fans :-)

And Franziska - ich liebe dich! wir treffen uns wieder bald!

No more IHG Hotels, Starwood forever!

Oriovaldo

Room Tip: Any rooms are great, but if you can afford a suite, go for it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oriovaldo Anton... T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We had reservations at a decent hotel in Las Ramblas but after sleeping there for one night, decided vacations were not meant to be spent on beds with the soft suppleness of a marble slab, specially if such bed has a slight but noticeable tilt towards the headboard.
We reached Le Meridien and the personnel bent over backwards to get us a great room.
One suggestion, make sure you search a couple of travel websites for deals. They found us a great room for 450 euros a night! I reserved the same room on Orbitz, while chatting with the check-in clerk at the counter, for 180 dollars...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CamyR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

This Hotel location is really in the center of the center .
I got a very nice room , looking at the Ramblas , If you want quietness at night , avoid this direction , but i liked the feeling and vibe , although was a bit noisy.
service was good ,and overall very good experience and nice surprise.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank salvax239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
istanbul
Level Contributor
112 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

The hotel is right on Rambla where the main attraction is for 24 hours. Main locations to visit are walking distance and the reception is very helpful in finding your way around the city. Rooms are nice and clean.

Room Tip: Rooms on the street side can be noisy if you prefer a quiet night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buciIstanbul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
La Rambla
Hotel Bagues
Hotel Bagues
#24 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 835 reviews
El Raval
Royal Ramblas Hotel
Royal Ramblas Hotel
#119 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,665 reviews
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#23 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Born / La Ribera
Grand Hotel Central
Grand Hotel Central
#30 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,825 reviews
Eixample
El Palace Hotel
El Palace Hotel
#9 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,638 reviews
Eixample
Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Barcelona

Property: Le Meridien Barcelona
Address: Ramblas 111, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#45 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#56 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#64 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#85 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Barcelona 5*
Number of rooms: 231
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly positioned for discovering the rich artistic heritage represented by Barcelona's museums, music and architecture, Le Meridien Barcelona is a five star hotel located on the city's most famous street, Las Ramblas. With examples of Gaudi's architecture, the Liceo opera house, MACBA and the Gothic Quarter, all main attractions within walking distance, guests can immerse themselves in local culture. Throughout the hotel art and architectural detailing catch the eye. In the central lobby is Le Meridien's HUB, a perfect place to rendezvous with friends and family. Furnished with contemporary designer pieces and decorated with specially curated art installations. The Hub is a great place to meet and offers a stimulating and fascinating environment. Each of the 231 rooms and suites combines comfortable living with art and design elements, including original works by contemporary local artists. Sublimely comfortable Le Meridien furnishings and multiple entertainment options ensure a relaxed stay. The Longitude 02º 10' Bar in the HUB is the place to enjoy a delicious Illy coffee, fresh cakes or a glass of wine or cava. Alternatively, CentOnze Restaurant offers great views of Las Ramblas along with the gastronomic creations of Chef Eugeni Cortes who reinterprets local cuisine using fresh ingredients sourced from the nearby Boqueria Market. Le Pop Cocktail Bar stimulates your senses with an exciting blend of cocktails, music and vintage savoir vivre with a modern twist. Located on the sixth floor of the hotel, the Explore Spa Studio is a blissful oasis of relaxation offering treatments and therapies based on renowned French Cinq Mondes beauty products. Open to both guests and members of the public who, in consultation with a beauty therapist, can choose from a range of offerings designed to aid skin rejuvenation and promote personal wellbeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Le Meridien Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Barcelona Hotel Barcelona
Barcelona Le Meridien
Meridien Barcelona
Le Meridien Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing