We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, tidy, beautiful and modern!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Catalonia Barcelona Plaza
Ranked #203 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Reviewed August 19, 2013

I can not really fault this hotel, reception staff are ever so helpful any questions they are willing to help. All staff are smiley even late at night. Amazing views from the rooftop pool area. Hotel is next to the arenas shopping centre and not far from the airport cost us under 20 euros by taxi, alternatively you have got the aerobus which stops just outside. Also outside the hotel is a taxi rank very useful! I definitely recommend walking down to the magic fountain at night very good to see! La rambla costs about 7 euros by taxi to get too. Rooms are lush spacious, clean and modern couldn't fault these at all. Bar area always clean and tidy pretty reasonable too. We didn't eat dinner at the hotel we found bars and restaurants near by. Breakfast is okay, a huge selection from fry ups to fruit. All in all if I was going to go back to barca I would stay in this hotel.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Joanna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sitja, Director General at Catalonia Barcelona Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Dear guest,
Thanks you for your comment. We really appreciate, and hope to be able to welcome you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,397)
There are newer reviews for Catalonia Barcelona Plaza
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

802 - 808 of 2,397 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

Lovely room with amazing view. Lovely bathrooms with large bath, haudryer and everything you need, dressing gowns, slippers, etc... Friendly staff
Great choice of breakfast
Just nice all around
Cant find anything bad to say

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emmanuele4601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sitja, Director General at Catalonia Barcelona Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Dear guest,
We really appreciate your positive comments about our hotel. The costumer’s opinion is a top priority for us and it helps us to constantly improve. I would like to use this opportunity to say that we would like to welcome you again in the future.
Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

The view from the room's window is just amazing... The staff was good enough, the rooms very clean and confortable. This hotel is next to a metro station and a bus station. If you walk 5-10' you arrive to the square with the fountains which is great especially at night. The breakfast includes almost everything and lots of local species of food. There are security guard walking in the corridors which means that you can not hear noises from other people. If you can select a room between 3rd and top floor in order to have a nice view from your room!!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marcella-gr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sitja, Director General at Catalonia Barcelona Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Dear guest,

Thanks you for your comment. We really appreciate, and hope to be able to welcome you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

The hotel is in a great location on Placa Espana, and the bus from T2 at the airport drops you at the door in less than half an hour ( taxi for less than €20 is even quicker) Metro is also right by the hotel, and the Barcelona tour bus stops across the square. good bus links ( it was too hot for the Metro) will take you where you want to go. D20 goes to the beach, and 150 will take you to Castell Montjuic. We had booked a room with a view of the square, and it was stunning.The staff were friendly and efficient, and the hotel itself was spotless. The air conditioning worked very well, and was very necessary in the searing heat!
The minibar was well stocked, and the complimentary bottle of water was a nice touch. Soap, shampoo, shower cap, comb, tissues, and shoe shine were provided. The breakfast had a good selection of cereals, breads,pastries, cold meats, cheeses, and fruits. Fried eggs, bacon, mushrooms, and sausages were also available, but on the two occasions we tried them, they were cold, so we stuck to the cold stuff! You can also have pancakes or omelette cooked to order.
The pool on the rooftop was very welcome, and though there are only about a dozen beds and some chairs and tables, it was never too crowded. Towels are available from the spa.
I will certainly stay here on my next trip.

Room Tip: We were in 649, which had amazing views.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mharie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sitja, Director General at Catalonia Barcelona Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Dear guest,
We really appreciate your positive comments about our hotel. The costumer’s opinion is a top priority for us and it helps us to constantly improve. I would like to use this opportunity to say that we would like to welcome you again in the future.
Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

I chose this hotel because of its proximity to Espanya metro, from where I could easily get out of town to my client's offices at WTC Almenda, and into town for nightlife etc.

Unfortunately there is not much to recommend it other than its location...

(1) Arrived in the early evening to chaotic scenes at reception. Getting checked in was like trying to catch the barmaid's eye in a busy pub. I know this is Spain, but even so ! When I did elbow my way to the desk, the receptionist was surly

(2) Got upstairs, room was absolutely fine, had a shower and unpacked. Thought it would be nice to pop out for a couple of hours on my first evening in town, so I decided to iron a shirt...OOOPS, big problem, there are no irons to be had in the entire hotel. Instead, you are expected to use the housekeeping service... which takes an hour... and charges 6 Euros per shirt !!! So instead of a nice, relaxing drink, I ended up slogging down to Carrefour and buying my own iron...

(3) When I got back, needed to do a couple of quick emails for the following day. Got connected to the in-room wifi easily enough, but no way to log on and get internet access. So down to reception I went again where the receptionist said "Oh yes, it doesn't work with Windows 8, you'll have to use the wifi in the lobby"... I am fairly technical and knew this was BS, so I asked her for the URL of the hotel's login page and she looked at me like I asked for her phone number !! So I logged on in the lobby, made a note of the login page address, went back upstairs and used it to logon from my room. Bandwidth was patchy but OK

(4) In the morning, I went down for breakfast. They do this in a great echoing hall like a school gymnasium, indeed it was full of overexcited Brazilian teens. Badly laid out and extremely noisy, the room was the last place you would want to start your day; and the food was unexceptional.

Overall, an OK place to stay if you have all the time in the world and are in the holiday mood. NOT a place to find peace and calm and get any work done !

Room Tip: Try another hotel
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank N_James_F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sitja, Director General at Catalonia Barcelona Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Dear guest,

We welcome your feedback, help us improve our service every day to customers.

Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Good points - the location is fantastic: first stop on the Aerobus from the airport; right on a Metro station; shopping mall next door; huge range of cafes/bars/restaurants nearby.
But is it four star? We stayed for a week as we were supporting someone in the world swimming championships and the olympic complex was just a walk (up a long hill!) away, so suited us fine.
Room was excellent and glad we paid a little more for a room over Montjuic - anyone staying with a room overlooking the internal walls would have been pretty unhappy after two nights!
Breakfast was ok - buffet style - but it could have been in a company cafeteria - functional not atmospheric!
Reception desk was always under pressure - but some managed with a smile, some didn't. Concierges were less than useless.
Swimming pool on roof was not the best - far too loud music, not much space, but in Barcelona heat, the cool down in the water was welcome.
Overall, not bad, but not outstanding.

Room Tip: Choose one with outside view
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AstonJag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sitja, Director General at Catalonia Barcelona Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Dear guest,
Than you very much for your time.
Do not hesitate to contact us in your next visit to Barcelona.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Taxi from the airport to the hotel in no time at all.
On entering the hotel, I could see this was a busy hotel. However, the service at the reception was great. They gave us information on what was around the area with no prompting.
Our room was at the front of the hotel and facing the fountain.
As we were there in February, they had a fountain show when it got dark. There was also a massive celebration which was well organised and officially closed the road. It was great watching this with a glass of red!
The sightseeing bus runs from across the roundabout. The standard stuff.
I would stay in this hotel again.

The food in the restaurant was amazing, but not cheap.
There is also a basic restaurant there and the breakfast area has a big seating area with plenty of choice. Well organised.

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the front. If you are looking at the hotel from the front, the right hand side...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Interlaken1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sitja, Director General at Catalonia Barcelona Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Dear guest,
We welcome your feedback, help us improve our service every day to customers.
Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Catalonia Plaza Cataluna
Catalonia Plaza Cataluna
#138 of 513 in Barcelona
1,467 reviews
El Raval
Catalonia Ramblas
Catalonia Ramblas
#152 of 513 in Barcelona
1,564 reviews
Eixample
B-Hotel
B-Hotel
#53 of 513 in Barcelona
2,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Ofelias Hotel
Ofelias Hotel
#120 of 513 in Barcelona
520 reviews
Poblenou
Novotel Barcelona City
Novotel Barcelona City
#179 of 513 in Barcelona
3,609 reviews
Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona
#208 of 513 in Barcelona
2,997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Barcelona Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Barcelona Plaza

Address: Plaza Espana 6-8, 08014 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#101 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#136 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#162 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $126 - $411 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia Barcelona Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 347
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This imposing hotel is situated in Plaza Espana, next to the Fira de Barcelona facilities and Montjuic. Guests can enjoy excellent connections with every means of public transport. It has its own parking facilities and offers ideal accommodation for business trips or short breaks. The panoramic terrace and most of the rooms have unbeatable views. The gardened marquee, which is located in the central courtyard, creates an ideal atmosphere for cocktails and dinner parties. We also offer you our 13 meeting rooms, where you can organise business meetings, conventions and family celebrations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Catalonia Barcelona Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelona Plaza
Catalonia Barcelona Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing