We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, comfortable and clean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Catalonia Barcelona Plaza
Ranked #203 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Worksop, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location, comfortable and clean”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

I stayed in this hotel in early August with my husband and two young children. I can't fault the location at all - we were slightly nervous that it was a bit too far out but actually it was perfect. The airport bus stops right outside and the red and green metro lines run from stops in the Ramblas and Placa Catalunya through Placa Espana so it's really easy to get around.

We checked in fairly late in the evening and unfortunately our first experience of the hotel was an incredibly rude receptionist who looked us up and down and demanded a passport! Once we'd got past her we were actually really pleased with both the room and the amenities on offer. We didn't sample breakfast, but we did use the pool which my husband and kids enjoyed. The rooms were cleaned very well each day - although some of the fixtures in the bathroom were a bit 'tired' the bathroom did the job and there was plenty of room to sort the kids out (the first time my boys had seen a bidet which prompted a few questions when we first arrived!!)

I'd stay in this hotel again. I don't think it was the best in terms of value for money but it more than made up for that in terms of its prime location. Staying here gave us a great opportunity to explore parts of the city that we'd not visited before and all in all contributed to a very enjoyable week's holiday.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank louisebleas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sitja, Director General at Catalonia Barcelona Plaza, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear guest,
We really appreciate your positive comments about our hotel. The costumer’s opinion is a top priority for us and it helps us to constantly improve. I would like to use this opportunity to say that we would like to welcome you again in the future.
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    966
    810
    338
    147
    90
See reviews for
409
698
133
634
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We stayed here as not much choice as last minute booking and a little far out for us really-as always stayed up nearer to the Ramblas.. The rooms were good-but better with the lovely views of the Plaza Espana etc. We found the hotel clean and tidy- beautiful flowers in the lobby added a pleasing touch- the bar areas were also good.Somewhere to sit in the evening and relax-we like the Piano Bar. Also the Breakfast we thought had good choice and freshly made pancakes and omelettes. We did not pre-pay for breakfast as was cheaper to pay via the hotel and we did not breakfast here every day so no booking required. The pool was great but the bar was not always open unfortunately so we did take our own bottles to the pool. The pool was also too deep we thought as should have had a shallower end especially for children and people who were not confident in the water. There were also not enough sunbeds-really no explanation for this? What could the reason be- I mean there was plenty of room to house lots more sunbeds, and I noticed on a photo on Trip Advisor there were loads of sunbeds. Where have they all gone?????Not what I would expect of a four star hotel. We were overall happy with the Hotel though for the time we spent here. The beds were comfy for me anyway...some of the others said they were a bit hard. There is a mini bar fridge so we were able to house our own drinks as well. The safe is free which is also good. The area seemed safe and quite busy but a good shopping mall next door with cafes etc, this used to be a bullring-which is a bit bizarre and the shops were not open all the time!But there are lots of restaurants on the roof with amazing views.

Room Tip: ask for a scenic view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nicola m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sitja, Director General at Catalonia Barcelona Plaza, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear guest,
We welcome your feedback, help us improve our service every day to customers.
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

My son lives in barcelona so chose this hotel as close to him and i knew the area well.It was better than expected...our room 644 had the best views....so good to watch the fountains display at night.
The bus goes from airport staight to arenas....and on way back too. metro outside too. lovely walking up to olympic stadium and all around...easy to walk and pleasant down to cataluyna plaza and to ramblas.
we took the train to beach before stiges all on one metro cards for 10eros 10 journeys in zone 1.
Love plaza arenas for earing and shopping and resturants at top are good...love having my glass o cava on the ground floor for a mere 2.30 euros bargain.
easy to get anywhere in barca form this hotel. loved it.....

Room Tip: top floor city view....
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SheffieldScotsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sitja, General Manager at Catalonia Barcelona Plaza, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear guest,
We really appreciate your positive comments about our hotel. The costumer’s opinion is a top priority for us and it helps us to constantly improve. I would like to use this opportunity to say that we would like to welcome you again in the future.
Yours faithfully,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

I can not really fault this hotel, reception staff are ever so helpful any questions they are willing to help. All staff are smiley even late at night. Amazing views from the rooftop pool area. Hotel is next to the arenas shopping centre and not far from the airport cost us under 20 euros by taxi, alternatively you have got the aerobus which stops just outside. Also outside the hotel is a taxi rank very useful! I definitely recommend walking down to the magic fountain at night very good to see! La rambla costs about 7 euros by taxi to get too. Rooms are lush spacious, clean and modern couldn't fault these at all. Bar area always clean and tidy pretty reasonable too. We didn't eat dinner at the hotel we found bars and restaurants near by. Breakfast is okay, a huge selection from fry ups to fruit. All in all if I was going to go back to barca I would stay in this hotel.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Joanna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sitja, Director General at Catalonia Barcelona Plaza, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear guest,
Thanks you for your comment. We really appreciate, and hope to be able to welcome you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

Lovely room with amazing view. Lovely bathrooms with large bath, haudryer and everything you need, dressing gowns, slippers, etc... Friendly staff
Great choice of breakfast
Just nice all around
Cant find anything bad to say

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emmanuele4601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sitja, Director General at Catalonia Barcelona Plaza, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear guest,
We really appreciate your positive comments about our hotel. The costumer’s opinion is a top priority for us and it helps us to constantly improve. I would like to use this opportunity to say that we would like to welcome you again in the future.
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

The view from the room's window is just amazing... The staff was good enough, the rooms very clean and confortable. This hotel is next to a metro station and a bus station. If you walk 5-10' you arrive to the square with the fountains which is great especially at night. The breakfast includes almost everything and lots of local species of food. There are security guard walking in the corridors which means that you can not hear noises from other people. If you can select a room between 3rd and top floor in order to have a nice view from your room!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcella-gr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sitja, Director General at Catalonia Barcelona Plaza, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear guest,

Thanks you for your comment. We really appreciate, and hope to be able to welcome you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level 6 Contributor
285 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

The hotel is in a great location on Placa Espana, and the bus from T2 at the airport drops you at the door in less than half an hour ( taxi for less than €20 is even quicker) Metro is also right by the hotel, and the Barcelona tour bus stops across the square. good bus links ( it was too hot for the Metro) will take you where you want to go. D20 goes to the beach, and 150 will take you to Castell Montjuic. We had booked a room with a view of the square, and it was stunning.The staff were friendly and efficient, and the hotel itself was spotless. The air conditioning worked very well, and was very necessary in the searing heat!
The minibar was well stocked, and the complimentary bottle of water was a nice touch. Soap, shampoo, shower cap, comb, tissues, and shoe shine were provided. The breakfast had a good selection of cereals, breads,pastries, cold meats, cheeses, and fruits. Fried eggs, bacon, mushrooms, and sausages were also available, but on the two occasions we tried them, they were cold, so we stuck to the cold stuff! You can also have pancakes or omelette cooked to order.
The pool on the rooftop was very welcome, and though there are only about a dozen beds and some chairs and tables, it was never too crowded. Towels are available from the spa.
I will certainly stay here on my next trip.

Room Tip: We were in 649, which had amazing views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mharie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sitja, Director General at Catalonia Barcelona Plaza, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear guest,
We really appreciate your positive comments about our hotel. The costumer’s opinion is a top priority for us and it helps us to constantly improve. I would like to use this opportunity to say that we would like to welcome you again in the future.
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Catalonia Plaza Cataluna
Catalonia Plaza Cataluna
#149 of 513 in Barcelona
1,425 reviews
El Raval
Catalonia Ramblas
Catalonia Ramblas
#152 of 513 in Barcelona
1,536 reviews
Eixample
B-Hotel
B-Hotel
#58 of 513 in Barcelona
2,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Ofelias Hotel
Ofelias Hotel
#113 of 513 in Barcelona
514 reviews
Montjuic
Crowne Plaza Barcelona - Fira Center
Montjuic
Ayre Hotel Gran Via
Ayre Hotel Gran Via
#95 of 513 in Barcelona
1,513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Barcelona Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Barcelona Plaza

Property: Catalonia Barcelona Plaza
Address: Plaza Espana 6-8, 08014 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#101 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#136 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#162 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia Barcelona Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 347
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This imposing hotel is situated in Plaza Espana, next to the Fira de Barcelona facilities and Montjuic. Guests can enjoy excellent connections with every means of public transport. It has its own parking facilities and offers ideal accommodation for business trips or short breaks. The panoramic terrace and most of the rooms have unbeatable views. The gardened marquee, which is located in the central courtyard, creates an ideal atmosphere for cocktails and dinner parties. We also offer you our 13 meeting rooms, where you can organise business meetings, conventions and family celebrations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Catalonia Barcelona Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelona Plaza
Catalonia Barcelona Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing