We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location and staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Attica 21 Barcelona Mar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Attica 21 Barcelona Mar
Ranked #229 of 522 Hotels in Barcelona
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent location and staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights ( 9 girls on a weekend break chasing some sunshine) Excellent hotel- location & staff not to be faulted. We received a very nice lunch reservation, and any requests were carried out efficiently and with a smile. nothing was an issue . Will most def return and recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne-marie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    264
    93
    19
    15
See reviews for
140
241
18
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

My sister and I are just back from a 3 night stay at this hotel,
We were a bit apprehensive about the hotel having read some of the reviews, however we couldn't fault it at all.
We took the A2 aerobus (bought a return ticket each) from the airport to the city centre and then bought a 10 stop metro ticket for 9:80 Euros. This ticket was a multi user ticket, which meant between us we could make five trips - excellent value! The hotel was a short walk from the metro.
The hotel was spotlessly clean and reception staff very helpful. The hotel has rooms on five floors (think there are 75 all together). Our room was a premier room overlooking a square with trees in blossom.
The room had an ipod docking station, minibar, free safe, coffee maker and they even provided crisps and nuts.
The ensuite bathroom had bath with shower. Toiletries were provided (including toothbrush, razor, comb etc) as well as bathrobes and towelling slippers. A hairdryer was provided too.
The room was cleaned daily, toiletries, crisps and coffee replenished each day.
We looked forward to breakfast each morning as there was such a variety to choose from (Pastries, fruit, yoghurts, boiled eggs, cold meats, cheese, scrambled eggs, chocolate cake.......)
All staff were extremely helpful and friendly.
The pool was located on the roof. It did get busy from time to time. They have just opened a bar up there - available from 2pm each day.
The hotel offered a limited menu in the evening - mainly sandwiches and pizzas. They are apparently looking to extend this.
Hotel is located out of the city centre but we managed to see most of the sites using our metro ticket and walking. Would recommend Parc Guell, La Pedrera Casa Mila and a stroll in las Ramblas.
We would stay in this hotel again.

Room Tip: We stayed in 315 which was probably on the best side of the hotel, overlooking the square. It was al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FM99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

Choose this hotel for a mini break with my daughter following her graduation from University. Perfect location... 5 min stroll to the beach..5 min stroll to the metro. Nice quiet location with a selection of local cafes and shops. Hotel is clean and the service is good - staff very helpful. Roof top pool is very relaxing and the Mojitos are good!
We would definitely use this hotel again..

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jossibear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

Attica21

Air con wasn't brilliant but sufficient.
More chairs/sun loungers needed on rooftop pool area.
Sangria cava 2.50 euro.
Staff friendly and helpful. Spoke good English..
Lovely breakfast incl scrambled egg, Spanish sausage, bacon, pastries etc.
Minibar fridge,
Hair dryer.
Mercadona supermarket short walking distance.
No balcony.
Mar Bella beach 5 mins walk. Beds each 6 euros, umbrella 5 euros.
Great Tapas Bar - Mar Blava 2 blocks away serving great sangria and tapas.
Free safe.
Toiletries in room incl Shampoo and shower gel, soap only.
Flat screen Tv didn't find English channels - apparently signal bad!
Less than 30 mins from airport by taxi. Cost 41 euros.
Located near Besos water tower.
Great views over city from rooftop pool area but no sea view.
Hotel has 5 floors, pool is up another flight of stairs from 5th..
Free wifi all areas of hotel. Logs out every 24 hrs.
No hospitality tray in room. We took our own travel kettle.
All in all an enjoyable 3 night stay in this business hotel! Would def go back here.

Room Tip: Take a travel kettle with you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mandi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

We (2 adults and a 5 year old) stayed for 5 nights (16-21 June 2013). Being new to the area we initially struggled to find the hotel however once found it was easy to navigate to/from city center as it's only 2-3 blocks from the closest metro station. The check-in process was quick, the room was ample for the 3 of us. It had all the basic amenities (hair dryer, soaps, TV, safe, mini-bar etc.). I can't comment on the food/breakfast as we ate out everyday. The swimming pool and surrounding area is lovely and was never crowded with deck-chairs available every time we visited. The hotel is very close to cafes, a supermarket only a block away, a modern shopping center within walking distance and the beautiful beach was also very close (only 2 blocks away).
Those who plan on taking the open top city sightseeing tour will be happy to know that the tour route stops conveniently close to the hotel (only 1 block away) and the hotel sells discounted tour tickets. We would definitely return to this hotel and can't thank the staff enough for being so courteous.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scotsman81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

My husband and I were driving from Nice to the Costa Blanca and needed a comfortable hotel for the night to break up the journey. We shouldn't have picked this hotel. The staff on arrival were rude ( we couldn't get the receptionist off the phone to her Mum to deal with us). It's only when she realised I could speak Spanish that I managed to get her attention - she realised I knew who she was on the phone to and relunctantly ended her call when I asked for attention in Spanish. The room itself was good( albeit the view was of the local 'bronx' - graffitti covered walls - locals hanging out their smalls). At least it was sort of clean ( the bathroom hadn't been cleaned that day - the toilet spoke for itself). we unpacked and went down for a well deserved drink... only to find no bar staff and the same rude recepsionist we'd had the unpleasant pleasure of 1/2 an hour earlier. We were contemplating serving ourselves when after half an hour we got a bar staff employee. She threw our bottles at as and promptly left the bar. There was no atmosphere, empty glasses and ripped up beer mats on several tables that clearly hadn't been cleared for a few hours. We wanted another drink so again, we had to approach an empty reception whilst the rude receptionst had gone in to the adjacent room to ring her Mum. We waited another 20 mins for her to finish her call and ring the bar woman. Again we had apparently interrupted her TV/Night Off and again we got two bottles thrown at us across the bar. Next we got a little square bowl of nuts and stuff - if Pete hadn't have ducked she'd had taken his eye out.. I felt like throwing them back or shoving them where the sun didn't shine. People skills in this hotel are sorely lacking... forgive me but I thougt...as tourist we kinda pay their wages??? We decided not to eat in the hotel resteraunt due to the staff behaviour and chose room service instead. BIg Mistake. Overcharged, overcooked, over greasy food. We should have gone out... Breakfast is included in the room price... Basic.. no staff about if you need help with finding where the plates are or how to turn the toaster on.. I woudn't recommend this hotel to anybody. Real shame as a good location for the beach.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

We stayed at the Attica 21 for 3 nights (28th April-1st May 2013), and primarily had booked this hotel based on other Tripadvisor reviews.
We really enjoyed our stay here, room was a good size and very clean. We found the hotel staff to be really helpful and friendly. Breakfast was a great bonus, tasty and staff were very good at refilling items that had finished.
The train station is very close (3-4 mins walk), and if you don't want to travel into the city, there is a big shopping centre and lovely beach only a few minutes away.
We would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nisaq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Hotel Front Maritim
#315 of 522 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 902 reviews
Poblenou
Hotel 4 Barcelona
Hotel 4 Barcelona
#232 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vincci Maritimo Barcelona
#165 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 982 reviews
Poblenou
Eurohotel Diagonal Port
Eurohotel Diagonal Port
#374 of 522 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
Poblenou
Hesperia Del Mar
Hesperia Del Mar
#220 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Attica 21 Barcelona Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Attica 21 Barcelona Mar

Property: Attica 21 Barcelona Mar
Address: Provencals 10, 08019 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Barcelona
#148 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#168 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#181 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Attica 21 Barcelona Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Attica 21 Barcelona Mar is a city hotel of 75 rooms equipped with advanced facilities. It is characterized throughout by a personalized service that combines comfort and functionality; a perfectly balanced combination to satisfy our clients. Hotel Attica 21 Barcelona Mar offers a world of comfort and elegance, with great rooms, swimming pool and solarium, and incomparable views over the city; also integrates excellent facilities to meet the demands of the business world, its events, convention tourism and of course the family breaks at any time of year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Attica 21 Barcelona Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Attica 21 Barcelona Mar Hotel Barcelona
Husa Hotel Barcelona
Attica 21 Barcelona Mar Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing